[WIP] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: [WIP/Released] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Postby Ghostrider231 » Wed Aug 20, 2014 12:46 pm

Updated Description, thank you to, ArcheKruz! for giving a good suggestion/idea!

New weapon with new damage type is planned.

In the planned section.
User avatar
Ghostrider231
Mah legs argh
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2014
Location: The Great Depths and Beyond.
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP/Released] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Postby Ghostrider231 » Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:44 pm

Updated Description, Feel free to report any bugs!
User avatar
Ghostrider231
Mah legs argh
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2014
Location: The Great Depths and Beyond.
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP/Released] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Postby Ghostrider231 » Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:48 pm

Ed, do you know anything about e1m4's music?
User avatar
Ghostrider231
Mah legs argh
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2014
Location: The Great Depths and Beyond.
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP/Released] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Postby Ed the Bat » Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:50 pm

It's "Rose and Ghost" from Secret of Mana.
User avatar
Ed the Bat
I'm tired. I want to go home.
 
Joined: 03 May 2012
Location: Maryland, US

Re: [WIP/Released] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Postby Ghostrider231 » Wed Aug 20, 2014 11:51 pm

Ed the Bat wrote:It's "Rose and Ghost" from Secret of Mana.



Thanks, been looking for this since forever. :)

why ramon, mis-leading name he gave me.
User avatar
Ghostrider231
Mah legs argh
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2014
Location: The Great Depths and Beyond.
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP/Released] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Postby Ghostrider231 » Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:19 pm

Updated! Sorry been like three days, anyways should this mod continue being compatible with or without zandronum? submit your vote!

The reason why, there are so many features i am missing out, this just makes the game better, so i don't have to do any scripting hackarounds.
User avatar
Ghostrider231
Mah legs argh
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2014
Location: The Great Depths and Beyond.
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP/Released] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Postby Ghostrider231 » Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:10 pm

Ed, do you know anything about e2m3's music?
User avatar
Ghostrider231
Mah legs argh
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2014
Location: The Great Depths and Beyond.
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP/Released] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Postby Ed the Bat » Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:15 pm

It's a remix of Final Fantasy VI's "Techno de Chocobo", called "Chocobo from Hell", by Andrew Thompson. It can be found on vgmusic.com.

It's the one track I left alone when I made my music update pack, because it's so distinctly different from the in-game version. I felt it should be considered its own song.
User avatar
Ed the Bat
I'm tired. I want to go home.
 
Joined: 03 May 2012
Location: Maryland, US

Re: [WIP/Released] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Postby Ghostrider231 » Mon Aug 25, 2014 12:26 pm

Updated Description, My time is really running out! anyways, vote if you think i should continue making this mod compatible with zandronum or not. (I recommend voting "No").
User avatar
Ghostrider231
Mah legs argh
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2014
Location: The Great Depths and Beyond.
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP/Released] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Postby wildweasel » Mon Aug 25, 2014 1:28 pm

I personally wouldn't bother with Zandronum compatibility if it's compromising your vision of the mod.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Re: [WIP/Released] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Postby Ghostrider231 » Tue Aug 26, 2014 1:46 pm

Well i sometimes think about making two version of this mod, one for g/zdoom and one for zandronum, expect the zandronum version would sadly have lesser updates due to it's limitations though.

yes, the gzdoom version of this mod will go first of course.
User avatar
Ghostrider231
Mah legs argh
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2014
Location: The Great Depths and Beyond.
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP/Released] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Postby Valherran » Tue Aug 26, 2014 4:07 pm

Just put out Zandronum updates after GZDoom updates.
User avatar
Valherran
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2009

Re: [WIP/Released] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Postby Ghostrider231 » Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:16 pm

I guess that would work somehow.
User avatar
Ghostrider231
Mah legs argh
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2014
Location: The Great Depths and Beyond.
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP/Released] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Postby Ghostrider231 » Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:24 pm

Ed, is there actually any penalties on setslot?

It doesn't seem to make a difference in gameplay usually.
User avatar
Ghostrider231
Mah legs argh
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2014
Location: The Great Depths and Beyond.
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP/Released] Brutal Fantasy Doom (Pre-Alpha 0.5_2)

Postby Ed the Bat » Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:27 pm

setslot is actually a prewritten console command, meaning it gets run last of all at load. Because of this, it will forcibly overwrite any other methods of setting weapon slots, such as Weapon.SlotNumber, Player.WeaponSlot, or MAPINFO's weaponslot command, so any actor or module using these more proper methods will be completely broken by setslot. This makes combining with other mods/addons essentially impossible.

Like I said, there's good reason setslot has been deprecated for five and a half years.
User avatar
Ed the Bat
I'm tired. I want to go home.
 
Joined: 03 May 2012
Location: Maryland, US

PreviousNext

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Darth_Anyan, Joje, Wivicer and 15 guests