Page 1 of 3

[EDGE] CeeJay's Star Wars/Dark Forces mod (RELEASE)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:22 am
by CeeJay
A Star Wars/Dark Forces themed gameplay mod for EDGE. Weapons, items, enemies and new gameplay mechanics.


VIDEOS
Spoiler:


DOWNLOADS:
CeeJay's Star Wars/Dark Forces gameplay mod version 0.0.1
https://www.mediafire.com/file/xchby2ty ... m.wad/file
Requires EDGE 1.35 or later.

Optional texture pack
https://www.mediafire.com/file/z3y1hkjk ... s.wad/file
Replaces DOOM & DOOM 2 textures with more Star Wars-eque ones, completely optional. Credits included inside the WAD.

Enemy replacement customisation patch
https://www.mediafire.com/file/mlp88aj2 ... p.wad/file
If you don't like the enemy replacements, use this to customise which enemy replaces which or none at all. Instructions included inside the WAD and it must be loaded after DFDOOM.WAD.

CREDITS
Spoiler:

Re: Dark Forces/Star Wars gameplay mod

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 8:52 am
by cortlong50
Aaaaand I'm gonna go play this with back to Saturn

Re: Dark Forces/Star Wars gameplay mod (resurrected)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 1:41 am
by CeeJay
So I dug this little turkey up and polished it a little. Enjoy

Re: Dark Forces/Star Wars gameplay mod (resurrected)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:29 pm
by YukiHerz
Permission to use some of the graphic resources here? i lost my own DF rips and this has what i need.

Also just made it to the crusher using this mod and i gotta say it's pretty fun and well made!.

Re: Dark Forces/Star Wars gameplay mod (resurrected)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 9:23 pm
by CeeJay
Yes, but they are in the Doom palette with the exception of the Gamorrean, which I made into PNG since Dark Forces has a different range of green colors. Credits to LucasArts.

I am also fully aware that the Light saber is not widescreen-friendly. My attempts at fixing that have been futile.

Re: [3DGE] Dark Forces/Star Wars mod

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:16 am
by CeeJay
Updated, as it tends to get sporadically on and off.

Re: [3DGE] Dark Forces/Star Wars mod

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 8:52 am
by ReX
Is this really only a 143 Kb download? Also, I tried to open it in a resource editor, and I got the dreaded "Not a valid Doom wad file!"

Re: [3DGE] Dark Forces/Star Wars mod

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 9:04 am
by wildweasel
ReX wrote:Is this really only a 143 Kb download? Also, I tried to open it in a resource editor, and I got the dreaded "Not a valid Doom wad file!"

Mediafire reports it's just under 6 MB - perhaps your download "finished" too early?

Re: [3DGE] Dark Forces/Star Wars mod

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 9:18 am
by CeeJay
No idea what's going on but I've re-uploaded it as a ZIP archive.

Re: [3DGE] Dark Forces/Star Wars mod

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 9:57 am
by ReX
wildweasel wrote:Mediafire reports it's just under 6 MB - perhaps your download "finished" too early?

CeeJay wrote:No idea what's going on but I've re-uploaded it as a ZIP archive.

Yes, I had figured the download got truncated. But each time I tried, it would stop at exactly 143 Kb. The inability of a resource editor to open the file suggested to me that the download was incomplete.

The curious thing is that, even with the zip, the download stops at 143 kB.

[EDIT: I discovered what I was doing wrong. I was downloading directly from the link in your post above. The download was saving with a .wad (and, subsequently, as a .zip) extension, but I imagine it was actually saving the html/xml file. Hence the identical file size of 143 Kb with each of my 4 download attempts. I did things the "proper" way, and now have the zip. Many thanks.]

Re: [3DGE] Dark Forces/Star Wars mod

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 11:59 am
by CeeJay
I was experiencing problems myself when uploading the WAD a second time, it would go to 100% and then just start over again so I tried re-packaging it and re-upload as a ZIP and apparently that worked. Never had any problems with mediafire before.

Re: [3DGE] Dark Forces/Star Wars mod

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 12:13 pm
by ReX
But more on topic, I've had a chance to look in the zip, and the amount of (excellent) work you've put in is astounding.

Unfortunately, I have no experience with making EDGE mods, but I'm going to study what you've done and see how it can translate to GZDooM.

Many thanks.

Re: [3DGE] Dark Forces/Star Wars mod

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 12:24 pm
by CeeJay
Well, documentation on 3DGE is a little bare but you can check out the forums: http://www.tdgmods.net/smf/viewforum.php?f=3 and visit the 3DGE wiki: http://3dfxdev.net/edgewiki/index.php/Main_Page.

Re: [3DGE] Dark Forces/Star Wars mod

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 2:06 pm
by enderandrew
Stupid quesiton, but doesn't Dark Forces rely on jumping, swimming, mouse-movement, room-over-room, etc?

Some of these are capable in Doom source ports, but I thought room-over-room wasn't possible in Doom maps at all.

Wouldn't it make more sense to do this in a Quake engine? And wasn't there a release at one of of the first 6 levels of Dark Forces remade for Q3? FTE runs Q1 through Q3 maps.

Re: [3DGE] Dark Forces/Star Wars mod

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 2:32 pm
by Trance
enderandrew wrote:Stupid quesiton, but doesn't Dark Forces rely on jumping, swimming, mouse-movement, room-over-room, etc?

Jumping and crouching were both abilities the player could make use of in Dark Forces, but modern source ports don't make that a problem anymore.

Dark Forces did have something Doom's engine couldn't do: support 3D models. Moreover, there were walkable surfaces in 3D space which made use of these 3D models. Any room-over-room capacity in Dark Forces was faked with walkable 3D objects (e.g., the small bridge over the doorway in the building near the end of Mission 2). That might be tricky to replicate.

Mouse movement wasn't necessary in missions; I played Dark Forces' missions exclusively with the keyboard on our DOS machine in the '90s. The mouse might be required for navigating the between-mission briefings, but even then I think there might've been a way to do that with the keyboard. Using ACS, people have made mouse-friendly navigable menu systems very similar to it.

As far as I can remember, any "swimming" sections in Dark Forces didn't involve actual underwater stuff. It was just surface-swimming. Easy-peasy in modern Doom.