Smooth Doom

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby DabbingSquidward » Wed Jul 25, 2018 11:41 pm

Open SmoothDoom.pk3 in SLADE, move to DECO and overwrite everything from Variants.txt:

Code: Select allExpand view
// [Blue Shadow] A_SpawnItemEx combo flag used by the spawners below
// [Blue Shadow] Note that with SXF_TRANSFERAMBUSHFLAG flag, you do not need the "Deaf" variants.
const int SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS = SXF_TRANSFERAMBUSHFLAG | SXF_NOCHECKPOSITION | SXF_TRANSFERSPECIAL;

// Base spawner class -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

ACTOR SmoothDoom_VariantsSpawner
{
  +ISMONSTER // [Blue Shadow] So the below monsters don't spawn when "no monsters" DMFlag is enabled
  +NOBLOCKMAP
  +NOSECTOR
  +NOGRAVITY
  +THRUACTORS
}

// ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ACTOR ZombieDice : SmoothDoom_VariantsSpawner replaces Zombieman
{
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    // [Blue Shadow] Check to see the if the "Extra Monster Sprites" option is enabled or not and
    // act accordingly.
    TNT1 A 0 NoDelay A_JumpIf(CallACS("RifleDropToggle") == 1, "RifleSpawn")
   TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIf(CallACS("SpawnVariants") == 1, "VariantSpawn")

  NormalSpawn:
    // [Blue Shadow] The above option is disabled, so spawn the standard monster.
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothZombieman", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop

  VariantSpawn:
    // [Blue Shadow] The above option is enabled, so either spawn a standard or one of the
    // variants.

    // [Blue Shadow] RandomSpawner would have been "cleaner" to use, but the ambush flag cannot be
    // transferred to the things it spawns if it itself is spawned by a spawner. So we have to do
    // it this way.
    TNT1 A 0 A_Jump(256, "Standard", "Variant1", "Variant3")

    Standard:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothZombieman", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant1:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("ZombieV1", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant2:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("ZombieV2", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant3:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("ZombieV3", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    
   RifleSpawn:
     TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIf(CallACS("SpawnVariants") == 1, "RifleVariants")
   RifleNormal:
     TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("RifleZombie0", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
   RifleVariants:
     TNT1 A 0 A_Jump(256, "RifleStandard", "RifleVariant1", "RifleVariant3")
    
   RifleStandard:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("RifleZombie0", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    RIfleVariant1:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("RifleZombie1", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    RifleVariant2:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("RifleZombie2", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    RifleVariant3:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("RifleZombie3", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
  }
}

ACTOR SguyDice : SmoothDoom_VariantsSpawner replaces Shotgunguy
{
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    TNT1 A 0 NoDelay A_JumpIf(CallACS("SpawnVariants") == 1, "VariantSpawn")

  NormalSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothShotgunguy", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop

  VariantSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_Jump(256, "Standard", "Variant1", "Variant2")

    Standard:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothShotgunguy", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant1:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SguyV1", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant2:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SguyV2", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
  }
}

ACTOR CguyDice : SmoothDoom_VariantsSpawner replaces Chaingunguy
{
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    TNT1 A 0 NoDelay A_JumpIf(CallACS("SpawnVariants") == 1, "VariantSpawn")

  NormalSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothChaingunGuy", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop

  VariantSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_Jump(256, "Standard", "Variant2")

    Standard:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothChaingunGuy", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
   Variant1:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("CguyV1", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant2:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("CguyV2", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
  }
}


ACTOR ImpDice : SmoothDoom_VariantsSpawner replaces DoomImp
{
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    TNT1 A 0 NoDelay A_JumpIf(CallACS("SpawnVariants") == 1, "VariantSpawn")

  NormalSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothDoomImp", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop

  VariantSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_Jump(256, "Standard", "Variant1", "Variant2")

    Standard:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothDoomImp", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant1:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("ImpV1", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
    Variant2:
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("ImpV2", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
      Stop
  }
}

ACTOR PinkyDice : SmoothDoom_VariantsSpawner replaces Demon
{
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    TNT1 A 0 NoDelay A_JumpIf(CallACS("PinkyToggle") == 1, "FastSpawn")
  NormalSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothDemon", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop
  FastSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("FastSmoothDemon", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop
  }
}

ACTOR SpectreDice : SmoothDoom_VariantsSpawner replaces Spectre
{
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    TNT1 A 0 NoDelay A_JumpIf(CallACS("PinkyToggle") == 1, "FastSpawn")
  NormalSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("SmoothSpectre", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop
  FastSpawn:
    TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx("FastSmoothSpectre", 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, SD_VARIANTSPAWNFLAGS, 0, tid)
    Stop
  }
}


This enables compatibility with Hexen/UDMF format maps that use ACS scripting or specials on monsters, they would be broken without that fix.
User avatar
DabbingSquidward
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2017
Location: Germany

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby Retraux Squid » Thu Aug 09, 2018 1:47 am

RSSwizard wrote:
RSSwizard wrote:Ive decided to post my Smooth Doom Projectile Upgrade here. Its gotten repeated acclaim on the doom general in /vr and a link in the news post, but so far it hasnt gotten much visibility because people keep asking about it. This is a patch/add on to smooth doom that has to be put after it in the load order. Ive included (but kept separate) a palette wad I strongly recommend using with it (based on the 1024 palette).


I would also like to say ive completed the Color Changing Zombies project that I promised I would do. No dice for the shotgun sergeant yet, but the Smooth Vanilla Trooper and Smooth Vanilla Chainguy have been changed to allow color translations to be easily applied. Notes are included with the .PK3 (no decorate) in case you want to use them in a standard capacity - sample translation sets are provided to return them to looking mostly the way they originally did.

The graphics could be loaded as-is but without applying a replacement to them in decorate all you would get is the untranslated versions (green uniform zombie trooper, chainguy with green armor and blue boots/pants). So this is just a graphics pack not a mod.

Get It Here:
https://mega.nz/#!3gJmWAba!jddg5DAg0Pzo ... Hs9einKbtE


I love the way troopers look, even without any sort of color translation they just feel like legit zombie marines now, instead of what's presumably security personnel. Chaingunners work just as well for the most part, but don't appear to have their firing animations (they turn red-uniformed when shooting).
User avatar
Retraux Squid
A_PosAttack
 
Joined: 13 Aug 2016
Location: E1M1

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby Horrorfreak106 » Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:09 pm

In the next update, could you add glowing eyes for enemies (similar to what beautiful doom did?) That's the one thing I like over beautiful doom that I wish would be in this mod, but overall this mod is better than beautiful doom!
Horrorfreak106
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2018

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby Danath » Thu Aug 30, 2018 12:57 pm

Hi! I discovered this mod recently and it's quickly turning into essential stuff for whenever i want to play Doom. Fantastic work! :D Going back to stock animations after playing with this is painful.

Unfortunately, i found an incompatibility with the megawad Strain (strainfix.pk3). I got to map03 and the chaingun cannot be selected by pressing 4 or by using the mouse wheel, it goes from shotgun to fists. :\ Only when i run out of shotgun ammo i can use it, since it switches to it then.
Is there any possible way to manually fix this? I've seen a software called SLADE mentioned in this thread, but don't know how to use that.

I'm using GZDoom 3.4.1.0 and i have both smoothdoom.pk3 and smoothtextures.pk3 in the autoload section of gzdoom.ini. I also use the brightmaps and lights pk3's options in GZDoom launcher.
Danath
 
Joined: 30 Aug 2018

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby acridAxid » Fri Aug 31, 2018 10:03 am

Does Strain replace weapons? If you're not sure how to use SLADE, then the likely answer is to not mix Strain and Smooth Doom.
acridAxid
 
Joined: 23 Oct 2017

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby DabbingSquidward » Fri Aug 31, 2018 11:26 am

Danath wrote:Hi! I discovered this mod recently and it's quickly turning into essential stuff for whenever i want to play Doom. Fantastic work! :D Going back to stock animations after playing with this is painful.

Unfortunately, i found an incompatibility with the megawad Strain (strainfix.pk3). I got to map03 and the chaingun cannot be selected by pressing 4 or by using the mouse wheel, it goes from shotgun to fists. :\ Only when i run out of shotgun ammo i can use it, since it switches to it then.
Is there any possible way to manually fix this? I've seen a software called SLADE mentioned in this thread, but don't know how to use that.

I'm using GZDoom 3.4.1.0 and i have both smoothdoom.pk3 and smoothtextures.pk3 in the autoload section of gzdoom.ini. I also use the brightmaps and lights pk3's options in GZDoom launcher.


Open strainfix.pk3 and delete keyconf.txt
User avatar
DabbingSquidward
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2017
Location: Germany

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby Danath » Fri Aug 31, 2018 11:38 am

DabbingSquidward wrote:Open strainfix.pk3 and delete keyconf.txt

Thanks a ton! That works. :)
The only downside is that then the custom weapons from Strain can't be selected, i'll have to chose between having those or smoothdoom. :wink:
Danath
 
Joined: 30 Aug 2018

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby DabbingSquidward » Fri Aug 31, 2018 1:25 pm

Danath wrote:
DabbingSquidward wrote:Open strainfix.pk3 and delete keyconf.txt

Thanks a ton! That works. :)
The only downside is that then the custom weapons from Strain can't be selected, i'll have to chose between having those or smoothdoom. :wink:


If you want to use Strain's own weapons in tandem with Smooth Doom or any other gameplay mod, you need to look for the decorate.txt file or if they're seperated for each individual weapon, then look for a folder like actors. All you need to do after this is put "Weapon.SlotNumber x" after the first curly brace '{' where x is the number you want the weapon to go after obtaining it. Just look for Weapon.AmmoGive or Weapon.AmmoUse and create a new line there.
User avatar
DabbingSquidward
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2017
Location: Germany

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby Danath » Fri Aug 31, 2018 3:50 pm

DabbingSquidward wrote:If you want to use Strain's own weapons in tandem with Smooth Doom or any other gameplay mod, you need to look for the decorate.txt file or if they're seperated for each individual weapon, then look for a folder like actors. All you need to do after this is put "Weapon.SlotNumber x" after the first curly brace '{' where x is the number you want the weapon to go after obtaining it. Just look for Weapon.AmmoGive or Weapon.AmmoUse and create a new line there.

Thank you for the help.
It partially worked though, some weapons are selectable and others not. The ones that aren't selectable, like the machinegun or SSG, don't have any text files in the actors folder. :\

I will just play Strain without smoothdoom. :mrgreen:
Danath
 
Joined: 30 Aug 2018

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby Slax » Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:41 pm

Just gonna go ahead throw a Smooth Square request in here. "Easy enough," right? Ahah! AHAHAA!
I dunno. Why not? Ok, bye.
Image
User avatar
Slax
Saucy.
 
Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Location: Window office.

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby gabrielpf3 » Tue Sep 25, 2018 10:36 pm

I think there are only three details that could be added to this mod that would make it absolutely perfect for me.

1) An optional tracer effect for player and enemy guns, just like the one in Beautiful Doom.
2) Doomguy wears gloves when he has his fists selected (always hated that inconsistency with all the other weapons. I mean, does he just decide it's a good idea to take off his gloves when punching demons, and then he puts them back on when using any other weapon?).
3) The "black gloves" option should be fingerless, kinda like the ones in Brutal Doom (or maybe add a third option for that?).

Also, you're probably already aware of this, but there's a bug in the latest version with the green and blue blood for the Cacodemons, Barons of Hell and Hell Knights. These enemies don't gib correctly and have red blood mixed with their animations. This also kinda breaks the Ketchup Patch, which I love to use along with this mod.

Lastly, every time I boot up the game these error messages appear on the GZDoom launcher (I'm using v3.5.1, if that matters). As far as I can tell nothing is actually broken in-game, but I still think it's good to let you know.
Untitled.jpg
gabrielpf3
 
Joined: 25 Sep 2018

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby DoomN00b » Fri Sep 28, 2018 3:43 pm

YO! Gifty, if I give you and your contributors FULL credit, may I use your work in this mod as the base for a custom-enemy I'm working on? = )

The enemy in question I want to use, is the Revenant.

Let me know!
User avatar
DoomN00b
 
Joined: 22 Apr 2017

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby popguy12 » Fri Sep 28, 2018 7:36 pm

This feels like beautiful doom but without the extra sounds (like the annoying sound when a bullet "rebounds") and of course the ability to have different weapon skins and monster skins and stuff. imma have to play this!
popguy12
 
Joined: 19 Jan 2018
Location: Limbo between Hell and Earth

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby Naitguolf » Sun Sep 30, 2018 11:22 am

Hi! Anyone was able to play Ancient Aliens with smooth doom? As the colour for the enemies is broken, no matter the order to load it :S
Naitguolf
Megadriver Custom
 
Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Location: London

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby DabbingSquidward » Sun Sep 30, 2018 12:43 pm

Naitguolf wrote:Hi! Anyone was able to play Ancient Aliens with smooth doom? As the colour for the enemies is broken, no matter the order to load it :S


Most if not all of Smooth Doom's sprites are paletted, you need to convert them to truecolor PNG.
User avatar
DabbingSquidward
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2017
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Hege Cactus, m8f, Tribal and 11 guests