Smooth Doom

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby drfrag » Wed Jan 17, 2018 6:20 am

Of course not but that's not how it works. As i said those are missing states and it's a mod side bug, it's harmless tough.
If i'm not wrong in recent GZDoom those error messages are supposed to appear only in developer mode, 'developer' cvar, but they are not shown. I think it's a GZDoom bug (i posted about it somewhere) and that's why (as far as i remember) i didn't apply that patch but's it's on my pending stuff list.
ZDoom LE won't run the mod since Gifty still keeps the "+ from the +2" there and for older versions that was a syntactic bug while for recent ones just doesn't make much sense (i might eventually release another pirated version).
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby DabbingSquidward » Wed Jan 17, 2018 10:58 am

@Gifty, would you mind adding a CVAR or menu toggle for faster weapon switching à la de-/select states with two A_Lower/Raise codepointers?

acridAxid wrote:I really missed fast weapon switching (since Smooth Doom breaks this older .WAD I was using), so I added support for it to Smooth Doom with a supplemental .pk3; just load it after Smooth Doom and it shouldn't break anything, you'll need to enable it in the Smooth Doom Menu under Options, it's off by default.

I don't plan on maintaining this, so I'm hoping these changes will be merged back into the author's base... If you choose to use my changes, please just give a thank you wherever you normally do that.

EDIT: Guess I didn't test well enough, a playthrough tonight revealed an issue after picking up the rifle. I know I picked up the rifle to test swapping to and from it at one point..? An 'idkfa' will restore the weapons. I won't get a chance to look at it for another day or two at least.


Basically an integration of acridAxid's addon on page 88 :)
User avatar
DabbingSquidward
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2017

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby PermaNoob » Wed Jan 17, 2018 2:38 pm

Heh, so I was just playing with this and I realized you'd used an animation I made a long time ago for the Cacodemon, specifically this one:
Image
I'm guessing you attributed it to osjclatchford because he made the final frame there.

Personally, I'm happy just to see something I made get used in a mod, but it'd be nice to get a tiny credit so I could feel like I accomplished something. :P

Also, since I'm posting here, I may as well add that the "Plasma Sparkles" option seems to be broken; it works when set to "Player Only" but "Player and Monsters" only spawns sparkles on monster projectiles, not the player's.
User avatar
PermaNoob
Lurking.
 
Joined: 09 May 2013
Location: Exactly where I am

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby Gifty » Wed Jan 17, 2018 5:55 pm

My apologies! I think I must have seen OSJ's version of it and assumed he made the whole sheet. I'll add you to the credit list. c:
User avatar
Gifty
feel the pain
 
Joined: 15 Jun 2013

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby JustSomeGuy » Thu Jan 18, 2018 3:09 pm

Really like the improved vanilla feel of this mod. Great job :)

The only issue I have with it is that I've been getting some pretty heavy performance hits when certain enemies are gibbed. The biggest offender that I noticed was a Mancubus getting hit by a rocket and triggering the gorier death animation (talking about fps dropping from 200 to 30 or lower for a second).

Oh and before I forget: Hell Knights,Barons and Cacos seem to spawn their respective blood color AND red blood on certain death animations, I don't know if that is intended or not.

-edit-

Did some testing and it looks like the performance issues are caused by enabling the ground splats. Without it the mod runs perfect.
JustSomeGuy
 
Joined: 27 Dec 2017

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby Trar » Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:22 pm

EDIT: I don't get those annoying little error messages in the latest version of GZDoom or QZDoom, thankfully. I tried it in regular ZDoom but it won't run, with an error message of:

Code: Select allExpand view
Execution could not continue.

Script error, "SmoothDoom.pk3:deco/monsters/zombieman.txt" line 89:
Expected string constant but got '+' instead.


One thing I noticed is that the BFG's sprite becomes a bit off-center when fired. It's minor, but I still noticed it.
Trar
 
Joined: 29 May 2013
Location: Heck

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby Trar » Mon Jan 22, 2018 4:36 pm

I've captured a GIF of the classic BFG shifting when it fires. Maybe it has something to do with the D64 weapon code?

Image
Trar
 
Joined: 29 May 2013
Location: Heck

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby mutator » Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:44 am

Also when you have plasma rifle selected it doesnt show the weapon...it shows pickup sprite at the left top of screen and the weapon only appears when you are firing it, but after firing is done it disappears again
User avatar
mutator
 
Joined: 09 Dec 2015

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby DOOMGABR [RU] » Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:31 am

Where I can find Smooth Doom Monsters Only addon?
DOOMGABR [RU]
 
Joined: 08 Jun 2016
Location: Russia

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby Brohnesorge » Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:36 am

No longer supported.

Edit: you have to edit it yourself. Go into the DECORATE file and comment out (put in front of it a //) all the weapon stuff, and delete MAPINFO. If you dont delete MAPINFO, it will try to load the Smooth Doom player class and error out.

Something like that. On phone and dont remember 100% what I had tto do to get it to work
User avatar
Brohnesorge
Omae wa mou nidoru
 
Joined: 08 Oct 2016
Location: Somewhere aggravating
Discord: #7624

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby Trar » Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:07 pm

mutator wrote:Also when you have plasma rifle selected it doesnt show the weapon...it shows pickup sprite at the left top of screen and the weapon only appears when you are firing it, but after firing is done it disappears again


This issue doesn't appear for me. Maybe you need to make sure you have the latest version?

Anyway I really hope the BFG shifting glitch will be fixed. It...bothers me.
Trar
 
Joined: 29 May 2013
Location: Heck

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby mutator » Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:18 am

Trar wrote:
mutator wrote:Also when you have plasma rifle selected it doesnt show the weapon...it shows pickup sprite at the left top of screen and the weapon only appears when you are firing it, but after firing is done it disappears again


This issue doesn't appear for me. Maybe you need to make sure you have the latest version?

Anyway I really hope the BFG shifting glitch will be fixed. It...bothers me.

well, I do actually have the latest version
User avatar
mutator
 
Joined: 09 Dec 2015

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby Trar » Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:56 am

Might be a sourceport thing, then. Beyond that I don't know.
Trar
 
Joined: 29 May 2013
Location: Heck

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby DabbingSquidward » Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:04 am

mutator wrote:Also when you have plasma rifle selected it doesnt show the weapon...it shows pickup sprite at the left top of screen and the weapon only appears when you are firing it, but after firing is done it disappears again


Sounds like the de-/select and ready states were given the pickup sprite PLASA instead of the idle sprite PLSGA.
User avatar
DabbingSquidward
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2017

Re: Smooth Doom

Postby DabbingSquidward » Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:12 am

Trar wrote:I've captured a GIF of the classic BFG shifting when it fires. Maybe it has something to do with the D64 weapon code?

Image


The reason for this is that the idle frame has wrong offsets set. In vanilla Doom, none of the weapons were actually centered, they all were shifted slightly to the right. You can notice this easily with a source port (e.g. GZDoom) that has crosshairs. You will see that they aren't aligned to it. The Doom Minor Sprite Fixing Project addressed this problem. You can try loading it before Smooth Doom in the meantime, but it will probably cause all the Sprites that Smooth Doom itself centered to be shifted to the left.

EDIT: I also noticed that one of the chaingunner angles still has the unchanged vanilla offsets, causing the sprites to jump during the firing sequence.
User avatar
DabbingSquidward
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2017

PreviousNext

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests