Smooth Doom [WIP 2.0 TEST? WOWIE ZOWIE]

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Boondorl
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:57 pm

Re: Smooth Doom [UPDATE 6/15/19]

Post by Boondorl »

A simple fix for the Lost Soul issue:

Code: Select all

Pain:
    TNT1 a 0 a_jumpif(CallACS("PinkyToggle")==0,"+2")
    TNT1 a 0 A_JumpIfHealthLower(55,3) // Not sure if this jump value is right since it's been a bit since I've used decorate
    LSTP A 3 Bright
    LSTP B 3 Bright A_Pain
    Goto See

    TNT1 A 0 A_DamageSelf(10000, "Massacre", DMSS_KILL)
    Goto Death // Hypothetically this shouldn't matter but just in case
It might need a few tweaks, but this will still only fix half the problem. Anything with the SKULLFLY flag cannot enter its Pain state while it has it, so charging Lost Souls will be immune to this check unless you add the health check every tic the moment A_SkullAttack is called (well, it doesn't have to be every tic, but that will be the most responsive). Given how prone Lost Souls are to getting stuck in their attack due to the original Doom's buggy handling of charging, this issue is going to show up a lot. I agree with LOL_DUDE here, changing the health value on spawn is a better solution, even if it's permanent for any enemy already spawned in with the option on.
bricks041059
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 11:24 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Smooth Doom [UPDATE 6/15/19]

Post by bricks041059 »

Commenting out the monsters in the decorate file causes problems with (from what I've tested so far) hell knights and barons of hell. The baron of hell loses all of its attack animations and the hell knights kinda blink out of existence every few seconds. Weird.

Edit: Upon further inspection, it seems that all the monsters are bugged, actually. The only way I could fix it was by just deleting the sprites folders for monsters. Meh.
User avatar
Really large gun
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 2:30 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Smooth Doom [UPDATE 6/15/19]

Post by Really large gun »

Yea nice, but where can I find random enemy skins ? And could you reupload the smooth textures or something cuz I can't the textures and smooth doom without smooth textures looks kinda strange
acridAxid
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:48 am

Re: Smooth Doom [UPDATE 6/15/19]

Post by acridAxid »

"SmoothTextures.pk3"? did you look? I found it immediately.
User avatar
Really large gun
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 2:30 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Smooth Doom [UPDATE 6/15/19]

Post by Really large gun »

Where did you found "SmoothTextures.pk3" ? Is there some sort of alternate download with a folder that contains it or am I just blind ? Cuz all I found is "SmoothDoom.pk3"
User avatar
MentzWolf
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 6:47 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Contact:

Re: Smooth Doom [UPDATE 6/15/19]

Post by MentzWolf »

Is there a way to make this compatible with brightmaps plus?
EDIT: Nvm I failed to read the thread lol
acridAxid
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:48 am

Re: Smooth Doom [UPDATE 6/15/19]

Post by acridAxid »

Really large gun wrote:Where did you found "SmoothTextures.pk3" ? Is there some sort of alternate download with a folder that contains it or am I just blind ? Cuz all I found is "SmoothDoom.pk3"
Literally the first search result for "SmoothTextures.pk3" on Google.
DoomeRez
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 8:47 pm

Re: Smooth Doom [UPDATE 6/15/19]

Post by DoomeRez »

Hey!

Could somebody suggest some blood mod compatible with Smooth Doom? I've played Smooth Doom with Droplets mod previously, and it was fantastic, but the problem is Droplets cripples performance for some reason, and it's completely unplayable in Doom 2 on crusher levels. Otherwise it could've been a perfect mod combination.
User avatar
faslrn
Posts: 512
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:43 pm
Location: Steam: faslrn
Contact:

Re: Smooth Doom [UPDATE 6/15/19]

Post by faslrn »

DoomeRez wrote:Hey!

Could somebody suggest some blood mod compatible with Smooth Doom? I've played Smooth Doom with Droplets mod previously, and it was fantastic, but the problem is Droplets cripples performance for some reason, and it's completely unplayable in Doom 2 on crusher levels. Otherwise it could've been a perfect mod combination.
Nash's Gore Mod is my go-to for any additional Gore effects.
DoomeRez
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 8:47 pm

Re: Smooth Doom [UPDATE 6/15/19]

Post by DoomeRez »

faslrn wrote:
DoomeRez wrote:Hey!

Could somebody suggest some blood mod compatible with Smooth Doom? I've played Smooth Doom with Droplets mod previously, and it was fantastic, but the problem is Droplets cripples performance for some reason, and it's completely unplayable in Doom 2 on crusher levels. Otherwise it could've been a perfect mod combination.
Nash's Gore Mod is my go-to for any additional Gore effects.
Thanks a lot, it works great!

Should I turn "ENHANCED GORE" option off in conjunction with Nash's Gore Mod? I have tried different settings and it seems like it doesn't do anything at all be it on or off. Any performance differences?
User avatar
faslrn
Posts: 512
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:43 pm
Location: Steam: faslrn
Contact:

Re: Smooth Doom [UPDATE 6/15/19]

Post by faslrn »

DoomeRez wrote:
faslrn wrote:
DoomeRez wrote:Hey!

Could somebody suggest some blood mod compatible with Smooth Doom? I've played Smooth Doom with Droplets mod previously, and it was fantastic, but the problem is Droplets cripples performance for some reason, and it's completely unplayable in Doom 2 on crusher levels. Otherwise it could've been a perfect mod combination.
Nash's Gore Mod is my go-to for any additional Gore effects.
Thanks a lot, it works great!

Should I turn "ENHANCED GORE" option off in conjunction with Nash's Gore Mod? I have tried different settings and it seems like it doesn't do anything at all be it on or off. Any performance differences?
Doesn't matter here since Nash's mod will override any blood/gore settings in Smooth Doom - no performance or visual difference :D

If you ever have issues with Nash's mod, just make sure to post those issues on Nash's Gore thread as you will get more directed troubleshooting!
MaxVonSydoww
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:06 am

Re: Smooth Doom [UPDATE 6/15/19]

Post by MaxVonSydoww »

I just noticed that the hell knights projectile attack does not use colored lightning like the baron of hell when i run smooth doom.
When i run just vanilla gzdoom it has colored lightning like every other enemy attack, is this a bug or is there something i am not aware of?

Running latest version of gzdoom and smoothdoom.
User avatar
Gifty
Posts: 615
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:21 pm

Re: Smooth Doom [UPDATE 9/25/19]

Post by Gifty »

Tiny update today:

-fixed shotgun flash being shortened when recoil is enabled
-fixed pistol having incorrect recoil with bobbing enabled
-improved all tall torch animations
-improved bullet puff effect
-improved megasphere animation
-fixed herky-jerky Plasma Rifle recoil
Dwailing
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2017 3:07 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Smooth Doom [UPDATE 6/15/19]

Post by Dwailing »

Quick question, there was a tiny bug a while back where the Cacodemon's death animation wouldn't display the final frame and would get stuck on the penultimate frame. Did that ever get fixed?
acridAxid
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:48 am

Re: Smooth Doom [UPDATE 9/25/19]

Post by acridAxid »

Thanks for the update, Gifty! I took a stab at fixing the Caco, here's what I found:

HDD2m.lmp should be HDD2m0.lmp, and this bit of his code re-inserts the M frame. Seems right to me, hope this helps you!

Code: Select all

	Death2:
		TNT1 a 0 A_JumpIfHealthLower(-25,"xdeath")
		HDD2 A 3
		HDD2 B 3 A_Scream
		HDD2 CD 2
		HDD2 E 2 A_NoBlocking
		HDD2 F 2 A_SetFloorClip
		HDD2 GHIJKL 2
		HDD2 M -1
		Stop
Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Mods”