The Guncaster - 3.2

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: The Guncaster - 3.1

Postby Dinosaur_Nerd » Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:15 am

I think I actually might have had an aneurysm after reading this pun...

Code: Select allExpand view
class TreasureChest : actor
{
   Default
   {
      Obituary "%o got a bad case of chest pain."; //I have no ragrets.
User avatar
Dinosaur_Nerd
RAWR!
 
Joined: 21 Feb 2018
Location: timelocked USA 1994
Discord: https://discord.gg/7Dd8GCD

Re: The Guncaster - 3.1

Postby Rowsol » Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:44 am

A few things.

Firebreath's height of 16 can make it uncastable with a shallow ceiling. 12 fixed it.
Apocalypse tanks your framerate if you cast it up close to an enemy. It's by far the most demanding spell in this regard.
Spiritcannon has issues with shooting at guys it can't actually hit due to the large hitbox of it's rockets. I get that it's the same size as the Matriarch but it's not as smart as the player. Given it's accuracy maybe you could reduce its radius?

Thanks for reading.

Here's a previous post I made that might have been overlooked since it was the last post on the page, just incase.
Spoiler:
User avatar
Rowsol
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013
Location: Maryland, US

Re: The Guncaster - 3.1

Postby GuntherDW » Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:11 pm

Hmm, I believe it's either an oversight or a bug (might also be intended?), but the asbestos suit movement is off.

When you don't have it equipped your movement feels rather... floaty. When releasing the movement buttons you "float" at least a couple meters still.
When you equip the asbestos suit however you almost immediately stop when you release the movement buttons.

This doesn't change when you equip the draugh suit as well as the asbestos suit.

The powersuit doesn't allow you to equip the asbestos suit over it (then again it's kinda redundant :P) so I couldn't test that.
User avatar
GuntherDW
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2004
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

Re: The Guncaster - 3.1

Postby Dinosaur_Nerd » Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:45 pm

GuntherDW wrote:Hmm, I believe it's either an oversight or a bug (might also be intended?), but the asbestos suit movement is off.

When you don't have it equipped your movement feels rather... floaty. When releasing the movement buttons you "float" at least a couple meters still.
When you equip the asbestos suit however you almost immediately stop when you release the movement buttons.

This doesn't change when you equip the draugh suit as well as the asbestos suit.

The powersuit doesn't allow you to equip the asbestos suit over it (then again it's kinda redundant :P) so I couldn't test that.


This is an intentional new "Nail Boots" feature to the asbestosuit, allowing extremely precise movement control while not flying. This benefit scales proportionally to the player's reflexes. If you do not like this effect it can be disabled in the "Here be Dragons" menu.
Powersuit is supposed to provide all the same benefits of the asbestosuit and more, so there is no need to equip the asbestosuit with powersuit.
User avatar
Dinosaur_Nerd
RAWR!
 
Joined: 21 Feb 2018
Location: timelocked USA 1994
Discord: https://discord.gg/7Dd8GCD

Re: The Guncaster - 3.1

Postby GuntherDW » Thu Jul 26, 2018 10:10 pm

I know it's supposed to supersede the environment suit, hence the "then again it's kinda redundant" part.
But yeah, that menu is so big I kinda just completely missed it.

EDIT: Heh, I did get it to "crash" though just now.

When in riftwalker mode and with voidtouch etc enabled, if you "reflect" boss cubes the game freaks out after a couple seconds and boots you out of the game with this message.
https://i.imgur.com/MOMnzEn.png
User avatar
GuntherDW
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2004
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

Re: The Guncaster - 3.1

Postby GuntherDW » Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:39 pm

Looks like this has been fixed in git already by now. Looks like Graf is reading this topic as well.
https://github.com/coelckers/gzdoom/com ... b90d1053f7
User avatar
GuntherDW
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2004
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

Re: The Guncaster - 3.1

Postby phantombeta » Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:44 pm

GuntherDW wrote:Looks like Graf is reading this topic as well.

Not really. Zhs2 reported the bug.
User avatar
phantombeta
In the meadow of sinful thoughts, every flower's a perfect one
 
Joined: 02 May 2013
Location: The United Soviet Socialist Dictatorship of Hueland
Discord: phantombeta#2461
Twitch ID: phantombeta_
Github ID: Doom2fan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit

Re: The Guncaster - 3.1

Postby Rowsol » Sun Jul 29, 2018 12:31 am

Discovered a repeatable crash. While using gunzerk, if you are holding right click as the strucker runs out of ammo and attempts a weapon change the game will freeze. Left click works fine. Tested with gzdoom 3.4.1 and GC 3.1.
User avatar
Rowsol
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013
Location: Maryland, US

Re: The Guncaster - 3.1

Postby Boliverio87 » Sun Jul 29, 2018 11:04 am

Hey everybody, first time posting in this lovely forums...

I'm finding an issue while trying to play Guncaster 3.1, I'm using GzDoom 3.4.1 X64, with a shortcut and this command line: "-iwad DOOM2.WAD -file Guncaster.pk3"...
Game will load Main Menu and let me fiddle with options, but when I hit New Game and after selecting Difficulty Settings, game will crash leaving me with whatever map music I'm loading, few moments later crashing to desktop.

I'm sure it can't be that hard to figure out, but I'm nos being able to find a way around this... I'm getting a similar error with the Russian Overkill 2.5 mod.
I'll add that I'm using other mods without any kind of problems (Brutal Doom, D4T, QC Doom Edition, Trailblazer, Etc... ).

Thank you all in advance!

EDIT: I've actually found that I had to turn off GL Texture Precache and all my problems are now solved!
Last edited by Boliverio87 on Sun Jul 29, 2018 11:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
Boliverio87
 
Joined: 28 Jul 2018

Re: The Guncaster - 3.1

Postby wildweasel » Sun Jul 29, 2018 11:18 am

Can you add -log logfile.txt to your startup options, and upload the contents of it to a Pastebin?
User avatar
wildweasel
「お前はもうトースト」[you are already toast.]
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: The Guncaster - 3.1

Postby PillowBlaster » Sun Jul 29, 2018 12:08 pm

Rowsol wrote:Discovered a repeatable crash. While using gunzerk, if you are holding right click as the strucker runs out of ammo and attempts a weapon change the game will freeze. Left click works fine. Tested with gzdoom 3.4.1 and GC 3.1.


I should probably note that I looked into it and the stuff mentioned above; Ironblast health check won't happen, as then folks will start reporting it as a bug. I want zombiemen to still be shot at, and I don't want to figure out any complex target prioritizing system on this, as if anyone looked inside possessed Ironblast's code they'll know it's already a bit on the "hard to work with" side. Everything else got more or less addressed.
User avatar
PillowBlaster
Stress? You mean, "Enjoying myself?"
 
Joined: 24 Jan 2010

Re: The Guncaster - 3.1

Postby comet1337 » Mon Jul 30, 2018 12:40 am

if you hold/tap to attack with melee when you die, you continue to attack while dead until you stop
User avatar
comet1337
 
Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Location: elsewhere

Re: The Guncaster - 3.1

Postby Rowsol » Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:53 am

PillowBlaster wrote:I should probably note that I looked into it and the stuff mentioned above; Ironblast health check won't happen, as then folks will start reporting it as a bug. I want zombiemen to still be shot at, and I don't want to figure out any complex target prioritizing system on this, as if anyone looked inside possessed Ironblast's code they'll know it's already a bit on the "hard to work with" side. Everything else got more or less addressed.

Thanks for mentioning it. Yeah, I'm not sure I'd use the health check anyway, just thought it was an idea worth mentioning. Sometimes I want the spirit to be more conservative but you're usually overflowing in shells so it's not a big deal if some are wasted.
User avatar
Rowsol
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013
Location: Maryland, US

Re: The Guncaster - 3.1

Postby erni945 » Mon Jul 30, 2018 12:52 pm

I am reporting a bug, during the game in Hexen I found ironblast voxels in some places, it does not bother me somehow but I decided to report it after all, what is it caused?

https://imgur.com/a/szbnWoI
erni945
 
Joined: 21 Apr 2016
Location: Poland

Re: The Guncaster - 3.1

Postby GuntherDW » Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:18 pm

There's a sort of funny oversight in Heretic.

In Heretic, if you manage to kill the serpent he's riding on with fire (turning it black) D'sparil himself will also spawn and show up black :P
https://i.imgur.com/YWnzt8x.png
I cheated to make that screenshot because I wasn't sure if it was the WAD I was playing that was causing it or the mod. Now I'm sure it's the mod.

EDIT: I've been able to trigger what I believe is a memory leak as well but don't know the certainties of it yet.
It's got something to do with the frostbite spell at least. That's one of the few things, alongside Heretic, that triggered it so far.
The game just freezes and chugs up more and more ram. Up until the OOM-Killer actually kills it even.

Hmm, might be the engine itself, got it to freeze and eat up ram with just being paused on the main menu in the background for an hour. Let me try a clean build.


In Hexen (more specifically Hexen Deathkings of the dark Citadel) I also managed to get the "I smell gold" arrow stuck in the world. (There's a portal trigger behind that wall, so that might've triggered it in the first place)
The automap rendition of it also looks rather... off. It renders as a pile of gibs in heretic for example.
https://i.imgur.com/t472Q9U.png

Another bug in heretic is when you defeat the iron liches in the last level of the first episode by throwing the heretic version of the barrels at them.
Because they don't trigger what I believe is the death animation the platform doesn't lower, rendering the level incompletable.
https://i.imgur.com/TaYpx4j.png
Last edited by GuntherDW on Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:00 pm, edited 5 times in total.
User avatar
GuntherDW
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2004
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

PreviousNext

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DemonbaneSol, Gezzdt, Solarn, Yandex [Bot] and 14 guests