Page 3 of 5

Re: [RELEASE 1+] That Amazing Space Amazon... (by RSL)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:33 pm
by Matt
I've only tried your rebuild so far.

I've also just tried Brutal Doom and that runs just fine. (The other mods I was using were Hideous Destructor and Fractal Doom, neither of them very light on actors either)

Let me try with the June 14 official build (the one without classes)...
http://www.doomworld.com/idgames/?id=17215

No such crash on official. Also lots and lots and lots of gibs and I'm lagging if I "SSG" 3 zombiemen in a row (BDv19 was just fine when I SSG'd these guys then).

Re: [RELEASE 1+] That Amazing Space Amazon... (by RSL)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:37 pm
by Ed the Bat
Very interesting... I'll keep an eye on this and poke around, see if I can learn anything important.

One last question: What's your G/ZDoom version? Does this happen in the latest dev builds? If so, how about the latest official releases?

Re: [RELEASE 1+] That Amazing Space Amazon... (by RSL)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 11:43 pm
by Matt
2013-10-11 build, G1.9 pre-314-gac0c07a, whatever that all means. From my recollection it was a build from August 27 and I can't compile anything newer than that.

Re: [RELEASE 1+] That Amazing Space Amazon... (by RSL)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 11:46 pm
by Ed the Bat
Alright. For the sake of argument, would you be willing to try something newer, such as gzdoom-G1.9pre-337-g4122e40 from November 20th? Also, this one's a stab in the dark, but just in case my webspace played a trick and the upload wasn't finished when you grabbed it, would you be willing to download my TASA build again? It's probably unlikely, but stranger things have happened to me...

I've been poking at this issue, but so far haven't made any headway on determining what the cause might be. I play with the newest build possible (so gzdoom-G1.9pre-337-g4122e40 for right now), and didn't see anything unusual.

Re: [RELEASE 1+] That Amazing Space Amazon... (by RSL)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 12:20 am
by Matt
would you be willing to try something newer
can't compile
can not compile

Re: [RELEASE 1+] That Amazing Space Amazon... (by RSL)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 12:23 am
by Ed the Bat
I didn't ask you to compile. Hence why I sent the dang hyperlink to the downloads. :|

Re: [RELEASE 1+] That Amazing Space Amazon... (by RSL)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 12:35 am
by The Zombie Killer
As far as I know, Vaecrius uses Linux, so he can't use DRDTeam's builds, since they're Windows builds.

Re: [RELEASE 1+] That Amazing Space Amazon... (by RSL)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 12:37 am
by Ed the Bat
The Zombie Killer wrote:As far as I know, Vaecrius uses Linux, so he can't use DRDTeam's builds, since they're Windows builds.

That would have been useful to know beforehand. I suppose his presence in the Linux thread implies it, but I don't try to make assumptions -- after all, many people I know on Linux also have Windows available to them.

Either way, if that's the case, I can't very well troubleshoot someone else's homemade build.

Re: [RELEASE 1+] That Amazing Space Amazon... (by RSL)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 1:30 am
by Matt
Theoretically I do have Windows installed, but EDIT2: forgot to finish this sentence. Let's just say that last time I tried to boot to Windows it's gotten so bad my keyboard doesn't respond at the logon screen. I'd attempt to reinstall the entire thing but Windows' DRM prevents me from doing that.

The top hypothesis compatible with "this build is probably broken" and "this wad and only this wad causes this problem" is that something goes wrong when too much is loaded into memory from a WAD at the same time.

I'd try to look at the wad itself to see if I could do anything, but problem is---holy shit I just got SLADE working, brb EDIT: Just exported everything to a zip. Still got the problem. Not a matter of wad or not wad.

Re: [RELEASE 1+] That Amazing Space Amazon... (by RSL)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 1:34 am
by Ed the Bat
Vaecrius wrote:Theoretically I do have Windows installed, but

The top hypothesis compatible with "this build is probably broken" and "this wad and only this wad causes this problem" is that something goes wrong when too much is loaded into memory from a WAD at the same time.

I'd try to look at the wad itself to see if I could do anything, but problem is---holy shit I just got SLADE working, brb

If you find anything substantial, let me know. As I have zero experience with either Linux or home-compiling G/ZDoom, I'm at a loss as to what the root of the issue may be, or how to fix it, but I'm still curious.

Re: [RELEASE 1+] That Amazing Space Amazon... (by RSL)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 2:43 am
by Matt
In PHIFOES:
Code: Select allExpand view
   Death.Abrupt:
      TNT1 A 0 //A_CustomMissile("RipGuts", 20, 0, random(0, 360), 2, random(0, 160))
      TNT1 A 0 A_XScream
      POSX ABCDEFGH 3 A_CustomMissile("ZygoBloodFountain", 20)
      TNT1 A 0 //A_CustomMissile("Zombieman2SgtMkIVXDeath", 20, 0, random(0, 360), 2, random(0, 160))
      TNT1 A 0 A_NoBlocking
      POSX IJKLMNOPQ 3 //A_CustomMissile("ZygoBloodFountain", 20)
      POSX Q -1
      Stop
This causes the crash. I allow RipGuts and/or Zombieman2SgtMkIVXDeath instead, it's still fine.

So obviously I assume there's something wrong with the ZygoBloodFountain actor but I haven't a clue what.

EDIT: Summoning a bunch of ZygoBloodFountains does not result in a crash.
EDIT2: Looking at the code again and realizing just how many of those A_CustomMissile calls are being made, I try summoning a rather large bunch of ZygoBloodFountains and walla as they say in cultured places there's the crash.
EDIT3: that's like ~20 actors comiong out of one of these fountains. That's 9 calls in each of the 2 sets of those 3-tic frames, meaning around 360 of them will appear along with all the other stuff. o_O EDIT4: EDIT3 was done without Ed's below input. Yeah, that's quite a shit ton. o_O; (EDIT5: assuming average 3 blood trail actors for each of those, and given 2-3 actors per SpawnDebris call, that's like 2000 actors spawned for shooting one zombieman. Now do the math when you've fully loaded the "S"SG and you've got 3 zeds lined up...)

EDIT6: But that just makes it even weirder why RSL's original works fine for me. o_O

Re: [RELEASE 1+] That Amazing Space Amazon... (by RSL)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 2:50 am
by Ed the Bat
ZygoBloodFountain calls A_SpawnDebris a maximum of 29 times, for items that, themselves, spawn more items. So, the short answer is that ZygoBloodFountain creates a shit-ton of new actors; something that is widely notorious for hurting performance.

Re: [RELEASE 1+] That Amazing Space Amazon... (by RSL)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 3:06 am
by Matt
So after all that I just put "stop" after every "spawn:" in "ZYGOBLD" and the mod works like a charm!

And visually I don't think I even notice the difference what with all the gibs and other blood and whatnot...

You've really done a number on this what with the additional classes and all. If it weren't as good as it now I wouldn't have been up at 1AM on a work night trying to figure this all out. :D

Re: [RELEASE 1+] That Amazing Space Amazon... (by RSL)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 3:09 am
by Ed the Bat
I wholeheartedly agree to that. In fact, if we look back at the earlier posts of this thread, my disinterest in the overly excessive (particularly in terms of engine performance) blood/gore effects was the entire reason the FX Tamer was written! :3:

And I'm so glad you like what I've done! It's perhaps a little surprising that I didn't actually create any new content. All I did was repackage RSL's work into a neater bundle. :P

Re: [RELEASE 1+] That Amazing Space Amazon... (by RSL)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 3:16 am
by Matt
Ed the Bat wrote:I didn't actually create any new content.

rsl wrote:It's really nice to see all classes displayed together and selectable via menu.

....ahh. :shock:

I still can't see any of the other playerclasses in the /idgames version though. o_O