Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Postby LordKane1701 » Sun Jan 17, 2021 8:50 pm

Nightgaunt wrote:Post by Exeor:

Nope, as far as I know he isn't even in the heretic/hexen discord, but there is something interesting related to woc:
Checking The Sentinel's Playground there is a zandronum server where you can get a new version called woc_v3.1.4.pk3 along with the updated patches, probably this will be the next official version but still in beta state. You can download it from here:
https://allfearthesentinel.net/zandronu ... 07&popup=1

I don't know the differences compared to 3.A version (and surprisingly, it still works with my campaign) since I didn't see a changelog, but I noticed that the mage has a new ruby wand in the fifth slot instead of the emerald wand and the fighter has new sprites for the Vorpal Blade.




I will have to check it out thanks.
User avatar
LordKane1701
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2017

Re: Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Postby SallazarSpellcaster » Sun Jan 24, 2021 7:11 pm

There's also a new accessory so far - it's called the Ring of Mana Attraction, it regenerates a percentage of your mana every 5 seconds, but you take more arcane damage.
User avatar
SallazarSpellcaster
 
Joined: 31 Dec 2012
Location: Mexico

Re: Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Postby CopperBoltwire » Wed Jan 27, 2021 3:57 pm

What file handles how many stat points per level players get?
And if possible to alter max skill levels, where would I do that?
An if it IS possible to mod max skill level, what file handles how many skill points per level you get?

Could also be fun to alter monster difficulty even more then usual.
CopperBoltwire
 
Joined: 23 Dec 2016

Re: Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Postby modenthusiast » Tue Feb 02, 2021 3:43 pm

Anyone know what version of gzdoom I should be using with WoC? I can't see the UI on 4.2.4a
modenthusiast
 
Joined: 02 Feb 2021

Re: Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Postby LordKane1701 » Wed Feb 03, 2021 11:10 am

modenthusiast wrote:Anyone know what version of gzdoom I should be using with WoC? I can't see the UI on 4.2.4a


It works with the latest but if it doesnt work for your machine use LZDoom as WoC works fine with it.
(I use LZDoom so I can vouch that it does)
User avatar
LordKane1701
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2017

Re: Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Postby modenthusiast » Thu Feb 04, 2021 3:39 am

Even with LZDoom, I can't see the HUD at all. :/ Are my settings wrong?
modenthusiast
 
Joined: 02 Feb 2021

Re: Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Postby Sunbeam » Sat Mar 13, 2021 6:37 am

I haven't played the mod myself, but I saw a playthrough on Youtube recently.

I took a look at the mod's ACS code. As a mod creator myself I am wondering: Is there an estimate on how much time went into this mod? Especially the coding part?
The ACS has over 10000 lines of code. This should have taken a while... I do understand however that some parts were taken from other mods / authors.
User avatar
Sunbeam
 
Joined: 09 Apr 2013

Re: Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Postby fakemai » Sun Mar 14, 2021 6:09 am

modenthusiast wrote:Even with LZDoom, I can't see the HUD at all. :/ Are my settings wrong?

It is working for me on LZDoom latest (3.87c) are you sure it's not just the wrong screen size? Press +/- to make it one below largest, or more directly, put "screenblocks 11" into the console. Enough mods require it set to something specific to have their proper HUD, DRLA and Lambda spring to mind.
User avatar
fakemai
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2018
Location: Australia
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Postby Blitzer » Tue Mar 30, 2021 4:00 am

Does anybody else have an issue where you can't start up wrath of cronos with masters of chaos? (The moc11.wad file to be specific).
This is how I have my batch file set up:
Gzdoom -file moc11.wad woc_nothexen.pk3 WoCv30a.pk3 woc_v3hereticpatch.pk3 woc_v3hereticmocpatch.pk3 -iwad HERETIC.wad

The issue seems to arise from the woc_v3hereticpatch.pk3 file, as it does not work with vanilla Heretic either.
Blitzer
 
Joined: 04 Apr 2020
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Postby Blitzer » Sun Apr 04, 2021 6:00 am

Blitzer wrote:Does anybody else have an issue where you can't start up wrath of cronos with masters of chaos? (The moc11.wad file to be specific).
This is how I have my batch file set up:
Gzdoom -file moc11.wad woc_nothexen.pk3 WoCv30a.pk3 woc_v3hereticpatch.pk3 woc_v3hereticmocpatch.pk3 -iwad HERETIC.wad

The issue seems to arise from the woc_v3hereticpatch.pk3 file, as it does not work with vanilla Heretic either.


I have fixed that issue. However, I have another issue when playing with Masters of chaos specifically; when booting with wrath of cronos, the jade wand, skull staff and blood scepter given are the moc variants instead of the woc ones. Is there a way to fix that?
Blitzer
 
Joined: 04 Apr 2020
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Postby fumarabi » Tue Apr 06, 2021 2:33 am

Anyway of getting more monster variety or types?
fumarabi
 
Joined: 04 Nov 2020

Re: Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Postby Exeor » Tue Apr 06, 2021 7:46 pm

Blitzer wrote:
Blitzer wrote:Does anybody else have an issue where you can't start up wrath of cronos with masters of chaos? (The moc11.wad file to be specific).
This is how I have my batch file set up:
Gzdoom -file moc11.wad woc_nothexen.pk3 WoCv30a.pk3 woc_v3hereticpatch.pk3 woc_v3hereticmocpatch.pk3 -iwad HERETIC.wad

The issue seems to arise from the woc_v3hereticpatch.pk3 file, as it does not work with vanilla Heretic either.


I have fixed that issue. However, I have another issue when playing with Masters of chaos specifically; when booting with wrath of cronos, the jade wand, skull staff and blood scepter given are the moc variants instead of the woc ones. Is there a way to fix that?


Same happens here, but I think that I *could* fix it, it is just a minor actor issue.

fumarabi wrote:Anyway of getting more monster variety or types?


For Doom you can get a good variety of enemies when using the "wrathofcronosv3doomextramons.pk3" and "wrathofcronosv3doomrandom.pk3" files, you can download it from The Sentinel's Playground.
User avatar
Exeor
Why do we all have to wear these ridiculous ties?
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2015
Location: Spain

Re: Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Postby Nightgaunt » Sun Apr 11, 2021 2:34 am

My god I just noticed the Assassin sprite in the selection screen, what's that, a walking fridge?
It's like he took a Blazkowicz sprite from Wolfenstein 3d and pasted a girl's head over his, LOL.

Where's my lithe widow-maker from Hexen 2?
Nightgaunt
 
Joined: 12 Jan 2018

Re: Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Postby Exeor » Sun Apr 11, 2021 11:09 am

Nightgaunt wrote:My god I just noticed the Assassin sprite in the selection screen, what's that, a walking fridge?
It's like he took a Blazkowicz sprite from Wolfenstein 3d and pasted a girl's head over his, LOL.

Where's my lithe widow-maker from Hexen 2?


I found these sprites from Shadow Warrior that fits better for the Assassin Class, even if only a few ones would be used.



Also I reported this bug a few months ago but I don't know if Tethis has fixed it: Monsters ignore the notarget command, they will attack you even if it is enabled, no idea why it happens.
User avatar
Exeor
Why do we all have to wear these ridiculous ties?
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2015
Location: Spain

Re: Wrath of Cronos RPG V3A

Postby Nightgaunt » Mon Apr 12, 2021 12:14 pm

Those sprites look good, hopefully Blasko was just a place-holder.
Nightgaunt
 
Joined: 12 Jan 2018

PreviousNext

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: stainedofmind, The Philosopher and 13 guests