Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
ZioMcCall
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 3:05 pm
Location: Senigallia,Italy

Re: Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Post by ZioMcCall »

Hmmm,ear the Team fortress 2 Spy's taunts give me an idea for an addon.
User avatar
LolwellunTeapot
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Trapped in Smashworld, Left to die.

Re: Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Post by LolwellunTeapot »

TITLEMAP crashes on startup of latest Git version of GZDoom on devbuilds.drdteam.org at the time of this post (g2.1.pre-1859-gb5c3ced). Used to work before. Removing gzdoom-deliciousdoritos.ini file makes TITLEMAP work for some reason.

Image

CrashReport.zip.disappointment and gzdoom-teapot.ini
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21368
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm

Re: Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Post by wildweasel »

I am not able to do anything with a MEGA link at the moment. Could you paste the contents of your INI file to Pastebin?
User avatar
Crudux Cruo
Posts: 1161
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 8:43 pm
Location: California

Re: Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Post by Crudux Cruo »

Hey Weasel i was hoping you might help me on something; how do you go about the weapon swaps in your mod? is it acs? I have a project (still a little to early to announce) i want to be able to pick up one of each type, or swap for a gun and drop everything else of the same type.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21368
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm

Re: Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Post by wildweasel »

Crudux Cruo wrote:Hey Weasel i was hoping you might help me on something; how do you go about the weapon swaps in your mod? is it acs? I have a project (still a little to early to announce) i want to be able to pick up one of each type, or swap for a gun and drop everything else of the same type.

The whole swapping system is Ed the Bat's work; I don't actually know much of how it works, but I would imagine at least a little ACS is involved.
User avatar
Ed the Bat
Posts: 3060
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 1:18 pm
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Maryland, US

Re: Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Post by Ed the Bat »

Definitely a lot of ACS, supplemented with some DECORATE. But just looking inside the project is probably better than any explanation I could try to give on how it works.
User avatar
Crudux Cruo
Posts: 1161
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 8:43 pm
Location: California

Re: Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Post by Crudux Cruo »

Cool ill decompile the acs script and check it out, thanks

edit: hmm, this seems a great deal more complicated than i need perhaps, but i'll keep it in mind
User avatar
LolwellunTeapot
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Trapped in Smashworld, Left to die.

Re: Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Post by LolwellunTeapot »

User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21368
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm

Re: Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Post by wildweasel »

LolwellunTeapot wrote:gzdoom-babycockatiel.ini

Okay...I don't see anything unusual in the INI or (what I can decipher of) the crash report...what happens if you run GZDoom with -noautoload? I've got a strange hunch.
User avatar
LolwellunTeapot
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Trapped in Smashworld, Left to die.

Re: Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Post by LolwellunTeapot »

wildweasel wrote:
LolwellunTeapot wrote:gzdoom-babycockatiel.ini

Okay...I don't see anything unusual in the INI or (what I can decipher of) the crash report...what happens if you run GZDoom with -noautoload? I've got a strange hunch.


Without Autoloads it runs vanilla Doom II just fine. Other than that I used a custom .pk3 file to replace TITLEMAP.wad with a dummy "zero bytes" TITLEMAP.wad that prevents the TITLEMAP map from loading. All maps Vanilla-compatible, Boom-compatible and (G)ZDoom designed (excluding TITLEMAP obviously) works with Nazis.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21368
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm

Re: Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Post by wildweasel »

The reason I ask is that I wonder if your autoloaded high-res texture pack is somehow causing conflicts with what's in the Titlemap. I'm probably off-base, though.
User avatar
LolwellunTeapot
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Trapped in Smashworld, Left to die.

Re: Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Post by LolwellunTeapot »

wildweasel wrote:The reason I ask is that I wonder if your autoloaded high-res texture pack is somehow causing conflicts with what's in the Titlemap. I'm probably off-base, though.

Even without high-res texture packs TITLEMAP crashes GZDoom.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21368
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm

Re: Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Post by wildweasel »

Well, I don't know then, because it worked for me the last time I played it. Maybe go report it as a ZDoom bug.
User avatar
LolwellunTeapot
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 2:49 am
Location: Trapped in Smashworld, Left to die.

Re: Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Post by LolwellunTeapot »

Graf Zahl wrote:fixed. This was caused by trying to cache the GL nodes for the titlemap. The case where no partner segs were needed was not covered.


topic
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21368
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm

Re: Weasel Presents: NAZIS V2

Post by wildweasel »

Oh, good, turns out it wasn't my fault then. =P

Return to “Gameplay Mods”