[Release] SD3TII (no updates 01/03/12)

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: SuperDoom3: Take II [Want to test?]

Postby DBThanatos » Sat Oct 23, 2010 9:38 pm

DOOMERO-21 wrote:still the player with the missile position when i use the flashlight.

That's normal due to A_FireBullets, however, I did manage to make the footsteps sounds. Im waiting for certain suggestion to see if it's accepted, if so, then I can fix this. In the meantime, this is a good as it gets :P

DOOMERO-21 wrote:sometimes the recoil of the zsec pistol looks like attacking with the shotgun.

You mean the sprite changes? I dont quite get what you mean.

DOOMERO-21 wrote:when i am so close to the archvile he attack me with the terrain flame attack and he recive damage with his own attack, well i guess was my fault not include the melee attack of the archvile and same case of the mancubus

This is a bug indeed. Im going to check the code again.

Big C wrote:Boots up alright most of the time when I drag and drop. Sometimes it has a weird glitch of unknown nature and tells me that I cannot continue because...Normal is already the default difficulty or something. :? I'll try and find the error again and report the error message.

In the 2nd PM I explain that all the warnings are expected and unfortunately irremovable unless I completely rearrange everything in the mod, which would mean re-make the whole mod.

Big C wrote:Also, my fear that this mod would alternately run deliciously and lag like a monster are confirmed. I tried setting the option to precache the GL textures, and it mostly worked but it still lags up, mainly when I move into a room full of enemies, presumably because the system is trying to juggle so many hirez sprites and GL effects at once.

Probably, but you should tweak a little bit the GL options to see what helps. Also, check if Render is set to "Speed" or "quality"; the latter is slower, so that's something to start checking.

printz wrote:Was there a decision not to give monsters timed pain reactions (so they only go in pain every three or so seconds)? I saw in that last video how the z-sec at the start moans at every hit.

Monsters have their paninchances and all, but the animations are quite short.

Thanks guys, let me see what I can cook up tomorrow. Im also checking the PMs BTW.
User avatar
DBThanatos
Guns, explosions, gore.
 
Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Location: in "the darkness that lurks in our mind"

Re: SuperDoom3: Take II [Want to test?]

Postby DOOMERO-21 » Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:16 pm



this is a little show of the progress of the extras for the take 2, thanatos already is fixing some details of this.....
User avatar
DOOMERO-21
 
Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Location: Chile

Re: SuperDoom3: Take II [Want to test?]

Postby DBThanatos » Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:22 pm

DOOMERO-21 wrote:this is a little show of the progress of the extras for the take 2, thanatos already is fixing some details of this.....


Man, please dont upload more videos about this until released or approved, since this is still a WIP and I'd prefer to keep it between me and the testers. Sure you can keep this video because is already up and all, but usually, no advertising/spoiling material should be released by the testers, since there's some sort of secrecy contract between us. I understand you want to pimp this, but since stuff is changing, I'd prefer you to wait until anything is confirmed and authorized by me. Sorry if I sound kind of prick-ish here, but with the new material, I'd rather wait some time before announcing anything.
User avatar
DBThanatos
Guns, explosions, gore.
 
Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Location: in "the darkness that lurks in our mind"

Re: SuperDoom3: Take II [Want to test?]

Postby DOOMERO-21 » Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:48 pm

yeah i know i dont have intention of release other videos becuase i finnish this mod some time ago, usualy i release videos when is a wad is in progress, also you have the last word, you put the final video when the release date arrive....
User avatar
DOOMERO-21
 
Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Location: Chile

Re: SuperDoom3: Take II [Want to test?]

Postby Major Cooke » Tue Oct 26, 2010 8:43 pm

DOOMERO-21 wrote:usualy i release videos when is a wad is in progress,


Well, that's the number one thing people should avoid for minor to moderate changes. Now, I know this may sound a little hypocritical on my end, but the only reason why, for example, AEoD v5 even got a trailer was because it had taken so damn long to make. The remake of a mod like this usually doesn't take longer than a few weeks to a month at most.

Just take me as an example as part of DBT's little team... Sometimes I didn't know what the boundaries of secrecy were, so I got tapped a few times to correct myself.

I'm just providing advice at this point.
User avatar
Major Cooke
QZDoom Maintenance Team
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007

Re: SuperDoom3: Take II [Want to test?]

Postby DOOMERO-21 » Wed Oct 27, 2010 9:07 am

Major Cooke wrote:
DOOMERO-21 wrote:usualy i release videos when is a wad is in progress,


Well, that's the number one thing people should avoid for minor to moderate changes. Now, I know this may sound a little hypocritical on my end, but the only reason why, for example, AEoD v5 even got a trailer was because it had taken so damn long to make. The remake of a mod like this usually doesn't take longer than a few weeks to a month at most.

Just take me as an example as part of DBT's little team... Sometimes I didn't know what the boundaries of secrecy were, so I got tapped a few times to correct myself.

I'm just providing advice at this point.


yeah i know that, take lot of time, when i released vol 4 and later zdoom change some codes, for release another remake, i redone the weapons, the monsters, etc,etc, almost i needed 6 months to finnish vol 4.5 ....
User avatar
DOOMERO-21
 
Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Location: Chile

Re: [WIP] SuperDoom3: Take II

Postby Sodaholic » Wed Oct 27, 2010 3:01 pm

Sorry for my delayed testing, my wireless internet thing fried. Gonna get a new one today, on another comp right now. I was actually going to send a zip of a lot of useful doom 3 sounds (just before my internet fried) to you dbthantos, do you still need them?
Sodaholic
Banned User
 
Joined: 03 Nov 2007

Re: [WIP] SuperDoom3: Take II

Postby Big C » Wed Oct 27, 2010 3:05 pm

Urgh. Looking at the files and based on past performance of the WAD, I think this mod is more than my computer can handle without some struggle.

I hereby regrettably resign from the testing team, as I don't feel I can contribute any in this state. There's too many hi-res sprites and in-between-animation sprites (like zombies strafing) for my computer to handle.
User avatar
Big C
 
Joined: 19 Oct 2010

Re: [WIP] SuperDoom3: Take II

Postby DBThanatos » Wed Oct 27, 2010 6:41 pm

@Sodahollic: sure, if you have em, please send em this way.

@Big C: Ok, thanks anyway. Just please dont distribute the files you were given.
User avatar
DBThanatos
Guns, explosions, gore.
 
Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Location: in "the darkness that lurks in our mind"

Re: [WIP] SuperDoom3: Take II

Postby Sodaholic » Wed Oct 27, 2010 9:22 pm

By the way, could there be a patch to remove enemy randomization? It just doesn't feel right having those weird new blue plasma ball throwing guys spawning in place of imps. Perhaps it should be default behavior, and there could be a patch to enable the randomization for people who want it. Am I the only one that doesn't like it being default?
Sodaholic
Banned User
 
Joined: 03 Nov 2007

Re: [WIP] SuperDoom3: Take II

Postby DBThanatos » Wed Oct 27, 2010 11:37 pm

Sodahollic wrote:By the way, could there be a patch to remove enemy randomization? It just doesn't feel right having those weird new blue plasma ball throwing guys spawning in place of imps. Perhaps it should be default behavior, and there could be a patch to enable the randomization for people who want it. Am I the only one that doesn't like it being default?


Well, these guys are the "vulgar" from RoE and they're the equivalent to an imp in the expansion. I used it because was on the original mod, and while they also replace the nazi guys, I see no other place where they could fit, and would be a shame to leave 'em unused. Im open to suggestions though.
User avatar
DBThanatos
Guns, explosions, gore.
 
Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Location: in "the darkness that lurks in our mind"

Re: [WIP] SuperDoom3: Take II

Postby Per-Scan » Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:48 am

I quite like them. It certainly gives you a fright walking around certain corners and being ambushed by something else. The first time I got attacked by one my first thought was WTF!?!??! I haven't had that in Doom for quite some time! I think they add to the 'expansion' feel that this mod gives to good old WADs. That's just my tuppence worth. :)
User avatar
Per-Scan
Formerly Known as Pedro Lambrini
 
Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Location: One Year in the Future

Re: [WIP] SuperDoom3: Take II

Postby DOOMERO-21 » Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:56 pm

DBThanatos wrote:
Sodahollic wrote:By the way, could there be a patch to remove enemy randomization? It just doesn't feel right having those weird new blue plasma ball throwing guys spawning in place of imps. Perhaps it should be default behavior, and there could be a patch to enable the randomization for people who want it. Am I the only one that doesn't like it being default?


Well, these guys are the "vulgar" from RoE and they're the equivalent to an imp in the expansion. I used it because was on the original mod, and while they also replace the nazi guys, I see no other place where they could fit, and would be a shame to leave 'em unused. Im open to suggestions though.



NO! vulgar, imp and imp cat are sacred. also only have few diferences with the design, like DBTHANATOS said, vulgar is like the imp on roe, that at the same time give to the mod more variality of the enemies becuase you dont know what class of monster will appear on the corner......but that is the only case (for demons) with random sistem, the rest are ok, like the classic except doom hellknight ( now is bruiser) and baron of hell (now doom 3 hellknight).
User avatar
DOOMERO-21
 
Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Location: Chile

Re: SuperDoom3: Take II [Want to test?]

Postby printz » Thu Oct 28, 2010 3:29 pm

Is the shotgun going to be as stupidly inaccurate as in Doom 3?

EDIT:
DBThanatos wrote:Sure you can keep this video because is already up and all, but usually, no advertising/spoiling material should be released by the testers, since there's some sort of secrecy contract between us.

Well yeah, but it's Doom 3 in Doom 2, we know what to expect.
User avatar
printz
Eternity, Eureka and AutoDoom programmer
 
Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Github ID: ioan-chera
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: SuperDoom3: Take II [Want to test?]

Postby DOOMERO-21 » Thu Oct 28, 2010 3:34 pm

printz wrote:Is the shotgun going to be as stupidly inaccurate as in Doom 3?


NO! shotgun is stupidly sacred! no more stupids inaccurate as in doom3 ... anyway this mod is not 100% like doom3, i am very disagree with some doom3 features ....and i love put the classic features, for example unlimited run, the player speed, etc.
User avatar
DOOMERO-21
 
Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Location: Chile

PreviousNext

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests