[Release] Parkour -- v1.1

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
TheMistress
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:18 pm

Re: [WIP] Parkour Mod [Beta.C]

Post by TheMistress »

ZDG wrote:My best time for IOS in HMP.

We want a full screenshot of the intermission so we can see the proof
Otherwise we will think you camped at entryway's exit.Point out hmph<.<
xD
User avatar
Darlos
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:41 am
Location: Durham, NC

Re: [WIP] Parkour Mod [Beta.C]

Post by Darlos »

Whether I use the latest zdoom or gzdoom I get this error upon loading up:

Script error, "parkor_x.pk3:decorate.txt" line 448:
Expected ')', got ','.

Also at one point there is also this loading message:

"Tried to register class 'GenericItem' more than once."

I'd like to use this mutator since it'd go great with a couple other mods.
User avatar
rollingcrow
Posts: 733
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 8:30 pm
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] Parkour Mod [Beta.C]

Post by rollingcrow »

Are you sure you're using the SVN versions and not the officical releases?
User avatar
Darlos
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:41 am
Location: Durham, NC

Re: [WIP] Parkour Mod [Beta.C]

Post by Darlos »

I'm not, but I didn't see any instructions to do so anywhere.
User avatar
rollingcrow
Posts: 733
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 8:30 pm
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] Parkour Mod [Beta.C]

Post by rollingcrow »

Are you ever going to add things like wall running or the ability to mantle?
User avatar
Killar
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 12:15 pm
Location: Always one step behind

Re: [WIP] Parkour Mod [Beta.C]

Post by Killar »

Se7eNytes wrote:Are you ever going to add things like wall running or the ability to mantle?

Yeah, wall running that causes you to fly on the wall. LOL!
User avatar
amv2k9
Posts: 2178
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:05 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: [WIP] Parkour Mod [Beta.C]

Post by amv2k9 »

Se7eNytes wrote:Are you ever going to add things like wall running or the ability to mantle?


I'd think wall running in first-person would be kinda awkward.

A couple observations about the mod:
1) What's the red bar below health & armor? Is it a gauge for the dash? It doesn't seem to deplete when dash is used.

2) Perhaps different icons (or different colored text?) to differentiate normal & super armor? As it is, you could have, say, 40 points of armor, but going by the icon itself, you can't tell if that's 40 points of normal or super armor.
User avatar
Viscra Maelstrom
Posts: 6197
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:14 am
Location: plergleland

Re: [WIP] Parkour Mod [Beta.C]

Post by Viscra Maelstrom »

To answer your question about that gauge... yes it's for the dash. When you use the Parkour Dash the gauge fills up, then slowly depletes again. When it is completely depleted you can use the dash again.

However, to be honest, the dash feels pretty useless to me. i think it would be better if you keeped the button held down when you run, and when you let go of the button, the dash stops. Oh, and you also should be able to jump during the dash. It would be more useful that way, I think, as you could determine yourself how much to use during the situation.Oh, BTW, i found a bug with the gauge. When I use whatever mappack which replaces the statusbar the gauge for the dashing doesn't showup.

Lastly, this is a excellent mod.
User avatar
rollingcrow
Posts: 733
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 8:30 pm
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] Parkour Mod [Beta.C]

Post by rollingcrow »

The dash helps you fly long distances (like Doom II MAP29) if you are running at the same time.
User avatar
Mikk-
Posts: 2269
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:31 pm
Discord: Mikk0451#3922
Location: Somewhere off Kanagawa

Re: [WIP] Parkour Mod [Beta.C]

Post by Mikk- »

I'd prefer the dash NOT to be changed, as it plays an important role in getting across distances that regular jump-wallkick can not.
For example:
In the training wad [made by me] there is an extremely long jump that you have to make by jumping, wallkicking to land on a bounce pad, wall kicking off the wall again then dashing to successfully make it to the other side.
User avatar
rollingcrow
Posts: 733
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 8:30 pm
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] Parkour Mod [Beta.C]

Post by rollingcrow »

It could add a bit more challange if you disable the ability to run and make the dash your only source of extra speed.
User avatar
XutaWoo
Posts: 4005
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 4:25 pm
Location: beautiful hills of those who are friends

Re: [WIP] Parkour Mod [Beta.C]

Post by XutaWoo »

Se7eNytes wrote:It could add a bit more challange if you disable the ability to run and make the dash your only source of extra speed.

This isn't Hideous Destructor; the doom guy's supposed to have increased mobility in this, not decreased. :?
User avatar
ZDG
Posts: 918
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: in SlumpEd

Re: [WIP] Parkour Mod [Beta.C]

Post by ZDG »

Another IOS time! Woohoohoo!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
amv2k9
Posts: 2178
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:05 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: [WIP] Parkour Mod [Beta.C]

Post by amv2k9 »

doomhunter_175 wrote:To answer your question about that gauge... yes it's for the dash. When you use the Parkour Dash the gauge fills up, then slowly depletes again. When it is completely depleted you can use the dash again.


Eh?
When I've been playing, the gauge is always FULL, whether I've used dash at all or not. And I can still dash when it's full.
I'll try this again later when I have SVN r2380.
User avatar
Mikk-
Posts: 2269
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:31 pm
Discord: Mikk0451#3922
Location: Somewhere off Kanagawa

Re: [WIP] Parkour Mod [Beta.C]

Post by Mikk- »

A challenger appears:
Spoiler:

:>

Return to “Gameplay Mods”