Ultimate Torment & Torture (New Screens p.26)

New maps, and other projects whose primary focus is new maps, belong here.

NOTE: This forum, and all forums below it, are NOT for questions or troubleshooting! Threads here are for active projects only! Please use the Editing subforums or General for questions.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Postby Ryan Cordell » Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:49 am

Nmn wrote:Red Unreal clouds? Hmm.. does fir there, though :)


Could've sworn Unreal had more layer of clouds for the skybox.. Torm could pull that off with 3d floors, but since he wants to make it also for ZDoom, best not use that.
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
PDA Man
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Location: Capital of Explodistan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Tormentor667 » Fri Mar 03, 2006 9:14 am

@NMN - Unreal? Not sure, the texture itself is from Sphagne (found that a few minutes ago before posting ;))

@Blade - Yes, my aim is ZDoom compatibility, though I think about switching to GZDoom... many things in ZDoom itself are so limited, and beyond advertising GZDoom is fun ;)
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Amuscaria » Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:21 am

why does the mountains look like they are pasted on a sqare? Is that the sky box? o_o
User avatar
Amuscaria
The Sentient Mushroom
 
Joined: 26 Jul 2004
Location: Growing from mycelium near you.

Postby Ryan Cordell » Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:23 am

Eriance wrote:why does the mountains look like they are pasted on a sqare? Is that the sky box? o_o


Probably. >_>;
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
PDA Man
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Location: Capital of Explodistan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:39 am

Eriance wrote:why does the mountains look like they are pasted on a sqare? Is that the sky box? o_o



Becasue that's what they are.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Tormentor667 » Fri Mar 03, 2006 12:33 pm

Yes it is... any suggestion how I can create a round circle with the length of 512?
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Ryan Cordell » Fri Mar 03, 2006 12:37 pm

Tormentor667 wrote:Yes it is... any suggestion how I can create a round circle with the length of 512?


I thought Doom Builder can create circled sectors?
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
PDA Man
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Location: Capital of Explodistan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Postby SMG M7 » Fri Mar 03, 2006 12:51 pm

Can it? I never knew that. Only reason I ever used Wadauthor.
User avatar
SMG M7
Woo!
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Location: Here, or there

Postby Ryan Cordell » Fri Mar 03, 2006 12:53 pm

SMG M7 wrote:Can it? I never knew that. Only reason I ever used Wadauthor.


Yes, it can. Not like Duke 3d's BUILD, in DB, you just press the half-circle ish button while selecting a linedef, and done. :P
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
PDA Man
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Location: Capital of Explodistan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Phobus » Fri Mar 03, 2006 2:14 pm

Well, in the past I've just done things like that manually, but in this case, it may not be advisable.
User avatar
Phobus
Registered Occasional Lurker
 
Joined: 05 May 2005
Location: London

Postby Nash » Fri Mar 03, 2006 3:34 pm

In DoomBuilder, select a linedef and press Shift + C to create a perfect circle.
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Postby Enjay » Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:40 pm

The trick, however, is getting the circumference of the circle exactly what you want so that your mountain (in this case) texture will tile seamlessly around the circle. A bit of manual tweaking may be required for that.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Medricel » Fri Mar 03, 2006 9:21 pm

I find it's more interesting to vary the shape of your mountain ring so that it's not quite so "perfect"

Though you still have to tweak like mad to get it to tile seamlessly.
User avatar
Medricel
26 is the new 18 is the new 11!
 
Joined: 20 Nov 2004

Postby DoomRater » Fri Mar 03, 2006 9:53 pm

Autoalign doesn't work on that? >_>
User avatar
DoomRater
Hi, I'm bob.
 
Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Location: WATR HQ
Discord: DoomRater#6308

Postby Medricel » Fri Mar 03, 2006 10:12 pm

It's not that autoalign doesn't work, it's that the sum of the line lengths often isn't evenly divisible by the width of the texture you're sticking on them, so it won't line up perfectly at some particular point.
User avatar
Medricel
26 is the new 18 is the new 11!
 
Joined: 20 Nov 2004

PreviousNext

Return to Levels

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests