THE POWER LEVELS FOR DOOM 2! (from doomworld)

New maps, and other projects whose primary focus is new maps, belong here.

NOTE: This forum, and all forums below it, are NOT for questions or troubleshooting! Threads here are for active projects only! Please use the Editing subforums or General for questions.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: THE POWER LEVELS FOR DOOM 2! (from doomworld)

Postby Memes4LyfeLives » Fri Sep 10, 2021 2:05 pm

2.5 is the latest.
Memes4LyfeLives
 
Joined: 19 Nov 2019

Re: THE POWER LEVELS FOR DOOM 2! (from doomworld)

Postby Kappes Buur » Sat Sep 11, 2021 2:46 pm

Okay, it's been a while since I played v2.5, so I ran it again today.
I ran it with GZDoom without a problem cropping up, same as before a year ago.

Which sourceport did you use to get an error message?

In the OP you mention
Memes4LyfeLives wrote:.... it adds new monsters to vanilla with dehacked without replacing them. ....

How is that possible, when, using DeHacked, you can only replace existing actors, not add to them. To add new actors you would have to use DECORATE or ZSCRIPT.

I ran it with and without the deh file which I think is mainly useless. With parts of some levels shrouded in darkness it's difficult to see anything in the way of new actors and in the parts which are illuminated to some extend I also noticed no new actors.

However, throughout your progression of the map set, it is clear to see how you improved your mapping skill from one level to the next. Keep up the good work.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: THE POWER LEVELS FOR DOOM 2! (from doomworld)

Postby Enjay » Sat Sep 11, 2021 3:02 pm

Kappes Buur wrote:
Memes4LyfeLives wrote:.... it adds new monsters to vanilla with dehacked without replacing them. ....

How is that possible, when, using DeHacked, you can only replace existing actors, not add to them. To add new actors you would have to use DECORATE or ZSCRIPT.

I haven't had a chance to look at what this does, but there are one or two actors that have ednums that are never used in game. So you can use DEHACKED to make them into monsters. Possibly the mod replaces some useless/duplicate blood pools or something too?

"All" you have to do is find spare frames in the game (there are a few that can be used without altering how the game plays. If your new custom monster looks pretty much like another one, you probably only need to find new frames for the attack so that it will be different but, otherwise, the monster can share sprites with another one. If you make the sprites have green parts on them (or just use the player sprites), then you can use the original colour translation flags to make them look different too.

It's very old-school and limited compared to other methods these days, but certainly possible.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: THE POWER LEVELS FOR DOOM 2! (from doomworld)

Postby Memes4LyfeLives » Sun Sep 12, 2021 2:54 pm

I've updated the POWER.wad on Google Drive, after removing all the Doom2 textures I accidentally added to it.

As for MAP26, it's still not finished, but I'll link the URL to it so others can take a look at it.
If anyone can tell me why it's not starting in Chocolate Doom, please tell me how to fix it.

Map 26
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ubsY7o ... sp=sharing

Power.wad
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1E2FkmN ... sp=sharing
Memes4LyfeLives
 
Joined: 19 Nov 2019

Previous

Return to Levels

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SPZ1 and 4 guests