Page 1 of 1

PORT OF ADIA from Turok 2 [Section 1-1]

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 11:07 am
by ASO3000
Some of you might remember Turok 2, one of the best shooters of its generation. It got a remaster in 2017 and I had a blast with it. *siiip* Yup, they don't make them like they used to....
Anyways, I got this crazy idea of remaking some of it in Doom. Of course 3D level design is rather challenging to achieve here, so it's not 100% faithful. Also, I didn't make any enemies, so for now there's only the standard Doom enemies roaming around. I added the Talon and Bow from Turok 2 as well as the objectives. A special addition is the notorious cerebral B.O.R.E (not in the original level, so you have to spawn it yourself).

DOWNLOAD HERE!

Here are some pictures:
Spoiler:



Credits:
Turok 2 Assets, original map, sounds and music: Acclaim Entertainment
Cerebralbore.wad by Gezzdt
Fire.wad from Realm667
PowerRingPads.wad from Realm667
Everything else: ASO3000, with help by /vr/'s Doom Thread

Re: PORT OF ADIA from Turok 2 [Section 1-1]

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 6:38 am
by Rex705
OMG Yes! I have always wanted someone to make a Turok TC. I can't wait to check this out.

Re: PORT OF ADIA from Turok 2 [Section 1-1]

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 11:13 am
by ASO3000
Thanks, please tell me how you liked it. Please note that I don't plan on doing a TC. But there seems to be one

https://www.turokforums.com/index.php?topic=579.0

I can't get it to run, though because of Decorate stuff.

Re: PORT OF ADIA from Turok 2 [Section 1-1]

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 1:00 pm
by Rex705
Well maybe one day someone can expand on this and make an awesome Turok 2 TC. How do I play the PORT OF ADIA level? I just get normal doom with the weapons.

Re: PORT OF ADIA from Turok 2 [Section 1-1]

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 1:13 pm
by ASO3000
Rex705 wrote:How do I play the PORT OF ADIA level? I just get normal doom with the weapons.

The map is called "Adia". Just call it through console like you would any other map. I might update in the future so the level starts automatically.

Re: PORT OF ADIA from Turok 2 [Section 1-1]

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 1:36 pm
by Enjay
ASO3000 wrote:The map is called "Adia". Just call it through console like you would any other map. I might update in the future so the level starts automatically.

Thing is, I woouldn't do that with any other map because nearly all maps are just called MAP01 and therefore start automatically, or they've been given a MAPINFO to make them start from the menu. Expecting people to figure this out isn't the best approach.

Anyway, I'll grab the map later when I get a moment. It looks interesting. I've actually been (slowly) working my way through Turok 2 recently since I got it off GOG a little while back.

Re: PORT OF ADIA from Turok 2 [Section 1-1]

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2019 1:42 pm
by ASO3000
Enjay wrote:Thing is, I woouldn't do that with any other map because nearly all maps are just called MAP01 and therefore start automatically, or they've been given a MAPINFO to make them start from the menu. Expecting people to figure this out isn't the best approach.


Can you please explain? English is not my first language and I am a bit confused. Do you mean I should NOT call it MAP01 or that I should?

But cheers for playing Turok 2. I think the Remaster is absolutely terrific. I really don't miss the N64 in the slightest. By the way, depending on how far you already are, do the Swamp before the Lost River. Swamp is piss easy and gives you a bit of a heads-up for the River.

Re: PORT OF ADIA from Turok 2 [Section 1-1]

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2019 1:46 pm
by Enjay
Sorry for the confusion. I mean that you should.

If you call it MAP01 (which is what nearly every single map released is called inside the WAD) then it will run straight from the menu when you start a game. No need to use the console.

Re: PORT OF ADIA from Turok 2 [Section 1-1]

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2019 1:59 pm
by ASO3000
Thanks, I changed it.

Re: PORT OF ADIA from Turok 2 [Section 1-1]

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:05 am
by armymen12002003
this was a really good recreation of this map nice job.

Re: PORT OF ADIA from Turok 2 [Section 1-1]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:23 pm
by Pedro vc
It would be cool if you managed to replicate Turok's 2 kick ass gore effects

Re: PORT OF ADIA from Turok 2 [Section 1-1]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2019 11:58 am
by Rex705
This was a fun bit of nostalgia and makes me want to play Turok 2 again. I made a nice little gameplay video for the map.



It would be fun to see someone make a Turok 2 TC one day.

Re: PORT OF ADIA from Turok 2 [Section 1-1]

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 7:58 am
by ASO3000
@pedro vc
I made a raptor enemy and considered doing the gore death from the Turok raptors, but I am not talented enough to pull it off properly.

@Rex705
Nice playthrough, seems a bit bright, though? Did you use no other mods than Turok Doom? Because the gore seems more.

Re: PORT OF ADIA from Turok 2 [Section 1-1]

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 8:03 am
by Rex705
ASO3000 wrote:@Rex705
Nice playthrough, seems a bit bright, though? Did you use no other mods than Turok Doom? Because the gore seems more.

I probably have Nash Gore Vengence on and I use ReShade for advanced lighting.