DUMP Episode 2: Dump Harder [RELEASED]

New maps, and other projects whose primary focus is new maps, belong here.

NOTE: This forum, and all forums below it, are NOT Q&A or troubleshooting forums! They are for active projects only! Please use the Editing or General or its subforums for such questions.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: DUMP Episode 2: Dump Harder [RELEASED]

Postby invictius » Sat Aug 06, 2016 12:50 pm

Crashes when I try to enter the first teleporter to the left.
invictius
 
Joined: 03 Aug 2012

Re: DUMP Episode 2: Dump Harder [RELEASED]

Postby TerminusEst13 » Sat Aug 06, 2016 4:46 pm

Beed28 wrote:Now that this topic is bumped, I would like to report a fairly major bug with the hub; at the far back end on the right hand side (affecting all levels beyond LaggyBlazko's level), finishing the levels closes the wrong portal in that area, which means if you finish Yholl's level for example, you can go back in and get trapped, whereas you cannot play the level which got closed off.


This is definitely a pretty big bug. Thanks for letting me know.

Hmmmm, how to fix it...
User avatar
TerminusEst13
I'm just a guy.
 
Joined: 09 Nov 2009

Re: DUMP Episode 2: Dump Harder [RELEASED]

Postby Devianteist » Wed Nov 16, 2016 8:28 pm

Hey, sorry for the bump, but I'm thoroughly confused.

Term, or anyone who can answer my question; I am trying to extract my map (MAP10) from the .pk3, but when I try to open it in GZDoom Builder, it refuses to open it. I assume something about how the map is stored may be the cause of the issue, however I am at a loss as to what that issue might be.

If at all possible, would I be able to get a copy of MAP10, as I would like to edit and expand on it.

EDIT: I've lost the old .wad file, hence why I ask.
User avatar
Devianteist
Daddy Dev, resident lurking user.
 
Joined: 24 Sep 2014
Location: Creating a SPACE HULK total conversion!
Discord: #0561

Re: DUMP Episode 2: Dump Harder [RELEASED]

Postby Arctangent » Wed Nov 16, 2016 9:06 pm

Iirc all Doom Builders can't really handle .pk3s except as resources, so you'll need to extract the .wad contained in the .pk3 manually before opening it in GZDoom Builder.
User avatar
Arctangent
squawky
 
Joined: 06 Nov 2014
Discord: SquawkyAtan#2371

Re: DUMP Episode 2: Dump Harder [RELEASED]

Postby Devianteist » Wed Nov 16, 2016 9:08 pm

Arctangent wrote:Iirc all Doom Builders can't really handle .pk3s except as resources, so you'll need to extract the .wad contained in the .pk3 manually before opening it in GZDoom Builder.


See, that's what I've tried to do, and that's when I get the error. I noticed that there seems to be a very significant lack of anything in the wad aside from some barebones basic stuff. How it runs in DUMP2 baffles me, cause now I just think the wad itself is broken, and I have no idea what I did to it to break it.
User avatar
Devianteist
Daddy Dev, resident lurking user.
 
Joined: 24 Sep 2014
Location: Creating a SPACE HULK total conversion!
Discord: #0561

Re: DUMP Episode 2: Dump Harder [RELEASED]

Postby leodoom85 » Wed Nov 16, 2016 9:16 pm

In Slade, I open your map after that I extracted from Dump 2 and it shows the map but doesn't show the ZNODES lump, so maybe that's why it's broken.
User avatar
leodoom85
Dodge this.....
ZAwards Committee
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Location: Earth-shaking Chile
Discord: leodoom85#6202

Re: DUMP Episode 2: Dump Harder [RELEASED]

Postby Devianteist » Wed Nov 16, 2016 9:20 pm

I have a feeling I messed up when saving it the last time I was working on it before sending it to Term. Whatever I did, I hope I can find my old harddrive and get the map back so I can fix it, cause that's super messed up.
User avatar
Devianteist
Daddy Dev, resident lurking user.
 
Joined: 24 Sep 2014
Location: Creating a SPACE HULK total conversion!
Discord: #0561

Re: DUMP Episode 2: Dump Harder [RELEASED]

Postby Csonicgo » Wed Nov 16, 2016 10:40 pm

Soooo uhhh one question, before I download the latest version, are the massive slowdown problems in the hub map fixed yet? I wanted to review the thing but couldn't get past the first level.
User avatar
Csonicgo
OPL Goddess
 
Joined: 15 Apr 2004
Location: Leeds

Re: DUMP Episode 2: Dump Harder [RELEASED]

Postby Shadow Hog » Thu Nov 17, 2016 2:12 am

I mean, knowing how DUMP is laid out, you're not really missing anything if you just pistol start each level from the console.
Shadow Hog
 
Joined: 14 Aug 2015

Re: DUMP Episode 2: Dump Harder [RELEASED]

Postby orbittwz » Thu Nov 17, 2016 2:31 am

you can just write in console "GIVE PISTOL" if you don't start with one no?
orbittwz
 
Joined: 25 Oct 2016

Re: DUMP Episode 2: Dump Harder [RELEASED]

Postby Sir Reviloy Duke » Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:48 pm

Devianteist wrote:Hey, sorry for the bump, but I'm thoroughly confused.

Term, or anyone who can answer my question; I am trying to extract my map (MAP10) from the .pk3, but when I try to open it in GZDoom Builder, it refuses to open it. I assume something about how the map is stored may be the cause of the issue, however I am at a loss as to what that issue might be.

If at all possible, would I be able to get a copy of MAP10, as I would like to edit and expand on it.

EDIT: I've lost the old .wad file, hence why I ask.

Funny Story. When working on my Dump 3 map (Real is Shit), I had that same problem with GZdoom builder not deciding to load my map.
User avatar
Sir Reviloy Duke
The personification of dead jokes
Banned User
 
Joined: 05 Mar 2016
Location: Where's my jokebook?

Re: DUMP Episode 2: Dump Harder [RELEASED]

Postby Neophyte_Ronin » Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:42 pm

Another game-breaking bug, which I'm pretty sure has already been documented, occurs in one of those sprawling stages with over 200 creatures--the really ornate ones that send you through atypical teleporters that chuck you a small distance while tons of bad guys get the jump on you. Yeah, that one. Eventually, it tossed me into a pit with floating platforms far above me (this after fighting off a wave of imps, barons, and a cyberdemon when I press two adjacent green buttons). It keeps doing this, no matter what I try, and I keep hitting the teleport borders--boxed in, it seems.

Eventually, I got bored and tried to weasel through with a cheat, but it insisted on keeping me stuck. It also auto-saved right before hitting those switches. I don't know what the deal is, but it aggravated me to no end--I had to forfeit my entire progress in Dump Harder; otherwise, it was like living in a nightmare. Trying to play another level simply reset my counter. If it helps, I was playing Project Brutality 2.03 (please don't tell me I shouldn't be playing a ZDoom-compatible WAD compilation with a ZDoom-compatible gameplay mod that's suddenly unpopular due to over-exposure or so help me God...) during this event.
Neophyte_Ronin
 
Joined: 05 Oct 2017

Re: DUMP Episode 2: Dump Harder [RELEASED]

Postby Zhs2 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:46 am

Eevee's map? What version of GZDoom are you using? Touching the blood floor is supposed to place you atop the beginning 3D floor so that you can try again at jumping from platform to platform. Last worked for me in GZDoom 3.1.0, haven't tested in GZDoom 3.2.0. Either way, that room is the exit room for the map (the portal at the end exits) and you won't miss out on anything by using changemap hubmap in the console.
User avatar
Zhs2
Power of three.
 
Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Location: Maryland, USA, but probably also in someone's mod somewhere

Re: DUMP Episode 2: Dump Harder [RELEASED]

Postby Arctangent » Fri Oct 06, 2017 12:04 pm

Neophyte_Ronin wrote:please don't tell me I shouldn't be playing a ZDoom-compatible WAD compilation with a ZDoom-compatible gameplay mod

I mean, completely disregarding your paranoid delusions of being considering inferior due to what you play, the fact of the matter is that yes, it's entirely possible for a ZDoom-compat levelset to be incompatible with a ZDoom-compat mod, even if the former intends for maximum compatibility. Stuff like script conflicts, actor name conflicts, non-standard actor replacements, and some good ol' stuff getting into places it shouldn't can end up with one part of the equation broken.

Now, is that what's happening here? No idea, but don't act like it isn't possible that there's simply an actual issue with that combination.
User avatar
Arctangent
squawky
 
Joined: 06 Nov 2014
Discord: SquawkyAtan#2371

Previous

Return to Levels

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest