[Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

New maps, and other projects whose primary focus is new maps, belong here.

NOTE: This forum, and all forums below it, are NOT for questions or troubleshooting! Threads here are for active projects only! Please use the Editing subforums or General for questions.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Postby ellmo » Tue Oct 26, 2004 9:52 am

Tormentor667 wrote:@ellmo - but please avoid the usage of these recolored "TEKGREN" textures, they really don't fit into Doom1 :(

I don't quite agree with that. Looking good here, and looking Doomish. I'll surely add more variations for these walls, as well as these around the switch, that opens this hall way. It's not done yet.

Trust me, Torm. I know what I'm doing.

@NMN - Uh, and as for this intermission map, remember, that some maps are played at night-time, for example ZE1M3. We could use different day times presented in those maps.
And some... more vivid effect, to show which locations have been completed already. Demolishing them wouldn't be such a good idea, but maybe recolouring the whloe building into red/green, or something...
Oh, and of course I agree with Torm, taht something should be done, to make it look more like a CPU screen. Interpolation, and some tech frames.
User avatar
ellmo
Demons to some, Angels to others...
 
Joined: 04 Mar 2004
Location: Poland - Poznan

Postby Cutmanmike » Tue Oct 26, 2004 9:58 am

At least we don't taste like soot and poo
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Is it hot in here or is it just ZScript
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Postby ellmo » Tue Oct 26, 2004 10:52 am

cutmanmike wrote:At least we don't taste like soot and poo


Hehe... nope; Mary Stewart-Baxter.. you taste like sunshine dust.
Cutman, was it you, who pasted the link to Salad Fingers Episode? Man, I really loved that flash toon. Dark, and gloomy... but very climatic.
User avatar
ellmo
Demons to some, Angels to others...
 
Joined: 04 Mar 2004
Location: Poland - Poznan

Postby NecromANGEL » Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:13 am

Using intermission map is cool ^^ May be player should be able to walk it himself, every time getting acces to next map and being able to reenter any previously passed map to find the rest secrets e.t.c. - but when he enters mapp for a second time - "start door" would be working leting player leave to intermission any time?

Brr, sorry for my really broken English, I do not get times and complex constructions at all >_<
User avatar
NecromANGEL
What`re you going to do if the world really ends tomorrow?..
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2003
Location: Severodvinsk, Russia

Postby Cutmanmike » Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:14 am

Yes it was I, CUTMAN! Make sure you check out the other salad finger episodes too...

EDIT: Oh and can't forget milkman http://www.fat-pie.com/milkman.htm
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Is it hot in here or is it just ZScript
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Postby Nmn » Tue Oct 26, 2004 12:01 pm

Necrom- E1 a Hub? Me likes the idea. But the progression would be rather tedaious.
I say-once You clear a level make it stored in the Intermission level display-so exitting the level You are back at the intermap and You can choose to any level You want to go, that is, if You cleared that level first.
Think-
If ID had the power of Zdoom back then wouldn't they make a HUB and make E1 more Doom-Bible oriented? :?: :?

Rest about Inter-You people Are killing me here! :) I can't largen it now, I would have to restart from scratch, but I can make a copy of the map as it is and make it look at a night for e1m3 and e1m8.

EDIT: ellmo-WTF happened to Your precious avatar.
User avatar
Nmn
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2004

Postby Tormentor667 » Tue Oct 26, 2004 12:37 pm

@cutty - No idea, "when it's done" (tm)

@Risen - Great, sounds all very well :)

@ellmo - Fine, I will wait for another preview when it is more finished then now and reconsider your wish ;) Oh... and at "Risen":
Oh, and of course I agree with Torm, taht something should be done, to make it look more like a CPU screen. Interpolation, and some tech frames.

I second that ;)

@NecromAngel - No! ;) No HUB system, because this would lead to a much more complex Episode 1 and I don't think that we developers have enough time for such a "masterpiece", btw, it's unnecassary, our work r0x0rs without that work all b0x0rs :)

@NMn - So, no largening, but we need a night-preview :)
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Woolie Wool » Tue Oct 26, 2004 12:39 pm

Jusr use "nointermission" in the MAPINFO lump if you want to use the new intermission screen.

P.S. Can we do "The Shores of ZDoom" next, followed by "ZInferno" and perhaps "Thy ZDoom Consumed"? Then we release the whole thing as The Ultimate ZDoom. At the very least, please do Ep2. I'd be glad to give you a hand.
User avatar
Woolie Wool
Call Apogee Say "Snappity!"
 
Joined: 15 Dec 2003
Discord: Woolie Wool#9878
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Postby ellmo » Tue Oct 26, 2004 12:56 pm

Well calm down. We're still struggling with this one.

And, while I'm here. I request the removement of two new weapons, that IMO, and not only my, they are completely out of place, and have many flaws.

1.The Grande launcher acts unpredictably, and that can drive some players crazy.
2. grenades don't do Missile damage (methinks)... like Stone Imps cannot be killed with it.
3. Grenades act silly under water
5. Grenade Launcher is the only weapon held on Player's right.
5. Rifle is completely out of place
6. Rifle is unrealistically unaccurate

And some other issues I can't recall now.
User avatar
ellmo
Demons to some, Angels to others...
 
Joined: 04 Mar 2004
Location: Poland - Poznan

Postby Cutmanmike » Tue Oct 26, 2004 1:05 pm

new weapons too? I can't wait :P
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Is it hot in here or is it just ZScript
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Postby NiGHTMARE » Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:01 pm

The rifle is out of place? It was originally going to be in Doom! :)
NiGHTMARE
.now.
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003

Postby Risen » Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:03 pm

Tormentor667 wrote:Oh... and at "Risen":
Oh, and of course I agree with Torm, taht something should be done, to make it look more like a CPU screen. Interpolation, and some tech frames.

I second that ;)

Don't worry, I remember this from before and I have some good ideas for how to do it. I won't let you down.

Tormentor667 wrote:@NecromAngel - No! ;) No HUB system, because this would lead to a much more complex Episode 1 and I don't think that we developers have enough time for such a "masterpiece", btw, it's unnecassary, our work r0x0rs without that work all b0x0rs :)

I do think that a week with the intermission map would be enough to create a good level select system, but the episode will play better without a hub. I say we do not use it.

Tormentor667 wrote:@NMn - So, no largening, but we need a night-preview :)

We might need 2 nighttime shots. It looks like Bio has darkness on M9 but no stars. This should be pretty easy to do once the daytime and nighttime maps are both done. (Please keep it all in one WAD!)

Woolie Wool wrote:Jusr use "nointermission" in the MAPINFO lump if you want to use the new intermission screen.

Yes, of course. Already planning to do that.

Thr rifle at least needs its offset changed. It is much too high on the screen, and looks wrong. I wouldn't miss the launcher, it's much too unpredictable to use effectively.
User avatar
Risen
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Location: N44°30' W073°05'

Postby Tormentor667 » Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:11 pm

@ellmo -
1. I just agree partially with that, but in my eyes, it's okay!
2. Anyone else noticed this?
3. I also noticed that (they don't sink and move along one line as a marqueetext)
5(1). Exactly, but I don't think that it is that bad at all. But if you have Grenadelauncher sprites, feel free to place them here ;)
5(2). Why?
6. Why? It works fine and is very useful!
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Nmn » Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:20 pm

Torm wrote:If You have grenade launcher sprites

Probably thinking about me ;)

To be honest, I don't give a damn about the new weapons, I use the Chaingun and Shotgun all the time anyway :)
User avatar
Nmn
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2004

Postby TheDarkArchon » Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:56 pm

1. I made the grenade launcher fire launch grenades at high speed because it was how I wanted it to be: I found it was the best way to get the range I wanted for it.


2. It was a bug with 2.0.63a. FLOORBOUNCE projectils only do missil damage when their velocity is low, meaning all damage is done by splash. This is directly related to the Stone Imp as it immune to splash.

5(2). Out of place? It was a rip from Doom Alpha 0.4!!!

6. The rifle uses an exteremly fast projectile instead of a bullet and you can't control projectilee accuracy using DeHackEd.

And CMM, don't get too exicted about the weapons. They are only Plasma Rifle and BFG replacements.
User avatar
TheDarkArchon
OUT!
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Location: Some cold place

PreviousNext

Return to Levels

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest