ZDoom resolution

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

At which resolution do you play Zdoom?

below 640x480
2
5%
640x480
10
26%
800x600
6
16%
1024x768 (me)
11
29%
1280x1024
9
24%
1600x1280
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 38

User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47995
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

HotWax wrote:Argh! It's like nobody's listening!

You know how when you go to the Display applet in your Windows control panel and click on the Advanced tab and you have a nice list of resolutions and color depths to choose from? Notice how all of the listed ones actually work? That's because Windows, being your operating system, can tell by looking at your installed hardware and driver what operating systems your hardware supports. ZDoom, being a Windows program, is able to ask Windows for that same information, and so it can do something like this on startup: ...

Wrong! Just connect a monitor that isn't Plug&Play compatible or gives incorrect information and you are screwed! (That's the problem with mine) You absolutely cannot rely on that list because there is so much shitty hardware out there that doesn't work correctly. Therefore always using the lowest available resolution won't work on some computers.
Default should only be one of the standard resolutions (640x480, 800x600, 1024x768) and nothing else.
User avatar
Chris
Posts: 2841
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:07 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Post by Chris »

I don't mind the skewed resolutions in ZDoom, mainly becasue Randy's taken care of the aspect ratio differences (with the except of text, however). Playing in 1280x800 shouldn't be any different than playing in 1280x1024, with the exception that you have better vertical resolution, so things still stay in their respective places(barring the aforementioned text problem).

The only reason I run in 640x400 is because my system's not the fastest, and that's a nice trade-off for speed vs. image quality.
User avatar
MartinHowe
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 1:50 pm
Location: Waveney, United Kingdom

Post by MartinHowe »

HotWax wrote: I don't mind "hugh resolutions" ;), it's just that 1280x1024 is 5:4 ratio whereas every other resolution in the mentioned games are 4:3 ratio.
Yeah, tell me about it -- I didn't realise this until AFTER buying the thing. I didn't know anybody made laptops - or indeed any TFT panels - with this aspect ratio. But then Clevo are the dogs bollocks in laptop design - hell they were the first people to offer a 3.06 HT CPU on a laptop! These guys are nuts (not that I'm complaining). Anyway as long as it kills demons, who cares :wink:
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
Posts: 7728
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm

Post by randi »

SargeBaldy wrote:randy should add a 1280x800 mode :)
Get PowerStrip and add it yourself. :) (And any other odd modes you want like 704x528.)
User avatar
The Ultimate DooMer
Posts: 2109
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: Industrial Zone

Post by The Ultimate DooMer »

Or make it like the Unreal mission pack, where you run in windowed mode (no fullscreen) and change the size of the window to change the resolution (I use something like 796x594).
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2030
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Github ID: jengelh
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

Vote for 80x25! It works everywhere. ;-)

Hm, if games on Linux would use the display size instead of the resolution and locked the mouse to the display size, you could have a 2048x1024 X-widescreen :D or even more.
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

Sweet, a new ratio, 2:1...
User avatar
bimshwel
Posts: 636
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:15 pm
Discord: bimshwel #7516
Location: misplaced

Post by bimshwel »

My favorite ratio is, and I expect always shall be, Horatio.

Return to “General”