I am dumb!

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
Post Reply
User avatar
DrewbieDoobie007
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 8:12 pm
Location: Shelton, Nebraska, USA

I am dumb!

Post by DrewbieDoobie007 »

I cant get a supershotgun to shoot, say, 5 times with one shot. I tried to move codepointer to unused frames but it is not working, I need a working example that I can go off of because everything I have tried doesn't work!

edit--
GOT IT, nevermind sorry, but I do need to make it check for ammo to see if there is enough for a shot, that way it doesnt go into negatives. Also, is there a way to make it still only use 2 shells even though it is actually firing 5 times (10 shells)
User avatar
Nanami
Posts: 1066
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:13 pm
Location: That little island pritch created.
Contact:

Post by Nanami »

For BEX patches, you have this option:

Code: Select all

Weapon 8 (SSG)
Ammo use = 1
Min ammo = 2
Min ammo use is the minimum amount of ammo it will allow you to have. That is, if you have less than 2 (like 1) it won't let you use the gun. For the BFG (for example) it's set at 40. Any less than that and you'd end up with negative ammo.

The ammo use, however, is only per pointer. So, in this example, the SSG only uses one shell per shot. But there are two codepointers that have firing frames, so it uses 2 in the end. I'm afraid there's no way to use, say, 2 codepointers for shots and only use 1 ammo.
User avatar
Jon
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 2:45 pm
Contact:

Post by Jon »

Why not make new code pointers that shoot without wasting ammo? *nudges randy*
Cyb
Posts: 912
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:12 pm

Post by Cyb »

set the ammo type to 0 (I believe anyway, that may be the wrong number but it's the same ammo that the fist and chainsaw use)
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

Cyb wrote:set the ammo type to 0 (I believe anyway, that may be the wrong number but it's the same ammo that the fist and chainsaw use)
Then it won't take ANY ammo. :)
User avatar
Nanami
Posts: 1066
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:13 pm
Location: That little island pritch created.
Contact:

Post by Nanami »

Cyb wrote:set the ammo type to 0 (I believe anyway, that may be the wrong number but it's the same ammo that the fist and chainsaw use)
Some stuff I played with and recorded wrote:Weapon Numbers:
00 - Fist
01 - Pistol
02 - Shotgun
03 - Chaingun
04 - Rocket Launcher
05 - Plasma Rifle
06 - BFG 9000
07 - Chainsaw
08 - Super Shotgun
09 - Grenade Launcher
10 - Railgun
11 - BFG 10,000
12 - Minigun

Ammo Types:
00 - Bullets (200)
01 - Shells (50)
02 - Cells (300)
03 - Rockets (50)
04 - Gold Wand Ammo (50)
05 - Melee (N/A) (Also Crossbow Ammo, but no additional checks are made)
06 - Dragon Fist Ammo (200)
07 - Hellstaff Ammo (200)
08 - Phoenix Rod Ammo (20)
09 - Mace Ammo (150)
10 - Blue Mana (200)
11 - Green Mana (200)
12 - Both Mana (200+200)
Post Reply

Return to “General”