Plsgb0, whats it all about?

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Plsgb0, whats it all about?

Postby osjclatchford » Sat May 07, 2022 2:07 pm

So, don't get me wrong, I've been playing doom since It came out and modding for several years but, something's come to my forebrain attention today thats obviously been burning under the skin for a while now and only just surfaced:

just what the hell is plsgb0 all about?

I mean what is it supposed to represent?

Its like they attempted some kind of reload or pump anim like the sg and then abandonned it, then returned to it just to use the frame to show off the side of the weapon in the angled sprite.

is it a recoil? a 'cooldown' frame as many have called it? or just an excuse on id's part to use a cool frame for the sake of it.

I mean, it doesn't affect gameplay or anything, as although its 20 tics long its pretty unobtrusive...
I only even really started paying attention to it today as I've been recreating it out of pure nostalgia on a new plasmagun for a mod of mine.
but it still left me thinking, why is it even a thing?

so, do I really care?
well, no. not really. :P

But I'm honest enough to admit that I'm curious enough to hear thoughts and musings on the topic because thats the sort of thing thats my jam... because talking about DooM is always my Jam and, in truth, my wife's sick of hearing me ramble on all evening about fictional plasmarifles from a 30 year old game she has no interest in ;D

So what say you?

recoil?
cooldown?
curious doomguy needing to check the settings on the side out of pure OCD?
Doomguy has saint Vitus dance?
some other cool shit too sci-fi or dark-magic enough to mention at this time?

I welcome all honest and utterly stupid responses with open arms!
Last edited by osjclatchford on Sat May 07, 2022 2:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
osjclatchford

Re: Plsgb0, whats it all about?

Postby nova++ » Sat May 07, 2022 2:12 pm

plasma be hot yo