Lower or change audio quality?

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Lower or change audio quality?

Postby Acoma » Fri Dec 03, 2021 12:53 pm

Hey guys is there a way to run gzdoom with mono audio or lower the overall sfx quality to something below 11khz?
Acoma
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2020

Re: Lower or change audio quality?

Postby axredneck » Fri Dec 03, 2021 1:36 pm

Look at "Options -> Sound -> Advanced", you can set sample rate, resampler, EFX and HRTF there. Unsure about mono though...
User avatar
axredneck
excuse me for my bad English
 
Joined: 11 Dec 2017
Location: Russia
Github ID: axredneck
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Lower or change audio quality?

Postby Acoma » Fri Dec 03, 2021 2:10 pm

yeah i know those options exist but the problem is that the only thing that changes audio quality is the openal resampler options and it only slightly downsamples audio depending on choice
the sample rate changer in advanced options does nothing
the sample rate options in the module replayer options does nothing
and all of the old snd_ cvars have been deprecated since long ago
i only started using gzdoom since the 3.0 iterations and the audio options have never been fixed. my guess of the reason is because the goal of gzdoom was to modernize the games and that meant implementing FMOD and leaving the old audio driver methods behind

was just wondering if anyone knew of a workaround to achieve legacy style audio since all of the options seem to not do anything
Acoma
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2020

Re: Lower or change audio quality?

Postby nova++ » Fri Dec 03, 2021 3:09 pm

Have you hit the "restart sound" menu option after changing them? One of the first changes I make after a new install of gzdoom is to switch the resampler to nearest for nice crunchy audio. I recall it being in the OpenAL options specifically, I don't remember if you can switch to/away that.
User avatar
nova++
Real life space alien (not fake)
 
Joined: 04 Sep 2021
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit

Re: Lower or change audio quality?

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Dec 04, 2021 5:24 am

Acoma wrote:was just wondering if anyone knew of a workaround to achieve legacy style audio since all of the options seem to not do anything



You can't. Legacy audio means having an 8-sound stereo mixer, not a full 3D sound backend that can mix hundreds of sounds. The entire sound system was written to be able to handle a large number of sounds and would horribly break down if it was constrained to vanilla limits - it is geared towards true 3D positioning on modern, capable hardware.

While theoretically the mixer *could* be set to 11kHz output, keep in mind that the output format also must be able to handle the music, and that just needs 44kHz to not sound like garbage.
As a result some low end options have to remain disabled
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Lower or change audio quality?

Postby KynikossDragonn » Sat Dec 04, 2021 10:47 am

If you want the sounds to "sound" 11kHz, you could use OpenALSoft's bsinc24 resampler.

Otherwise, you're probably better off with Chocolate Doom, or some such...
User avatar
KynikossDragonn
『霧雨魔理沙のペットドラゴン』
 
Joined: 12 Dec 2020
Location: Independence, KS, USA
Twitch ID: kynikossdragonn
Github ID: KynikossDragonn
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Lower or change audio quality?

Postby Acoma » Sat Dec 04, 2021 11:16 am

Graf Zahl wrote:You can't. some low end options have to remain disabled

okay. thanks for confirming this atleast, i guess ill just live with the resampler, in the meantime i also realized that windwos 10 has a built-in mono audio option in the ease of access options
Acoma
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2020

Re: Lower or change audio quality?

Postby Kappes Buur » Sat Dec 04, 2021 1:42 pm

The other option is to record the sound and 'fix' it with something like Audacity
and place it into the pwad with Slade3. Shouldn't be too difficult.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests