Voxel Weapons for Strife?

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Voxel Weapons for Strife?

Postby Tausendberg » Wed Jul 21, 2021 4:12 pm

I'm a 3d Animator who has recently gotten into VR and it was a great trip playing DOOM and DOOM 2 in VR using the excellent voxel weapons that are included with GZDOOMVR.

This gets me thinking, I'd like to do a VR playthrough of my personal favorite DOOM engine game, Strife, and because I like the aesthetic of Voxel weapons in the context of DOOM engine games in VR (I really feel it 'matches'), I'm thinking I should just go ahead and make a Voxel weapon pack for Strife.

My issue is, I don't quite know where to begin, literally, I'll be in Autodesk Maya with no clear idea of how I get the data I cook up there into a .PK3

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

I'm grateful to have experienced voxel weapons in Heretic and Doom and want to contribute, it does amazing things for immersion, I really want to hold a sigil and an electric crossbow in my hands.
Tausendberg

Re: Voxel Weapons for Strife?

Postby Cherno » Wed Jul 21, 2021 9:50 pm

Voxel models are commonly made with the free Magicavoxel. From there, it can be exported to obj, and then either used directly, imported into your 3d modeling app for futher editing, or converted to MD3 with Noesis.
Cherno

Postby Tausendberg » Thu Jul 22, 2021 4:10 am

Oh, I didn't mean how to make Voxel models, I have done that before and can just do it in Maya, no big deal, (though I'll check out Magicavoxel if it's free and optimized specifically for voxels).

What I specifically need to know is how to bring that into the game engine.

I looked into it further and I can now see that .pk3 files are actually just zip files and all I have to do is change the extension to access the constituent parts inside.