build levels

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

build levels

Postby cccp_leha » Sat Oct 04, 2003 5:41 pm

(How) can you run them with 47i?
User avatar
cccp_leha
Words are silver; silence is gold... so stfu.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: NJ, USA

Postby Cyb » Sat Oct 04, 2003 7:20 pm

extract the map with xwe or something else that can open grp files and then simply run it with the -file option. with 47i it won't be textured, but in the future you'll be able to use -art artfile.art and it'll be textured properly

of course what this really does is convert the build map to hexen format (in memory) and then run that map, so any build specific stuff won't show, though you can do dumpmap mapname.wad in console (I believe that's the correct command) and write it to disk (it won't write any things though) and then mess with that in a doom editor
Cyb
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Zell » Sat Oct 04, 2003 7:24 pm

does that mean those fake floors lke in Duke3D are now possible?
User avatar
Zell
:O ALIVE[again]
 
Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Location: IN A GODDAMN BOX[In Erie.]

Postby cccp_leha » Sat Oct 04, 2003 7:35 pm

So which map is it on? And do you save as .lmp, .wad, or .map?
User avatar
cccp_leha
Words are silver; silence is gold... so stfu.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: NJ, USA

Postby wildweasel » Sat Oct 04, 2003 8:33 pm

Save it as a .MAP file.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby HotWax » Sat Oct 04, 2003 8:35 pm

Zell wrote:does that mean those fake floors lke in Duke3D are now possible?


No. That would be one of the "build specific" features that Cyb is talking about.
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby cccp_leha » Sat Oct 04, 2003 11:05 pm

wildweasel wrote:Save it as a .MAP file.

and then? :)
User avatar
cccp_leha
Words are silver; silence is gold... so stfu.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: NJ, USA

Postby randi » Sat Oct 04, 2003 11:48 pm

Actually, I think it was broken in 47i. If it's working, you just add the .map file to the command line as if it were a .wad, and then you use the map console command to switch to it.

i.e. For E1L1, start the game with:
Code: Select allExpand view
zdoom -file e1l1.map

Then open the console and type
Code: Select allExpand view
map e1l1


You can also use wildcards with -file, so the following will load all .map files in the current directory:
Code: Select allExpand view
zdoom -file *.map
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Postby cccp_leha » Sun Oct 05, 2003 12:11 am

DAMN that looks funky; although I expected nothing less. Thanks randy.
User avatar
cccp_leha
Words are silver; silence is gold... so stfu.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: NJ, USA

Postby Hirogen2 » Sun Oct 05, 2003 1:15 am

Do weirdo slopes -- that is, something very complicated to implement with Slope Things/Linedefs work?
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests