Use brutal doom in a map that has a custom weapon

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Use brutal doom in a map that has a custom weapon

Postby maf93 » Wed Mar 24, 2021 10:00 pm

I created a map that includes a custom weapon assigned to slot number 3. When I play my map by itself, with gzdoom v4.3.3, the custom weapon works perfect--it visible, I can pick it up, and I can press 3 to use the weapon. When I play my map with brutal doom, the custom weapon is visible in the map, I can pickup the weapon, but it is not selectable. If I press 3 I only get the vanilla shotguns and any brutal doom shotgun.

Is it possible to use a custom weapon along with brutal doom? if so how to configure it?

thanks
maf93
 
Joined: 19 Mar 2021

Re: Use brutal doom in a map that has a custom weapon

Postby Kinsie » Thu Mar 25, 2021 7:41 am

Try throwing "Weapon.SlotNumber 3" in your weapon's properties.
User avatar
Kinsie
Dog Days
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: Use brutal doom in a map that has a custom weapon

Postby maf93 » Thu Mar 25, 2021 9:22 am

I already have that in the decorate file for the custom weapon in my map. Thus pressing 3 works in the map when played by itself, just not while using brutal doom.

ACTOR ExplosiveSuperShotgun : Weapon 15000
{
Tag "Explosive Super Shotgun"
//$Category "Weapons"
Weapon.SlotNumber 3
maf93
 
Joined: 19 Mar 2021

Re: Use brutal doom in a map that has a custom weapon

Postby maf93 » Mon Mar 29, 2021 5:56 pm

If the player runs out of ammo while using the chain gun with brutal doom, the player's weapon changes from the chain gun to the custom explosive super shotgun and it can be fired. Thus the custom weapon does exist when picked up and it's custom ammo is picked up. The problem still remains that when running brutal doom you cannot select the custom weapon even with Weapon.SlotNumber set to 3 in its decorate file.
maf93
 
Joined: 19 Mar 2021

Re: Use brutal doom in a map that has a custom weapon

Postby wildweasel » Tue Mar 30, 2021 12:00 am

Is the addon map being loaded after brutal Doom?
User avatar
wildweasel
from a different perspective.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Use brutal doom in a map that has a custom weapon

Postby maf93 » Tue Mar 30, 2021 9:43 am

I select my map and brutal Doom then drag and drop them onto gzdoom.exe. Thus I'm not sure of the loading order.
maf93
 
Joined: 19 Mar 2021


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests