Doom 64?

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Doom 64?

Postby 0nyx » Mon Nov 16, 2020 9:52 am

New to the forums here, but I've been using GZdoom for a couple years now. Almost needless to say, I love it.

I was wondering whether there is a way to play Doom 64 through GZdoom? I have the Nightdive version that was released earlier this year, just interested because I think GZdoom would be a major improvement over base version, and whether that could open up some modding potential as well.

If it's not currently possible to play through GZdoom, I'd like to know whether there is any interest in making it so, because to me it seems like it'd be a good opportunity to screw around and maybe (just for once) have something to show for it. I don't know how much work such an undertaking would be, and Doom 64 doesn't seem to get much attention even if Eternal might have brought it to light again.

Solutions, advice, thoughts?
0nyx

Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Doom 64?

Postby wildweasel » Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:01 am

You can't play Doom 64 directly in GZDoom; there are, however, fan-made recreations like Doom 64 Retribution that aim for "as close as you can get" without having direct support for the original data.
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead

Postby 0nyx » Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:36 am

Okay, no surprise. I hadn't considered Retribution, Absolution TC, EX, etc. but I thought maybe there was something that could be done with the original data to supersede those. I suppose that would be more like creating an entirely new engine / source port just for 64. And to re-iterate my earlier concern, I don't know how many others would be interested in such a thing, but it could be good experience for me.
0nyx

Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Kinsie » Mon Nov 16, 2020 11:58 am