what specs does your main pc have?

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Re: what specs does your main pc have?

Postby SanyaWaffles » Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:32 pm

Oh, that makes more sense then.

I wasn't even aware that RAM could run at different clock speeds until recently. I knew they ran at clock speeds, but I didn't know they could run at different clock speeds. My RAM is a bit slower and probably could use being replaced. But I plan on eventually making a new build anyhow if I ever can afford it, so I'll make due for now.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Wouldn't be an epic gamer if I didn't commit a few war crimes.
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: what specs does your main pc have?

Postby Hellser » Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:37 pm

Typically you won't notice much difference with higher clock speeds unless you're using a Ryzen-based system.
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
Global Moderator
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: what specs does your main pc have?

Postby SanyaWaffles » Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:55 pm

My next build is probably gonna be a Ryzen based system.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Wouldn't be an epic gamer if I didn't commit a few war crimes.
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: what specs does your main pc have?

Postby Matt » Fri Sep 04, 2020 8:22 pm

@Hellser: Excellent, at least a few more years of hardware procrastination for me then! :V

@SanyaWaffles: "shit facebook game" implies the browser runs at a (barely?) tolerable speed... I'm still hoping to get some use out of this old EeePC but Firefox is just absolute shit on it now (and Chromium no better last I checked), what's running on this laptop?
User avatar
Matt
Putting the XD into *xdeath since 2007
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: what specs does your main pc have?

Postby SanyaWaffles » Fri Sep 04, 2020 9:26 pm

It's running Windows 10 64-bit but it was designed to run Windows 7 64-bit I think. I dunno what's running on it, but the boot time on it was hot garbage and I remember it taking a long time to boot. I remember it having a bunch of stuff in the system tray... I don't live with my mom anymore so I can't check (and whenever I ask her about computer stuff it's a pain... she tends to get very frustrated and that in turn gets me very frustrated, which she only seems to notice I get frustrated... it's a pain. It's why I don't troubleshoot her computers anymore. That and she's wreckless with installing garbage on her browsers). She uses Chrome if that helps, 64-bit.

It could also benefit from more memory, but it probably has a hard memory cap and not knowing what memory it takes. I think it's a Dell her boyfriend had before he passed on.

Thing is mom has a much newer and probably more capable laptop my grandfather had, but she doesn't want to touch it for sentimental reasons. Like... we were given it by my aunt to use. I feel she should migrate to it just for the better CPU alone (it's got a newer AMD, grandpa bought it a year before he died). She might not be able to game on it, but she could certainly run browsers and Office better and I'm certain Windows' overall performance would be better. Grandpa only complained that it didn't run DOS and Legacy Win16 programs and wasn't patient enough to use DOSBox. It used Windows 8.x but I could easily migrate it to 10. But mom is just letting it sit around, doing nothing.

My family is a bit... weird with computers.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Wouldn't be an epic gamer if I didn't commit a few war crimes.
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: what specs does your main pc have?

Postby Hellser » Fri Sep 04, 2020 10:48 pm

I recommend for any old computer upgrade is an SSD. They're getting to the price now that it's worth picking up one. It might not fix the performance issues with running games, but it will help bring life back into an old system - quicker load times, boot time, etc.

If your laptop can support two HDDs, or a HDD and an NVME, get an SSD as your boot device. :)
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
Global Moderator
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: what specs does your main pc have?

Postby sinisterseed » Sat Sep 05, 2020 4:45 am

Hellser wrote:Sinisterseed isn't referring to GZDoom, but rather their processor. Which supports both DDR4 and DDR3 memory. Particularly, their RAM is running at a higher clock speed that the CPU doesn't really support.

No idea what you're talking about there.
User avatar
sinisterseed
GZDoom RO Translator & Raze Tester
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Twitch ID: sixhundredsixteen
Github ID: sinisterseed
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: what specs does your main pc have?

Postby Hellser » Sat Sep 05, 2020 7:37 am

Others were under the impression that DDR3 will somehow lose support on GZDoom. Which won't and can't happen. Memory is memory to the computer. No matter what number trails DDR.

I was referring to the fact that you stated you had a 6th Gen Intel CPU - one that supports DDR3LP when other 6th Gens use DDR4.
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
Global Moderator
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: what specs does your main pc have?

Postby sinisterseed » Mon Sep 14, 2020 11:04 am

Hellser wrote:Others were under the impression that DDR3 will somehow lose support on GZDoom. Which won't and can't happen. Memory is memory to the computer. No matter what number trails DDR.

I was referring to the fact that you stated you had a 6th Gen Intel CPU - one that supports DDR3LP when other 6th Gens use DDR4.

No, that was just me going on a tangent, you read waaaay to much into it, heh.
User avatar
sinisterseed
GZDoom RO Translator & Raze Tester
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Twitch ID: sixhundredsixteen
Github ID: sinisterseed
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: what specs does your main pc have?

Postby Kappes Buur » Mon Sep 14, 2020 2:11 pm

Old but still running most pwads and mods without problem

User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: what specs does your main pc have?

Postby bondingo » Thu Sep 17, 2020 4:15 pm

CPU:
AMD Ryzen 3 2200G 46 °C
Raven Ridge 14nm Technology

RAM:
16.0GB Dual-Channel Unknown @ 1496MHz (16-20-20-38)

Motherboard:
ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. PRIME A320M-K (AM4)

Graphics:
AOC 24" Monitor (1920x1080@59Hz)
16" LCD TV (1920x1080@59Hz)
2048MB ATI AMD Radeon Vega 8 Graphics (ASUStek Computer Inc)
bondingo
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2020
Discord: Maerlek#5773
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Previous

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests