How to increase autoaim distance?

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

How to increase autoaim distance?

Postby VGA » Sun Feb 09, 2020 6:02 am

Playing Doom 64 Retribution I have been annoyed sometimes by my weapons not autoaiming from a distance onwards. Can I increase that? Either as a user or in the mod itself?
User avatar
VGA
 
Joined: 28 Mar 2011

Re: How to increase autoaim distance?

Postby PlayerLin » Sun Feb 09, 2020 6:54 am

Use this CVAR "Autoaim <float value>"

Default is 35 to original DooM.
User avatar
PlayerLin
 
Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Location: XinZhuang, XinBei/New Taipei City(Former Taipei County), Taiwan.
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: How to increase autoaim distance?

Postby VGA » Sun Feb 09, 2020 7:56 am

Ah, thanks, I will try that next time I encounter far away enemies. Searching the ZDoom wiki only landed me on this page which wasn't very useful

https://zdoom.org/wiki/Autoaim

And from what I understand, there is no way a mod can change this CVAR, right?
User avatar
VGA
 
Joined: 28 Mar 2011

Re: How to increase autoaim distance?

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Feb 09, 2020 8:39 am

PlayerLin wrote:Use this CVAR "Autoaim <float value>"

Default is 35 to original DooM.



That's not autoaim distance but autoaim angle.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: How to increase autoaim distance?

Postby PlayerLin » Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:01 am

Graf Zahl wrote:That's not autoaim distance but autoaim angle.


:oops:

But I guess I read too fast when I check ZDooM wiki's CVARs list...
autoaim (float) -- (Verification needed)

Default: 35
This represents the minimum vertical distance from an object that the player's sight must be before that object is no longer autoaimed at. Setting this cvar to "0" disables autoaiming, while large values such as the default 35 will reproduce the original DOOM behavior of always autoaiming.


I just didn't understand "vertical distance" was meant...sorry about this.
User avatar
PlayerLin
 
Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Location: XinZhuang, XinBei/New Taipei City(Former Taipei County), Taiwan.
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: How to increase autoaim distance?

Postby VGA » Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:32 am

Graf Zahl wrote:
PlayerLin wrote:Use this CVAR "Autoaim <float value>"

Default is 35 to original DooM.



That's not autoaim distance but autoaim angle.

Is there a way for a user or a mod to increase the autoaim distance?
User avatar
VGA
 
Joined: 28 Mar 2011

Re: How to increase autoaim distance?

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:33 am

It should read 'vertical angle', not 'distance'.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: How to increase autoaim distance?

Postby Reginald Benningdork » Mon Jan 11, 2021 4:14 pm

So I'm thinking the answer is no? This has ALWAYS been an issue with zdoom, I grew up playing doom on consoles and the general rule was whatever you could SEE you could shoot. Seems to not be the case on pc, (or at least zdokm) really sucks though because I play with look up/down disabled and some of the enemies you just can't shoot. If anyone DOES know of a way to increase auto aim definitely let us know!
Reginald Benningdork
 


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests