ZDoom logo

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

Bio Hazard wrote:the following is completly neutral (not an insult)
(heh saying that is like summoning HotWax)
?
User avatar
Sparky
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:04 am
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Post by Sparky »

those look great
maybe you guys should start a logo contest for zdoom or somethin
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2030
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Github ID: jengelh
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

My opinions so far
wildweasel's Z is looking like Ol' America's Western :P doesnot fit
ZDBioHazard's is a bit color-less (just a simple red and a simple black and not even anti-aliasing), and it is way too big.


Edit: logos changed a little and posted further down kthx
Last edited by Hirogen2 on Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:43 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21384
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Post by wildweasel »

Bio Hazard wrote:
wildweasel wrote:Here's my updated attempt.
the following is completly neutral (not an insult)
(heh saying that is like summoning HotWax)

hmmm... it looks like you are trying to dupe the ZDaemon logo a little... and ZDaemon sux...

also having Z and DOOM as 2 fonts breaks it into 2 words: "Z Doom" and its eaiser read "ZDoom"

that logo just dosent do it for me...

JMWO
Yeah, I could have made the Z into a better font like an LCD or something. I've never really seen the ZDaemon logo, so any resemblence is unintentional.
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Posts: 4019
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 8:15 pm
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Post by Bio Hazard »

Hirogen2 wrote:ZDBioHazard's is way too big.
well id leave it to randy to scale it down :p
i like doing evrything in hi-res
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Posts: 4019
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 8:15 pm
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Post by Bio Hazard »

and heres another one!

Im on a ROLL!
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2030
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Github ID: jengelh
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

Watch your quota.
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Posts: 4019
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 8:15 pm
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Post by Bio Hazard »

woah... i think hirogen wins :)

hmmm... i need a fire texture like that.
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Posts: 4019
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 8:15 pm
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Post by Bio Hazard »

alrighty i did another one...

i went REALLY simple on this one


heh... maybe i should get back to ZChexQuest huh?
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Posts: 4019
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 8:15 pm
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Post by Bio Hazard »

yee haw! another one!

hirogen: you blur, i blur :P

this is fun! :D
User avatar
Zell
Posts: 791
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 7:47 am
Location: IN A GODDAMN BOX[In Erie.]

Post by Zell »

have to say i have liked hirgoens best =D
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Posts: 4019
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 8:15 pm
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Post by Bio Hazard »

the problem with hirogen's is that hed have to use the bottom one
because .gif cant have translucency like .png, its either colored or its not nothing in between.
so most of the cooler effects like motion blur cant be used outside the main image :(
and the bottom one of hirogen's logos is not nearly as cool as his others (the ones with blur)

thats why all his images have backgrounds and arent see-thru

that was not a rant, just some info on the limits of logo images...


and BTW: where is randy? come on randy! we need ideas! :)
User avatar
Zell
Posts: 791
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 7:47 am
Location: IN A GODDAMN BOX[In Erie.]

Post by Zell »

if you just copy+paste the image into paint, and save as .PNG, viola =D
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Posts: 4019
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 8:15 pm
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Post by Bio Hazard »

Zell wrote:if you just copy+paste the image into paint, and save as .PNG, viola =D
what would that accomplish? why not just save it as a PNG in PhotoShop?

if you meant why not make it a PNG so that you could have translucency, you cant. displaying a png in IE wont do translucency. only .gif files will get an alpha channel applied, so you are stuck with that limited format...

also MSpain for <WinXP cant save as PNG anyway :p
User avatar
Eevee
Posts: 592
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 5:26 am

Post by Eevee »

well, it IS possible to coax IE into sorta maybe displaying translucent PNG's correctly some of the time, using a .htc file and the 'behavior' CSS property Microsoft made up. of course this means that your CSS won't validate, but it's either that or flip IE off. which.. really isn't that bad an idea.

Return to “General”