little bit'o console autocomplete wishlistness

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

little bit'o console autocomplete wishlistness

Postby auxois » Fri Sep 26, 2003 7:15 am

<auxois> anyway
<auxois> you use doomsday much?
<SlayeR`> its not as if he disregards anything people say on the forums
<SlayeR`> not much
<SlayeR`> I have it though
<auxois> well
<auxois> you know how in the console
<auxois> when you type something
<auxois> and then hit tab
<auxois> it shows you all the possible completions
<auxois> yeah
<auxois> that fucking kicks ass
<auxois> and I would love to see that implemented in zdoom
<auxois> (gl)
<auxois> lots of Quake ports do that too
<auxois> quake 3 does it IIRC
<SlayeR`> hmm
<SlayeR`> you should probably post that in the ZDoom forum
<SlayeR`> since it really doesn't apply to the GL renderer itself

heh. I love you Randy.
auxois
Yawn.
 
Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Location: texas

Postby Hirogen2 » Fri Sep 26, 2003 8:28 am

It's already in, like about... ZDoom 1.23 beta 33 or even earlier.
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Sep 26, 2003 8:30 am

ZDoom already has a Tab-completion feature.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Chris » Fri Sep 26, 2003 10:31 pm

I think he means an option where when you press tab, it'll list all cvars and commands in a list, and return you to an empty(?) prompt.
Code: Select allExpand view
]vid_((tab))
    vid_vsync
    vid_defbits
    ect...
]
User avatar
Chris
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003

Postby HotWax » Fri Sep 26, 2003 11:04 pm

In that case, he's wrong about Quake 3. It uses an auto-complete system just like the one in ZDoom. It's more handy anyway. You only have to type the first few letters of the command, hit TAB, and then hit enter. Or if the first command that comes up is not the right one, just keep hitting TAB (or shift-TAB to go backwards) until the right one comes up. Simple as that.

BTW, if you want to see all the commands starting with xyz... or all the commands that have xyz somewhere in them... or just the ones with xyz at the end... use the cmdlist/cvarlist commands. They work like Quake 3 as well.

Code: Select allExpand view
] cvarlist vid_*
     vid_vsync
     vid_defbits
     ...etc...

]
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Chris » Sat Sep 27, 2003 1:45 am

IIRC, jDoom had an option where you could change the behavior of tab-completion to either the cycle-through method, as ZDoom currently uses, or fully listing them. Not saying I really care, most of the time I prefer cycling through, but sometimes I'm just curious as to what exists. The cvarlist/cmdlist commands looks to do the job nicely, with the exception that it's two different commands. Maybe tab completion could be extended so that pressing ctrl+tab or alt+tab automatically invokes them both?
User avatar
Chris
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003

Postby Hirogen2 » Sat Sep 27, 2003 2:20 am

Ah, he wants a tab-completition feature à la Bash, which behaves as follows:
Entering "vid_" and then pressing (TAB) either 1. completes the command if it is obvious (i.e. if there is only one command which matches the starting vid_), 2. beeps.
If 2. applies, then hitting TAB again after brings up a list of available commands starting with vid_, each consecutive TAB hit (only if nothing else than TAB has been done) will show the list again, without a beep.
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

heh

Postby auxois » Wed Oct 01, 2003 12:35 pm

I was pretty sure Q3A had that option at one point, but I can't find it in 1.17, 1.29, nor 1.32, so I dunno. Perhaps I'm just thinking of Q2MAX or something.

In any case I do find it extremelymuch more useful when experimenting with the console. I mean, the way it does it now is all fine and well if you know what command or cvar you're looking for, but if you're just screwing around in the console the other way is far more convenient.

Just an idea.

[edit]Sorry if this was an ages-old bump - I just went directly to the thread from my e-mail. Haven't been home; haven't checked my e-mail in a few days.[/edit]
auxois
Yawn.
 
Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Location: texas

Postby HotWax » Wed Oct 01, 2003 12:44 pm

Holy tab lists, Batman! I never even knew Q3A supported this feature.

Apparently we're both right. Q3A uses this method of TAB-completion:

If only one command starts with the typed letters, that command is placed on the line.

Example:

] \g_sync[TAB]

becomes:

] \g_synchronousClients

If there are multiple commands that begin with the typed string, they are listed out to the console, one on each line. THEN, any common letters shared by all commands are added to the string and it is placed on the following prompt, like so:

] \r_t[TAB]
r_texturebits
r_textureMode
] \r_texture
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby auxois » Wed Oct 01, 2003 11:51 pm

Yeh. Knew it was something like that.

Your nick wouldn't happen to have anything to do with a Beck song, eh?
auxois
Yawn.
 
Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Location: texas

Postby HotWax » Thu Oct 02, 2003 2:03 am

Mine? No.
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest