"3d" scopes and double rendering(?)

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

"3d" scopes and double rendering(?)

Postby DukeWooze » Mon May 20, 2019 5:27 pm

So I was looking on the forums and I saw that hideous destructor was still being updated and what not. Now the last time I played it was years ago so I decided to check it out again. Boy was I surprised when I saw all the new features. The one thing that blew me away was the "3d" scope effect where it zooms in a part of the screen. I'm a little out of date when it comes to modding. I don't really know all the features of ZDoom or how to implement them. But I was just wondering how the hell was this achieved? And what is the proper term for this technique?

DukeWooze
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2013

Re: "3d" scopes and double rendering(?)

Postby phantombeta » Mon May 20, 2019 10:37 pm

There's not really a name for this technique - it's just a camera texture rendered to the HUD.
For setting the camera texture target, you use ACS' SetCameraToTexture or ZScript's TexMan.SetCameraToTexture. For drawing it to the screen, there's ACS' HUDMessage, and ZScript's several screen drawing functions.
User avatar
phantombeta
In the meadow of sinful thoughts, every flower's a perfect one
 
Joined: 02 May 2013
Location: The United Soviet Socialist Dictatorship of Hueland
Discord: phantombeta#2461
Twitch ID: phantombeta_
Github ID: Doom2fan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: "3d" scopes and double rendering(?)

Postby Matt » Tue May 21, 2019 12:16 am

What PB said.

Welcome back to the ZDoom forums!
User avatar
Matt
Putting the XD into *xdeath since 2007
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: "3d" scopes and double rendering(?)

Postby DukeWooze » Tue May 21, 2019 1:12 am

Thanks guys. I'll try this out in the next mod I'll make. I thought it was going to be much more complicated than this.
DukeWooze
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2013

Re: "3d" scopes and double rendering(?)

Postby Matt » Tue May 21, 2019 7:45 pm

The biggest complication is trying to get lite amps to work with them... the only solution I've found is to make the liteamps use a shader that affects the entire screen.

After that, it's trying to make sure everything stays the right size relative to each other and to factor in the player's fov or hud (or weaponbob?) settings as necessary.
User avatar
Matt
Putting the XD into *xdeath since 2007
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: "3d" scopes and double rendering(?)

Postby DukeWooze » Wed May 22, 2019 10:46 am

Yeah I was thinking about that. Is there a way to get the weapon offset from ACS? Or even modify it? I noticed that that mod also has weapon inertia too. I wouldn't mind trying that out sometime.
DukeWooze
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2013

Re: "3d" scopes and double rendering(?)

Postby Matt » Wed May 22, 2019 11:52 am

I just ended up setting all weapon offsets in an entirely redone-from-scratch bobbing system. :V

The only way you can really do it with the canonical bobbing (even in ZS let alone ACS) is to re-create the formula that the bobbing uses and test it to make sure your hudmessage never desyncs from the weaponbob.
User avatar
Matt
Putting the XD into *xdeath since 2007
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: "3d" scopes and double rendering(?)

Postby D2JK » Mon Sep 02, 2019 3:51 am

I had been thinking of adding this effect on a scoped weapon since learning about it here, but on a second thought, might not be worth the trouble considering weapon offsets/bobbing/whatnot.

It would be an entirely different matter, though, if you could replace a sprite used in weapon's overlay with the view from a 'camera' (cropped or scaled down, of course), as it's trivial to make overlays stay synced with weapon movement.
D2JK
 
Joined: 30 Aug 2014

Re: "3d" scopes and double rendering(?)

Postby 22alpha22 » Mon Sep 02, 2019 12:40 pm

Have you tried rendering your camera texture with SBARINFO or ZScript? I used SBARINFO for my scopes, however they don't need to bob so maybe ZScript would be better if they needed to follow the weapon's bob.

User avatar
22alpha22
So lonely...
 
Joined: 21 Feb 2014
Location: Montana, USA
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: "3d" scopes and double rendering(?)

Postby DukeWooze » Mon Sep 02, 2019 7:58 pm

To be honest I haven't even given it a try. I was trying to make some kind of a mod over the summer but nothing really stuck. But seeing this last post makes me interested in trying it. By the way, are there any good tutorials on zscript?
DukeWooze
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2013


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 5 guests