More Blood!

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Postby Hirogen2 » Tue Sep 23, 2003 10:25 am

HotWax wrote:
arioch wrote:Yeah, decals on the floor would be nice. Implementation is probably a nightmare though.

Actually, I've begun to wonder if this is still actually out of reach. As I understood it, the reason it couldn't be done before was connected to why flats couldn't be scaled beyond 64x64... well, now that any size image can be placed on the floor (and scaled, I presume),

Image sizes for flats range up to 256x256 (there is only code to check for 64x64, 64x65, 64x128, 128x128 and 256x256). However, now that textures are interchangeable between walls and floors, any size should be possible, according to randomlag, a Doom pic can be up to 32767 high.
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Doom » Tue Sep 23, 2003 11:38 am

If an IMP explodes and it's corpse opens like blooming, that would spurt a lot of blood!, blood that should stick to all of the surrounding walls, not only the back one!, even more, ceiling shall be splattered as well, it seems logical to me. Sadly I don't know a thing about nothing but playing, I'm relatively new to ports, so I'd have to wait for someone else to get the dirty job well done..
User avatar
Doom
Give me 80's metal or give me death
 
Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Location: Stuffed in your ass

Postby randomlag » Tue Sep 23, 2003 11:53 am

Hirogen2 wrote:Image sizes for flats range up to 256x256 (there is only code to check for 64x64, 64x65, 64x128, 128x128 and 256x256). However, now that textures are interchangeable between walls and floors, any size should be possible, according to randomlag, a Doom pic can be up to 32767 high.
The raw patch format I described is a technical limit. The actual practical limit is 2048 as implemented in ZDOOM.
User avatar
randomlag
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003

Postby Enjay » Tue Sep 23, 2003 12:16 pm

ReX wrote:About the windows port, in what way does it improve the game? I'm a big fan of Duke 3D, and I wouldn't mind trying stuff that will improve it.


Oh, so you call me a sadist, then want some info eh? Well, seeing as how I take being called a sadist as a compliment... :)

The port actually does very little to add to Duke, it simply makes it playable as a windows app on an XP machine. As far as I can tell, it's all pretty much as Duke ever was. Setting it up was a little confusing because it still used the old DOS setup for some things, but not for the things windows takes care of. It always seems to start windowed and requires shift enter to make it full screen. I think there may be an ini setting, but it didn't work.

It has crashed on me once, but I have also played the first 2 episodes through in a single sitting each without any problems.

I tried 2 ports.

The one I am using, I don't remember where it came from, but this site is mentioned in the docs

http://www.rancidmeat.com/project.php3?id=1

I also tried one from Jono F's site, but I couldn't get it to start. Shame, because it looked like it might be the better option.

http://jonof.edgenetwork.org/build/
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby wildweasel » Wed Sep 24, 2003 4:29 pm

HotWax wrote:ZDoom still accepts the old DEH trick that makes blood splats turn into pools of blood and stay on the ground for however long you'd like them to.....

Except that it's not really that realistic, especially shooting bigger monsters with the SSG (a perfect line of blood pools). Also, I haven't figured out how to give the pools actual gravity (if you shoot a monster at the top of an elevator, the pool floats in place if the elevator goes down). Just a hack in my opinion. Would be better if ZDoom could have a hardcoded, fully implemented solution (like leaving decals on the floor).
User avatar
wildweasel
from a different perspective.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Cyb » Wed Sep 24, 2003 6:39 pm

the reason you can't have floor decals is because doom textures floors and ceilings with a flood fill and a flat decal would require a new transparent texture to be laid on the floor. that itself isn't really a problem with the new system in place, it's the flood fill thing. you could place the decal, but as far as I know there wouldn't be any way to stop it from tiling on the visplane it was placed in outside of actually creating a new visplane for it or something wacky like that.

this is my understanding of it anyway, corrections/additions welcome
Cyb
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Chris » Wed Sep 24, 2003 8:32 pm

I don't really see why you can't draw the floors, then use a special function, ala slopes, to take a standard patch and draw it flat(be it a translucent decal, a texture, or sprite(3d floors!)), then draw the rest of the level as normal...
User avatar
Chris
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003

Postby Enjay » Thu Sep 25, 2003 4:39 am

wildweasel wrote:Also, I haven't figured out how to give the pools actual gravity (if you shoot a monster at the top of an elevator, the pool floats in place if the elevator goes down).


Then you need to read this:

http://www.btinternet.com/~Enjay001/dehex04.htm

Specifically step 5. :)
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Hirogen2 » Thu Sep 25, 2003 5:48 am

randomlag wrote:The raw patch format I described is a technical limit. The actual practical limit is 2048 as implemented in ZDOOM.
Why? Because Doom can't read more than 64K (256x256) at once?
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Anonymous » Sun Sep 28, 2003 5:46 am

zdoom files willa be to large :)
Anonymous
 

Postby randomlag » Sun Sep 28, 2003 10:24 am

Hirogen2 wrote:
randomlag wrote:The raw patch format I described is a technical limit. The actual practical limit is 2048 as implemented in ZDOOM.
Why? Because Doom can't read more than 64K (256x256) at once?
No
User avatar
randomlag
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003

Previous

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: secreteagent and 2 guests