Page 30 of 32

Re: GZDoom localization development thread [Split]

PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2019 1:41 pm
by Undead
I think all Greek characters are done. The font spreadsheet is also updated.

Re: GZDoom localization development thread [Split]

PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2019 2:00 pm
by Graf Zahl
I wonder if those two "special" letters are correct this way. For everything else the accent is placed in front of capital letters so I have no idea how these are handled if they really appear as uppercase forms. Of course the only way to type them would be as decomposed sequences

Re: GZDoom localization development thread [Split]

PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2019 2:05 pm
by Undead
I had a small discussion with the Greek translator about that, and he claims that those symbols are never used. I suppose that if there are no Unicode codepoints for those letters, that must really be true. Worst case scenario, we just force any allcaps sequences to have lowercase versions of those two letters.

Re: GZDoom localization development thread [Split]

PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2019 2:27 pm
by Graf Zahl
What does "never used" mean? There's two possibilities: Either all-caps text uses the small versions or omits one of the diacritic marks. Have you asked him that?`Or did he say that those lowercase versions are never used?

Re: GZDoom localization development thread [Split]

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2019 12:43 am
by Undead
I noticed that the “A secret is found!” message when using Greek is set to use the VGA font. No idea why, since all necessary characters for the language are supported.

Re: GZDoom localization development thread [Split]

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2019 1:31 am
by Graf Zahl
It's possibly related to the two-sigmas-issue. The font code doesn't handle that case properly yet when converting to uppercase

Re: GZDoom localization development thread [Split]

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 4:01 pm
by theleo_ua
GZDoom: 4.1.2 x64

Resolution: 1280x960 (windowed)

Font size (in options): very small: https://i.ibb.co/DG5YJs8/image.png

How it's possible to increase it without changing window resolution ? Are there any scaling options?

As I remember, problem introduced in 4.1.1 (font size was correct in 4.1.0)

Re: GZDoom localization development thread [Split]

PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2019 12:17 am
by Graf Zahl
The menu requires a minimum width of 680 pixels to work properly. This means that for 1280 it cannot increase the scaling factor to 2.
For screen widths above 1360 this has been fixed yesterday. To allow this for 1280 there first needs to be a careful review of all menus.

Re: GZDoom localization development thread [Split]

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2019 11:43 pm
by Undead
Related to the BIGFONT: the PAUSE graphic is not yet localized. Though, this would really only work for Doom and Strife, since Heretic and Hexen use a special graphic with a font not found elsewhere in those games.

Re: GZDoom localization development thread [Split]

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2019 1:09 am
by Undead
SIGIL is set for release on May 31—are we gonna localize that next? Might be worth asking Romero for an early copy so we can have it done by the time the WAD is out.

Re: GZDoom localization development thread [Split]

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2019 2:48 am
by Kinsie
Undead wrote:SIGIL is set for release on May 31—are we gonna localize that next? Might be worth asking Romero for an early copy so we can have it done by the time the WAD is out.
There's a LANGUAGE lump included in the WAD as it stands. I'll PM you the contents.

Re: GZDoom localization development thread [Split]

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2019 4:25 am
by Graf Zahl
Hmm... Having that in there will require a bit of hackery to disable it, otherwise we can't localize it.

Re: GZDoom localization development thread [Split]

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2019 6:41 am
by Undead
That LANGUAGE file only applies to the enu and default languages. Will the GZDoom spreadsheet file not automatically override it when any other language is used?

Re: GZDoom localization development thread [Split]

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2019 6:53 am
by Graf Zahl
No. If a section defines "default" it overrides all languages. This is the only way to give mods precedence over localized strings from the internal table.

Re: GZDoom localization development thread [Split]

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2019 7:55 am
by Xaser
What happens if a language lump defines a new string in [enu] (no default) and someone sets the language to something else?