Is it legal to link GZDoom to Steamworks API?

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
Korshun

Is it legal to link GZDoom to Steamworks API?

Post by Korshun »

Hello. I am a developer of a commercial game on the GZDoom engine. We want to publish our game on Steam with Steam-specific features like achievements and leaderboards. The problem is that GZDoom is under the GNU GPL license, which prohibits linking to proprietary libraries like Steamworks API. Steamworks API is needed to add achivements, stats, leaderboards and enhanced cloud save support. Could an exception be made for linking to Steamworks API like in Strife Veteran Edition?
Doom Wiki wrote:A linking exception for the Steamworks API was provided by Simon Howard with the justification that it constitutes a system component due to ubiquitous distribution and the existence of SteamOS.
Such an exception would make GZDoom more popular among indie game developers.
_mental_

Re: Is it legal to link GZDoom to Steamworks API?

Post by _mental_ »

It will be nice to have a bit of information about the game.
Rachael
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Post by Rachael »

What you might be able to do is write a fake API that effectively does nothing and publish that along with your source code. Idea being, as long as the core game works and a user can compile your source and run your game, you should still be within the terms of the GPL agreement. I dunno if it's required to use the precompiled version of that in your actual distribution or not, though - I don't think it is.

Keep in mind, though, I am not a lawyer, and there are more people with stakes in GZDoom than just the development team. We do not have final say in what happens with our GPL agreement - unfortunately, Bethesda does.
edward850

Post by edward850 »