Resolution Questions

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
Mike12

Resolution Questions

Post by Mike12 »

While the dPjudas response clarified some things, the thread was closed early and I still have questions about the status of the resolution screen.

Will the resolution selection screen (be it in the future vid_mode reinstatement, or by functioning with whole new code/scaling selected pixel resolution to the current monitor res) still be intact in window and full screen modes? Because as a developer I rely on those a lot for all sorts of graphic development. I kinda got this impression from dpJudas's statement, but i'm hoping to figure things out crystal clear.

I think I understand the issue with exclusive fullscreen and so long as everything is responsive i'm not super bothered by borderless windows, I'm just hoping that I'll still be able to select my resolutions (at least from a visual standpoint, even if it's technically still the monitor res in code).
dpJudas

Re: Resolution Questions

Post by dpJudas »

There is no change to the input response in full screen - it will be exactly like in GZDoom today. When Windows sees a window that covers the entire screen it turns off the DWM, making the application render directly to the screen with no extra latency.
Mike12

Post by Mike12 »

dpJudas wrote:There is no change to the input response in full screen - it will be exactly like in GZDoom today. When Windows sees a window that covers the entire screen it turns off the DWM, making the application render directly to the screen with no extra latency.