[SOLVED] "restart", standalone project, directories

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
Post Reply
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17439
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

[SOLVED] "restart", standalone project, directories

Post by Nash »

I work on my standalone project from a directory. Apparently using

Code: Select all

game.exe -iwad directory
doesn't work, even though every required lump exists in my directory. So as a workaround, I make a dummy .PK3 IWAD containing the single lump that my game's "MustContain" requires, and then I do this:

Code: Select all

game.exe -iwad game.pk3 -file directory
This satisfies development workflow, but the problem is "restart" command won't work.
Execution could not continue.

Palette not found
So I add the PLAYPAL and COLOR into game.pk3, but still no go!
Execution could not continue.

You cannot use clearepisodes in a MAPINFO if you do not define any new episodes after it.
I gave up here. What is the proper way to solve my problem? The ONLY way the restart command works perfectly is if I build the full game.pk3 containing all the game's contents and run it as a regular IWAD, but that completely defeats the purpose of working with directories!

I really need the restart command to work with my directory workflow to reduce iteration time... it just hit me throughout all these years how much time I've wasted repeatedly quitting and re-launching the engine just to make 1 tiny change. :(

Why doesn't "game.exe -iwad directory" work anyway?
Last edited by Nash on Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49067
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Problem with "restart", standalone project, directories

Post by Graf Zahl »

Restart without parameters will forget all '-file's and then select the first matching IWAD. And since that is empty the results are obvious...
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17439
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] "restart", standalone project, directories

Post by Nash »

Cool! I didn't know restart accepted parameters. All good now. :D
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17439
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] "restart", standalone project, directories

Post by Nash »

Sorry for double post, new question

It's not possible to use +map with restart? I tried this:

Code: Select all

restart -file directory +map TestMap
but it just takes me to the title screen.

(Also, opening the console from this point onwards might sometimes crash the engine)
Post Reply

Return to “General”