Z Chex Quest: Froot Gone Bad

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

should i work on it?

yes
14
93%
no
1
7%
 
Total votes : 15

Postby Hirogen2 » Mon Sep 15, 2003 6:50 am

There is already a Chex Quest conversion.
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby HotWax » Mon Sep 15, 2003 11:37 am

Bio Hazard wrote:and if i do go from scratch would you like a super serious episode or a little comic releif evrey so often?


Comic relief is never a bad thing, particurlarly in something as silly as Chex Quest. See Massmouth 2 for an example of some very well-placed humor. :)
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Zell » Mon Sep 15, 2003 1:37 pm

mm2 was the best :P
User avatar
Zell
:O ALIVE[again]
 
Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Location: IN A GODDAMN BOX[In Erie.]

Postby Enjay » Mon Sep 15, 2003 2:05 pm

Comic relief definitely. Chex is hardly a dark gothic horror. It’s whole concept is intentionally silly. Come on - a breakfast cereal fighting off hordes of gloopy green aliens! To try and make it serious would in itself be very silly. That doesn't mean it shouldn't be a challenge or anything like that, but it should be fun - as in funny too.

BTW, I never got it finished, but I messed around with a green DECADEF file for Chex a while ago. I never finished it, and I don't have it any more, but it looked good having green goo running down the walls. :)
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Bio Hazard » Mon Sep 15, 2003 8:15 pm

alright, im working on a demo wad (scripted intro cinematic) to show you what it will be like, expect it by tomorrow sometime...

keep in mind that im not using any DOOM(|2) resources here, only CQ stuff


HotWax wrote:See Massmouth 2 for an example of some very well-placed humor.


MassMouth is my bible :)
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby Cyb » Mon Sep 15, 2003 8:42 pm

aw shucks, i love you guys, man
Cyb
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Zell » Mon Sep 15, 2003 9:03 pm

massmouth = bible
cyb = teh doom god
^_^
User avatar
Zell
:O ALIVE[again]
 
Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Location: IN A GODDAMN BOX[In Erie.]

Postby Bio Hazard » Tue Sep 16, 2003 4:47 pm

Here it is!

ZChex Quest: Froot Gone Bad

EDIT: I fixed the link for people getting redirected to web1000.com

is it interesting or should i just let it die now?

you know, if anyone would like to help me with textures, that would be great... ChexQuest has a whopping 12 unique textures and 15 flats so there isint much to splice...

also, does anybody know how to translate the chex guys blue parts to different colors? i cant find the correct translation

i know i havent replaced all the graphics yet...

also the wad may crash once or twice (in 47i anyways), just run it again and it should work...
Last edited by Bio Hazard on Wed Sep 17, 2003 10:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby Enjay » Wed Sep 17, 2003 12:23 pm

Hmmm, everytime I click your link I get redirected to http://www.web1000.com/

As for the chex guys blue parts (sounds rude) if you mean changing them in player setup, you can't. The player colour sliders affect palette entries in the green series that the Doom guy uniform is in. To make the chex guy's colour changeable you'd have to use a graphics editor to recolour them (fairly easy to do with PSP - and other packages I assume). Skulltag used to (and maybe still does) feature a skin made from the Chex guy, and a skin is also available elsewhere. I think in both cases the blues have already been changed to green, so that may save you some work.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Cyb » Wed Sep 17, 2003 1:09 pm

hehe, nice demo, pretty funny stuff, but it's not playable? : (

oh and if you want to change the blue range on the scripted marines, uhm the blue range is 192 - 207 and 240 - 246. It's weird how it's split like that, but if you want to change it to green (for instance) do something like 192:207=112:127, 240:246=[10,20,5]:[2,10,1] (haven't tested that but it should look decent, you may want to tweak the rgb ranges a bit). red would be easier since the red range is the same length as the blue one, 192:207=168:184, 240:246=185:191

oh you also can't change the colors of the player itself (that's up to the user to decide) so if you want to allow the chex guy to have his own color just do what enjay said and then for scripted marines you'll be translating the green range, 112:127
Cyb
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Bio Hazard » Wed Sep 17, 2003 4:42 pm

ok cool, ill try that translation...

the specifications are theese

EP1
5 level hub, but still pretty linear

im kinda going RPG style as in evrything/evryone is useable (talking to npcs)

ive got map01 started so expect ep1beta in a few weeks
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby Enjay » Thu Sep 18, 2003 9:25 am

OK, I have tried from home using 2 different IPs (using WinXP and IE 6). I'm now at work running win2000 and ie5 and I still get redirected to http://www.web1000.com/ instead of getting the download. :evil:
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby randomlag » Thu Sep 18, 2003 10:05 am

Try this at the cmd prompt:

ipconfig /flushdns

and then try the link again

Works for me (not a registered TM :lol: )
User avatar
randomlag
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003

Postby Enjay » Thu Sep 18, 2003 11:11 am

randomlag wrote:Try this at the cmd prompt:

ipconfig /flushdns

and then try the link again

Works for me (not a registered TM :lol: )


Doesn't work for me (registered or otherwise).

"Successfully flushed the DNS Resolver Cache."

But still got redirected. And that's with the "fixed" link too. :cry:
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Hirogen2 » Thu Sep 18, 2003 12:17 pm

It's probably that BioHazard has the only hostmask accepted by the webhoster :P
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Nems and 2 guests