Z Chex Quest: Froot Gone Bad

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

should i work on it?

yes
14
93%
no
1
7%
 
Total votes : 15

Z Chex Quest: Froot Gone Bad

Postby Bio Hazard » Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:11 pm

should i work on making chex quest a PWAD for doom2? (basicly a TC)

or does nobody care about lame ol chex quest?
Last edited by Bio Hazard on Tue Sep 16, 2003 5:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby Enjay » Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:22 pm

If you like. I did it a couple of years ago with the original for my kids. It's easy enough to simply port the maps over, copy any other relevant resources and do a mapinfo etc for it. You could probably do that in half an hour. I simplified quite a few things whilst I was at it - made keys easier to find, made maps more straight forward, reduced enemy hitpoints, gave them weaker attacks etc. All necessary because my kids are young, and therefore not too good (yet) at doom. I'm not even sure they still have it on their computers though.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Bio Hazard » Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:35 pm

ahhh and with PLAYMOVIE() i can even add those funky videos!

how do i make it so the shotgun dude dosent drop a shotgun? "man if that flemoid had a zorcher, why didnt he use it?"
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby Xaser » Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:43 pm

I say yes. Chex Quest is so stupid, it's funny. I'd like to see a Chex Qust TC pretty soon, as I haven't had a good laugh in a while. :)
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Postby Zell » Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:44 pm

lol same here
User avatar
Zell
:O ALIVE[again]
 
Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Location: IN A GODDAMN BOX[In Erie.]

Postby Enjay » Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:47 pm

Bio Hazard wrote:how do i make it so the shotgun dude dosent drop a shotgun? "man if that flemoid had a zorcher, why didnt he use it?"


ID# swapping in dehacked.

1: Give an item that doesn't normally drop anything all the attributes of the shotgun guy. Including the shotgun guy's ID# (ie its map editnum)

2: Give the shotgun guy all the attributes of the item from 1. Again, including the item's ID#

Voila, wherever there used to be a shotgun guy, you will actually have the hacked item behaving like a shotgun guy. Wherever there used to be the item, you will now have a shotgun guy behaving like the item. The game is apparently unchanged until you kill your apparent shotgun guy and he drops... nothing!
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Bio Hazard » Sun Sep 14, 2003 4:20 pm

Enjay wrote:ID# swapping in dehacked.

1: Give an item that doesn't normally drop anything all the attributes of the shotgun guy. Including the shotgun guy's ID# (ie its map editnum)

2: Give the shotgun guy all the attributes of the item from 1. Again, including the item's ID#


k i have no idea how to do that (i SUCK at Dehacked)

also how do i get PLAYMOVIE() tho work? i put a divx movie in my wad and added PLAYMOVIE("lumpname"); to the acs but nothing happens... is there a "MOVIEINFO" lump or something?
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby Enjay » Sun Sep 14, 2003 4:36 pm

Bio Hazard wrote:k i have no idea how to do that (i SUCK at Dehacked)


OK, here you go. This swaps the candle and the shotgun guy to prevent the shotgun guy dropping a weapon when he dies. There is no obvious other change to the game. ie shotgunners and candles are still where you would expect them to be, but they are actually swapped with each other, and given each other's attributes. The only minor side effect is you get a generic "player died" message if a shotgunner kills you because you have in truth been killed by a candle. :)

Code: Select allExpand view
Patch File for DeHackEd v3.0

# Note: Use the pound sign ('#') to start comment lines.

Doom version = 19
Patch format = 6


Thing 3 (Sargeant)
ID # = 34
Initial frame = 911
Hit points = 1000
First moving frame = 0
Alert sound = 0
Injury frame = 0
Pain chance = 0
Pain sound = 0
Far attack frame = 0
Death frame = 0
Exploding frame = 0
Death sound = 0
Speed = 0
Height = 1048576
Action sound = 0
Bits = 0
Respawn frame = 0

Thing 100 (Candle)
ID # = 9
Initial frame = 207
Hit points = 30
First moving frame = 209
Alert sound = 37
Attack sound = 2
Injury frame = 220
Pain chance = 170
Pain sound = 27
Far attack frame = 217
Death frame = 222
Exploding frame = 227
Death sound = 60
Speed = 8
Height = 3670016
Action sound = 75
Bits = 4194310
Respawn frame = 236


Just copy and paste it into a text file and load it with -deh.



also how do i get PLAYMOVIE() tho work? i put a divx movie in my wad and added PLAYMOVIE("lumpname"); to the acs but nothing happens... is there a "MOVIEINFO" lump or something?


Been a while since I messed with this, but I'm pretty sure it does not accept movies in WADs. If your movie file is in the same dir as Zdoom just use PLAYMOVIE(filename.avi); or you can give it a complete path name and it works. You can also specify playmovie filename (using the console command playmovie rather than ACS) in a cfg file and have Zdoom play the movie as soon as the game loads, just like a commercial game does.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Bio Hazard » Sun Sep 14, 2003 4:55 pm

Enjay wrote:ZDoom does not accept movies in WADs.


it should... *hint**hint*


actually converting doom1 to doom2 is a pain so ill have to do the whole thing from scratch

ZChexQuest

k new question:

should i:

A. Continue on Vanilla Chex Quest (R)
B. Make an original wad using ChexQuest resources (with cool scripts and stuff)
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby Enjay » Sun Sep 14, 2003 4:57 pm

If by "Continue on" you mean carry on the story, how about:

C. Both :)

If that's not what you meant, then I'd say B.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Zell » Sun Sep 14, 2003 4:57 pm

B
User avatar
Zell
:O ALIVE[again]
 
Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Location: IN A GODDAMN BOX[In Erie.]

Postby Enjay » Sun Sep 14, 2003 5:07 pm

Bio Hazard wrote:actually converting doom1 to doom2 is a pain so ill have to do the whole thing from scratch


The biggest difficulty I can think of is the different texture resources. As you know, there's a whole bunch of textures in Doom1 not in Doom2, and vice versa. However, there are a couple of tools that let you merge the texture and pnames lumps from different wads into one. That will allow you to quickly and easily put all the Doom1 specific stuff into a Doom2 compatible WAD and have both Doom1 and Doom2 textures available. Once you have done that, all the levels should run under doom2 because all the resources they need are now present. I know DeePSea does this merging very well (only takes a couple of seconds). I think Wintex is supposed to do something like it, but I can't get my head round Wintex. XWE may do it, I haven't checked.

The map names are not a problem - just rename and make up a MAPINFO for them.

Can't think of much else that could cause problems.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Zell » Sun Sep 14, 2003 5:17 pm

or, u can do what i did ( i had lots of fun with this one)
1. Copy the the TExtures resource from Doom2
2. Paste in a doom1 wad.
3. Copy flats resource from doom2
4. paste in a doom1 wad.
5. copy the patches from doom2
6. paste in a doom1 wad.
7. copy sprites(i loved this) and sounds
8. paste in a doom1.wad.
now, type idfka and play doom1 with a super shotgun :P
And, if you stick with the doom1 format, you can also replace
doom2 monsters with new monsters sprites. ^_^
User avatar
Zell
:O ALIVE[again]
 
Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Location: IN A GODDAMN BOX[In Erie.]

Postby Bio Hazard » Sun Sep 14, 2003 5:27 pm

k, im going to sound like the stupidest mapper alive when i say this but bear with me:

how do you ADD flats... (not replace) so that they show up as new flats in WA. i never figured this out

or should i wait till the interchangeable flats\textures thing come along? (hurry up randy! i have so many ideas! :D )


what i meant by continue was keep all the levels and evrything the same as vanilla chex quest
B meant do it from scratch with the same story and build off that "ZChexQuest: Froot gone Bad Episode II" or something

and if i do go from scratch would you like a super serious episode or a little comic releif evrey so often?
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby The Ultimate DooMer » Mon Sep 15, 2003 1:21 am

Bio Hazard wrote:how do you ADD flats... (not replace) so that they show up as new flats in WA. i never figured this out


Just stick your flats in with Wintex and rename F_END to FF_END and it'll be fine.
User avatar
The Ultimate DooMer
Will you start the fans please!
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Industrial Zone

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Adrian Malacoda and 1 guest