ZDoom with Blood?

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

ZDoom with Blood?

Postby Hellser » Tue Jul 29, 2014 10:43 pm

Apparently, Randy's been working on Blood for ZDoom. Nifty! But, does this mean.

That we can get Polymer/Polymost? That, with build-quality maps.. I think I'll die out of joy!

Thoughts? Discuss here!

(Also, refrain from starting a war in this thread. This is merely a discussion / opinion unless Randi specifically tells us what he has in mind)
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
Global Moderator
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: ZDoom with Blood?

Postby Xim » Tue Jul 29, 2014 11:47 pm

Hmm, I've never played Blood before. But I would like to. I'll be checking this out.
User avatar
Xim
 
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: Somewhere with trees

Re: ZDoom with Blood?

Postby Nash » Wed Jul 30, 2014 2:16 am

:DDDDDDDDDDD

[heavy breathing]
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: ZDoom with Blood?

Postby The Zombie Killer » Wed Jul 30, 2014 2:28 am

brb partying
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
King of the Kangaroos
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Discord: Zombie#1795

Re: ZDoom with Blood?

Postby randi » Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:20 am

Don't get too excited. That was mostly just fixing what used to work but didn't anymore. Mostly.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Re: ZDoom with Blood?

Postby Peter Bark » Wed Jul 30, 2014 1:26 pm

I'd love to see those hitboxes from Blood used, you know like if you shot a rocket at a Cyberdemon it could pass between it's legs.
User avatar
Peter Bark
 
Joined: 20 Apr 2013
Location: Italy

Re: ZDoom with Blood?

Postby Freya Mánibrandr » Wed Jul 30, 2014 4:05 pm

Does that mean that ZDoom will become the first fully-functional source port for Blood?
User avatar
Freya Mánibrandr
 
Joined: 26 Aug 2012

Re: ZDoom with Blood?

Postby Caligari87 » Wed Jul 30, 2014 4:20 pm

randi wrote:Don't get too excited. That was mostly just fixing what used to work but didn't anymore. Mostly.

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: ZDoom with Blood?

Postby Hellser » Wed Jul 30, 2014 4:48 pm

randi wrote:Don't get too excited. That was mostly just fixing what used to work but didn't anymore. Mostly.


"Mostly" can turn into "Oops, gaiz. I put Blood into ZDoom.", still. Would love to see what additions you've put in can mean for ZDoom. :)
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
Global Moderator
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: ZDoom with Blood?

Postby randi » Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:22 pm

Well, I did want to put wall sprites in, and the Build engine games are full of them, but they only work as test cases if I can load them. That's about it. Maybe if I'm feeling adventurous, I'll throw some floor sprites in too.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Re: ZDoom with Blood?

Postby Caligari87 » Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:42 pm

Wall and floor sprites would be a real game-changer for a lot of things, actually. Combined with Graf's idea for dynamic light exclusions, my shitty day just got a little brighter.

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: ZDoom with Blood?

Postby Hellser » Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:35 pm

Wall sprites can mean the world for ZDoom. Especially if they can be scaled. I'm drooling at the concept of DN3D-styled city maps. Especially those really good custom ones!
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
Global Moderator
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: ZDoom with Blood?

Postby Nash » Thu Jul 31, 2014 12:13 am

Question: will these Blood-related features take code directly from BUILD? How would these recent developments affect any attempts of fully GPL'ing ZDoom? How isolated would this stuff be, in case one wants to easily remove them... ?
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: ZDoom with Blood?

Postby Peter Bark » Fri Aug 01, 2014 9:06 pm

randi wrote:Well, I did want to put wall sprites in, and the Build engine games are full of them, but they only work as test cases if I can load them. That's about it. Maybe if I'm feeling adventurous, I'll throw some floor sprites in too.


maybe i'm way off, but is it possible we could create switches that you actually have to be close to and press on to make it work, as opposed to pressing anywhere on the wall where the switch texture is and activating it, same as breakable scenery, if there is a clock you can only break it by shooting the clock itself and not anywhere on the wall near it.

Also do you think 3D models, something like bump mapping or torches/levers that protrude from the wall be possible in the Doom engine?
User avatar
Peter Bark
 
Joined: 20 Apr 2013
Location: Italy

Re: ZDoom with Blood?

Postby Chris » Fri Aug 01, 2014 9:39 pm

Peter Bark wrote:maybe i'm way off, but is it possible we could create switches that you actually have to be close to and press on to make it work, as opposed to pressing anywhere on the wall where the switch texture is and activating it

I could've sworn there was a flag like that somewhere, but I have no idea what it was called.

Also do you think 3D models, something like bump mapping or torches/levers that protrude from the wall be possible in the Doom engine?

http://zdoom.org/wiki/Model_format (GZDoom derivatives only)
http://zdoom.org/wiki/Voxel_format
User avatar
Chris
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests