OpenGL Hack Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
User avatar
SyntherAugustus
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:43 pm

OpenGL Hack Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Post by SyntherAugustus »

This is outdated. This only works with GZDoom 1.9 and below.
Spoiler:
Try this now for newer GZDoom versions.

http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=47448
Last edited by SyntherAugustus on Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:23 am, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
Blox
Posts: 3728
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:35 am
Location: Apathetic Limbo

Re: Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Post by Blox »

Could you post a screenshot and the full .ini? Just being curious.
User avatar
SyntherAugustus
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:43 pm

Re: Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Post by SyntherAugustus »

I fixed it. For NVIDIA users, DO NOT USE BETA DRIVERS. I went back to 306.97 and SSAO works properly. In the beta drivers the SSAO was creating some black void effect, darkening the whole map.
User avatar
MaxED
Posts: 2246
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:55 pm

Re: Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Post by MaxED »

Blox wrote:Could you post a screenshot
Here you go :)

Image
User avatar
MaxED
Posts: 2246
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:55 pm

Re: OpenGL Hack Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Post by MaxED »

And now, a bit more reasonable settings:

Image

Code: Select all

[gzdoom.exe]
Anisotropy=0
Multisample=0
Bloom=1
BloomSteps=8
BloomDarken=8
BloomScale=8
SSAO=1
SSAOScale=1.0
Saturation=-32
Lightness=-10
Emboss=0
DOF=1
DOFMinZ=0.005
DOFSpeed=0.75
DOFScale=3.0
RenderFrame=1
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
 
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Discord: Marisa the Magician#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: OpenGL Hack Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Post by Marisa the Magician »

I wish a Linux port of this was possible. It looks promising. (although it will probably get as much hate as ENB does)
User avatar
Jimmy
 
 
Posts: 4715
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:49 pm
Discord: Jimmy#4100
Twitch ID: JimmySquared
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Post by Jimmy »

MaxED wrote:
Blox wrote:Could you post a screenshot
Here you go :)
Image
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17283
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: OpenGL Hack Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Post by Nash »

Copy paste for completeness' sake:
MaxED wrote:
Nash wrote:Is anyone else having problems with SSAO being drawn in front of sprites? I have the latest nvidia drivers but it still happens.
Qeffects developer mentoined that this may be happening because sprites geometry is not written to depth buffer in GZDoom. Other interesting thing to note is that this problem doesn't occure in Zandronum.
It's a shame because I find SSAO to not be a viable option for regular gameplay use because it is drawing in front of sprites. Also...

Image

Image
User avatar
PlayerLin
Posts: 574
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 4:20 am
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: XinZhuang, XinBei/New Taipei City(Former Taipei County), Taiwan.

Re: OpenGL Hack Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Post by PlayerLin »

Personally, don't like many bad setting of bloom effects like the first one MaxED did and ruined it totally.
(Whatever game is, do it over shining or bright just stupid, many HDR effects also do such thing.)
Even the second one it still give me some bad feelsg but, not too bad, it still good for looking, just...uh,...feels weird...
User avatar
Sergeant_Mark_IV
Posts: 812
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:44 pm
Location: United Communist Nazi Republic Dictactorship of Banana Land (Brazil)

Re: OpenGL Hack Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Post by Sergeant_Mark_IV »

Hey guys, what are you talking aboo... oomguuahhhhhhhhheeeeee this is awesome!
User avatar
SyntherAugustus
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:43 pm

Re: OpenGL Hack Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Post by SyntherAugustus »

User avatar
esselfortium
Posts: 3851
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:43 pm

Re: OpenGL Hack Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Post by esselfortium »

I've experimented around with this a bit, and it's definitely a nifty set of effects. It's not usable in GZDoom for anything outside of novelty value at the moment, though, given the absolute mess that it makes of skies, titlepic and HUD stuff, and other things that really shouldn't be made a mess of. If something like this could be implemented into GZDoom in a way that mappers and modders can more directly control, it'd be worthwhile even for just the occlusion alone, which adds a lot of nice depth to a scene (a la Doomsday's fake radiosity) when it's not being visibly buggy and bizarre. :P

This is with the "reasonable" settings posted in the thread:
Spoiler: AaaaaaaaAAAAAAaAaaAA
User avatar
Sergeant_Mark_IV
Posts: 812
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:44 pm
Location: United Communist Nazi Republic Dictactorship of Banana Land (Brazil)

Re: OpenGL Hack Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Post by Sergeant_Mark_IV »

For now we have the following problems:

- Everything is too green.
- The SSAO draws scenario stuff in your automap.
User avatar
SyntherAugustus
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:43 pm

Re: OpenGL Hack Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Post by SyntherAugustus »

esselfortium wrote:I've experimented around with this a bit, and it's definitely a nifty set of effects. It's not usable in GZDoom for anything outside of novelty value at the moment, though, given the absolute mess that it makes of skies, titlepic and HUD stuff, and other things that really shouldn't be made a mess of. If something like this could be implemented into GZDoom in a way that mappers and modders can more directly control, it'd be worthwhile even for just the occlusion alone, which adds a lot of nice depth to a scene (a la Doomsday's fake radiosity) when it's not being visibly buggy and bizarre. :P
Bloomscale is too much for me in those settings. Try 1 for bloomscale and 2 for darken, which is what I use, and restore lighting to 0. It's a bit less intense that way. Anyone else think emboss is worth it? Or am I crazy?

Im using this at the moment (after forever of tweaking). I'm probably going to turn off SSAO.

Code: Select all

[gzdoom.exe]
Anisotropy=0
Multisample=0
Bloom=1
BloomDarken=2
BloomScale=1
SSAO=1
SSAOScale=2
Saturation=-5
Emboss=1
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26403
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: OpenGL Hack Bloom in GZdoom (Continued Discussion)

Post by Enjay »

It's good fun to mess with this stuff. I like quite subtle settings but it's fun to crank it up to silly values just for the hell of it too. It's a shame that SSAO doesn't work. If you make the effect quite bold (so that things look almost cell shaded) the effect being drawn over the HUD weapons looks almost like the weapons have some strange sort of translucency where the black lines at the edge of architecture breaks show through but nothing else does.
blackfish wrote:Anyone else think emboss is worth it? Or am I crazy?
Yes, I like the emboss. Again, I keep it subtle but it can have quite a nice look with some textures.

Return to “General”