Feature Request: MP things behavior

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
User avatar
arioch
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:27 pm

Feature Request: MP things behavior

Post by arioch »

This just came up during some LANning we were doing:

Wolfendoom: Operation Arctic Wolf, and Batman TC, for example, both have co-op starts, but all the Things in the levels are not flagged to be spawned in multiplayer.

(Or ZDoom interprets that flag incorrectly, at this point I don't know for sure)

If ZDoom indeed interprets the flag correctly, would it be possible to add a Gameplay Option to ignore the sp-only flag on Things when setting up a level?

Thanks
Last edited by arioch on Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47986
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Vanilla doesn't have a flag 'not in MP', only a 'not in SP' one. What happens might be that the mappers used an editor that fills all unused bits in the flags field with 1's instead of 0's. Unfortunately this will screw up Boom compatibility. MBF provided a fix for this but I don't know whether this has been copied to ZDoom.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
Posts: 7728
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm

Post by randi »

That's probably it. Those wads were made on Macs, weren't they?
Mighty Duck X-treme
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:48 pm
Location: Chesterfield, Missouri

Post by Mighty Duck X-treme »

Yes, they were made in Macs. The sprites in Batman Doom were bigger that way bacause of that.

The popular Wolfendoom series had some sprites based on the Mac version of Wofenstein 3d, and Laz Rojas used many Wolf3D/Doom utilities designed for the Mac to convert the wads he made into a PC format.

How he got the sprites, I don't have a clue. :?:
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21375
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm

Post by wildweasel »

Randy: You are correct, sir.
Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »

*REPOSTED DUE TO A BUG IN MY OLD ACCOUNT WHERE OTHER MEMBERS CAN'T SEE MY OWN POST*
randy wrote:That's probably it. Those wads were made on Macs, weren't they?
Yes, they were made in Macs. The sprites in Batman Doom were bigger that way bacause of that.

The popular Wolfendoom series had some sprites based on the Mac version of Wofenstein 3d, and Laz Rojas used many Wolf3D/Doom utilities designed for the Mac to convert the wads he made into a PC format.

How he got the sprites, I don't have a clue.

Return to “General”