Feature Request: MP things behavior

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Feature Request: MP things behavior

Postby arioch » Fri Aug 15, 2003 11:37 pm

This just came up during some LANning we were doing:

Wolfendoom: Operation Arctic Wolf, and Batman TC, for example, both have co-op starts, but all the Things in the levels are not flagged to be spawned in multiplayer.

(Or ZDoom interprets that flag incorrectly, at this point I don't know for sure)

If ZDoom indeed interprets the flag correctly, would it be possible to add a Gameplay Option to ignore the sp-only flag on Things when setting up a level?

Thanks
Last edited by arioch on Sat Aug 16, 2003 8:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
arioch
hcoira
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Aug 16, 2003 1:50 am

Vanilla doesn't have a flag 'not in MP', only a 'not in SP' one. What happens might be that the mappers used an editor that fills all unused bits in the flags field with 1's instead of 0's. Unfortunately this will screw up Boom compatibility. MBF provided a fix for this but I don't know whether this has been copied to ZDoom.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby randi » Sat Aug 16, 2003 4:14 pm

That's probably it. Those wads were made on Macs, weren't they?
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Postby Mighty Duck X-treme » Sat Aug 16, 2003 4:25 pm

Yes, they were made in Macs. The sprites in Batman Doom were bigger that way bacause of that.

The popular Wolfendoom series had some sprites based on the Mac version of Wofenstein 3d, and Laz Rojas used many Wolf3D/Doom utilities designed for the Mac to convert the wads he made into a PC format.

How he got the sprites, I don't have a clue. :?:
Mighty Duck X-treme
Why am I always talking to myself?
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Chesterfield, Missouri

Postby wildweasel » Sat Aug 16, 2003 7:08 pm

Randy: You are correct, sir.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Anonymous » Sat Aug 16, 2003 11:32 pm

*REPOSTED DUE TO A BUG IN MY OLD ACCOUNT WHERE OTHER MEMBERS CAN'T SEE MY OWN POST*

randy wrote:That's probably it. Those wads were made on Macs, weren't they?


Yes, they were made in Macs. The sprites in Batman Doom were bigger that way bacause of that.

The popular Wolfendoom series had some sprites based on the Mac version of Wofenstein 3d, and Laz Rojas used many Wolf3D/Doom utilities designed for the Mac to convert the wads he made into a PC format.

How he got the sprites, I don't have a clue.
Anonymous
 


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest