Compiling in Linux

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Postby randomlag » Tue Sep 09, 2003 11:50 am

Yeah, but VMS got it's ideas from CDC and IBM and probably somebody I forgot in some lab :) Except for the GUI, most of the virtual, memory and task management concepts were core perfected by 1974 or so (approximately).

The problem is that the ever present NIV syndrome made for very bad early pc designs re task/memory management. The virtual stuff became a practical reality (as it did for the mainframes and minis) when the hardware directly supported address translation. In fact, the terms used today (TLB, page tables, etc) were all around by 1968 (again approx).
User avatar
randomlag
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003

Postby randi » Tue Sep 09, 2003 12:12 pm

Hirogen2 wrote:Why, is there any other choice than SDL for Linux?

Write directly for whatever APIs you want to support yourself. This is what ZDoom 1.22 did for svgalib and X. After switching to SDL for 1.23, using svgalib made it crash a lot, effectively limiting output to X alone, which is slow unless you have it running in 8-bit, and you can alone change its bit depth when you start it. (Last time I checked, anyway. Maybe it has finally been improved in that respect.) Using SDL for keyboard input, I am also unable to use the user's preferred keyboard layout for text input but QWERTY for keybindings, so Linux and Windows ZDoom ini files are no longer compatible unless you use the QWERTY keyboard layout under Linux.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Postby arioch » Tue Sep 09, 2003 12:24 pm

You still can't change depth while X is running, afaik. Although some people can now change resolution dynamically through XRandR. I'm not one of the lucky few.
User avatar
arioch
hcoira
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby IntergalacticWalrus » Tue Sep 09, 2003 4:51 pm

Using DGA allows changing bit-depth. SDL can use DGA if you set SDL_VIDEODRIVER to "dga". Not to mention SDL is not limited to X and svgalib, it can also use the Linux kernel frambuffer console, and under some drivers you can change resolution/bitdepth freely.

And svgalib is an obsolete, unstable and unsecure library nobody uses anymore so it's not a big deal.
User avatar
IntergalacticWalrus
Baka ne...
 
Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Location: E2M2, among the many UAC boxes

Postby Hirogen2 » Wed Sep 10, 2003 5:53 am

Yes, power to SDL ^_^

Now to mention: ZDoom (1.23 b33 Linux, using SDL) was able to do it:
TEXTMODE DOOM!!!!111 :P
Using the AA driver :)
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Chris » Wed Sep 10, 2003 7:06 am

Hirogen2 wrote:TEXTMODE DOOM!!!!111


pixplz, kthx!
User avatar
Chris
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003

Postby arioch » Wed Sep 10, 2003 9:22 am

Yeah, great, play Doom at an even lower resolution than 320x200. You can't even tell wtf you're looking at in AA textmode.
User avatar
arioch
hcoira
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Hirogen2 » Wed Sep 10, 2003 9:37 am

Yeah, unfortunately AA is grayscale only :( and since Doom maps are usually dark heh, it's just a lot of letters.
Can't give you a screenie right now (and never in near future) because I dunno where to get FMOD 3.33, "libfmod-3.33.so" (BTW a reason to switch to SDL_mixer :? )
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby ryan » Tue Sep 16, 2003 11:59 pm

yeah i was looking for that fmod 3.33 lib as well, damn fmod site doesn't have any kind of archive whatsoever :/

randy, i fail to see how sdl is so 'slow'. although i've never used it on a windows based platform, at least in recent times that i can think of, it works just fine on my linux desktop. i use the icculus duke3d port and its not slow at all, in fact duke3d ran great on the p133 linux box i had setup for my friend. cheers,

- ryan
ryan
*nix luser
 
Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Location: Duncan, BC, Canada

Postby Hirogen2 » Wed Sep 17, 2003 6:44 am

Try the windows version of http://gl-117.sf.net/ , it uses SDL, both Windows and Linux. Would you? Then tell us. :)
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby mewse » Fri Sep 26, 2003 9:52 am

prboom works great for me on a pentium 120 using svgalib through sdl, although not the new version because it tries to load the GL libraries beforehand, which sucks
mewse
 

Postby Fredrik » Fri Sep 26, 2003 10:05 am

How many FPS would you get with textmode ZDoom?
Fredrik
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Hirogen2 » Fri Sep 26, 2003 10:14 am

In 80x25, it was somewhat comparable 35, with bigger "resolutions" less actually.
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby arioch » Fri Sep 26, 2003 10:40 am

Point of comparison:

despite the fact that prboom does far less than zdoom, it only manages to eke out an average of 45fps in doom2 map05 at 1280x1024x8 (athlon xp barton 2500+, 1.83ghz) while zdoom at the same resolution runs on average of 30fps faster, with 3d sounds on, sampling 44100, etc.
User avatar
arioch
hcoira
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby Fredrik » Fri Sep 26, 2003 10:53 am

arioch wrote:Point of comparison:

despite the fact that prboom does far less than zdoom, it only manages to eke out an average of 45fps in doom2 map05 at 1280x1024x8 (athlon xp barton 2500+, 1.83ghz) while zdoom at the same resolution runs on average of 30fps faster, with 3d sounds on, sampling 44100, etc.
Blame SDL?
Fredrik
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TheRailgunner and 7 guests