[Rant] Mods that use HUD Messages

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

[Rant] Mods that use HUD Messages

Postby Nash » Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:54 am

I have been holding back about this topic - for a few years - but I think it's time I talk about it, because I think it is a somewhat serious issue and awareness needs to be raised about it, as I don't want mods to be continuously created with this annoyance.

The issue is regarding HUD messages. It is good that mod authors are using these, but time and again, they have failed to address a VERY important issue: the fact that not everyone is using the same screen resolution.

I am a 1920x1200 user, and with a screen that large, the standard Doom font appears VERY tiny unscaled. So I turn on the "scale messages" option. I turn it to ON, not DOUBLE, because I want my fonts to be large and clear. I don't mind the fonts being large and pixelated - since Doom is an old game anyway (and I turn off filtering with GZDoom).

So what's the problem? Well, when mods start using HUDMessage() without explicitly specifying the virtual resolution first (SetHUDSize()).

More often than not, what happens is that when I start playing mods that use these HUD message functions, I just see... a bunch of mess on my screen. Large overlapping texts all over the place (as was the case with Serpent: Resurrection and Reelism).

This forces me to change my message scaling settings everytime I play a mod with HUD message problems (setting it to either double or off; depending on the mod and the amount of text mess I'm seeing on the screen). And when I want to play regular Doom again, I'll have to AGAIN change the setting to my usual setting (which will be ON, since anything other than that just isn't comfortable enough for me).