Doom on the Virtual Boy

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Doom on the Virtual Boy

Postby Duducrazy » Tue Jul 28, 2009 11:25 am

i've been wondering. we all know that Doom has been ported to a number of systems and consoles, both oficially and unoficially. but what would the game look like if it were released on the Virtual Boy?

Image

i'm not that good at Photoshop, but here's what i think a Virtual Boy port of Doom would look like.
User avatar
Duducrazy
 
Joined: 21 Aug 2004

Re: Doom on the Virtual Boy

Postby CaptainToenail » Tue Jul 28, 2009 11:30 am

You picked up the Doomsphere!
CaptainToenail
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Doom on the Virtual Boy

Postby Duducrazy » Tue Jul 28, 2009 11:36 am

here's a much better representation:

Image

edit: and another one

Image
User avatar
Duducrazy
 
Joined: 21 Aug 2004

Re: Doom on the Virtual Boy

Postby Project Dark Fox » Tue Jul 28, 2009 11:43 am

There's one thing you're forgetting. I got to play with one of these Virtual Boys before, and despite it being in all red, it was a fantastic illusion of three dimensions. A still image will not provide that, no matter how much red you put into it.
User avatar
Project Dark Fox
Married Furry Anxiety Bucket
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Twitch ID: ProjectDarkFox

Re: Doom on the Virtual Boy

Postby Duducrazy » Tue Jul 28, 2009 11:45 am

then i should probably make a video, but i don't know how to recolor it in red and black. and btw, it's a mockup.
User avatar
Duducrazy
 
Joined: 21 Aug 2004

Re: Doom on the Virtual Boy

Postby wildweasel » Tue Jul 28, 2009 12:08 pm

Here's about as close an approximation of the Virtual Boy as I can get.
Image
Notably:
  • Exact VB screen size is used: 384x224
  • I don't know exactly how many shades can be displayed on the VB screen, so I assumed 8
  • Two screenshots were taken, one after having moved slightly to the left, to produce the stereogram effect (cross your eyes, it'll look about right)
User avatar
wildweasel
「お前はもうトースト」[you are already toast.]
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Doom on the Virtual Boy

Postby Project Dark Fox » Tue Jul 28, 2009 12:27 pm

wildweasel: That's how you do it, nice work. =D
User avatar
Project Dark Fox
Married Furry Anxiety Bucket
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Twitch ID: ProjectDarkFox

Re: Doom on the Virtual Boy

Postby Ceeb » Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:25 pm

I've always wanted to play a VB. I hear the Wario game was top-notch.
User avatar
Ceeb
Official Idoit Of ZDoom
Banned User
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2008
Location: Castle Wut

Re: Doom on the Virtual Boy

Postby DoomRater » Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:13 pm

weasel: the gun should appear on TOP, not on bottom. When I cross my eyes to check the image, the gun was layered at the bottom. To fix that though would likely require taking two screenshots without the gun and placing the gun sprite overtop the screenshots a few pixels off center as well...
User avatar
DoomRater
Hi, I'm bob.
 
Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Location: WATR HQ
Discord: DoomRater#6308

Re: Doom on the Virtual Boy

Postby phi108 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:48 pm

WW, that is AWESOME. Now ZDoom needs to display two images beside each other, offset a bit (however far apart doomguy's eyes are).

Then of course you get massive headaches from playing doom cross-eyed.

EDIT: What about SIRDS, or the NVIDIA 3d glasses?
User avatar
phi108
Magical Error?
 
Joined: 01 Dec 2007

Re: Doom on the Virtual Boy

Postby DoomRater » Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:08 pm

There are those options.... until then though you can use this: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=5Y9YL213
User avatar
DoomRater
Hi, I'm bob.
 
Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Location: WATR HQ
Discord: DoomRater#6308

Re: Doom on the Virtual Boy

Postby phi108 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 6:08 pm

Anyway, I did some screens myself, and forget the black/red limit, these are the coolest screenshots ever!!

Image

I did the 3D HUD weapons by measuring the difference of the closest wall you can touch when tou move over 6 radius units. The pixel difference (on a 320x240 screen) is around 50 pixels, so that's the difference I gave to the HUD guns.

Now everyone, begin the fake 3D doom screenshots creation!
User avatar
phi108
Magical Error?
 
Joined: 01 Dec 2007

Re: Doom on the Virtual Boy

Postby DoomRater » Tue Jul 28, 2009 6:33 pm

I keep thinking fewer pixels were needed to make it look right, but it's an improvement.
User avatar
DoomRater
Hi, I'm bob.
 
Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Location: WATR HQ
Discord: DoomRater#6308

Re: Doom on the Virtual Boy

Postby phi108 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 8:06 pm

DoomRater wrote:There are those options.... until then though you can use this: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=5Y9YL213


That doesn't seem to work quite right. Does it work with an old ZDoom version?

It seems like there is no distance between the two different eyes, or it seems like the eyes are placed at the same spot, but face at slightly different horizontal angles, which would be wrong.

It would need to set the left image as the view from the right eye, and the right image as the view from the left eye, and they should be placed about 6 units apart, and face in the same exact direction.

EDIT: Ok, I too k a screenshot, and it seems like with that WAD, one camera is IN FRONT of the other, which is definitely wrong. They should be next to each other, not one behind the other.


EDIT: I did more neat screenshots, no HUD weaps this time:

http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/7568/3ddom6.png

http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/1332/3ddom7.png
User avatar
phi108
Magical Error?
 
Joined: 01 Dec 2007

Re: Doom on the Virtual Boy

Postby phi108 » Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:27 pm

I've been trying to modify the scripts lump from that WAD to compile ACS script that works correctly, and I think I have the cameras next to each other now, instead of one in front of the other. I changed these lines:


setactorposition(2001, xo+x, yo+y, z, 0);

setactorposition(2002, xo-x, yo-y, z, 0);

to these:


setactorposition(2001, xo-x, yo+y, z, 0);

setactorposition(2002, xo+x, yo-y, z, 0);

And I think that did the trick.

BUT the cameras are much too close together, I think. They should be about 6 units apart (when doomguy is 32 units large). And I can't figure out any way to get the distance larger. I can't comprehend these "fixed point numbers" or how to change the FixedMul to get the result I want.

Any help??


EDIT: Nevermind, I think the cameras only align themselves correctly (beside each other) when you are facing east in the game. The current way this script is set up doesn't place the cameras at the location of doomguy's eyes permanently.

I think not everything in the script is done relative to the player, so only looking in one direction gives the desired results....
User avatar
phi108
Magical Error?
 
Joined: 01 Dec 2007

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests