The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Postby Wivicer » Sun Jun 12, 2016 2:48 am

I'm loading lights.pk3 and brightmaps.pk3. Just those 2. the gameplay mod is ral_light_v4.1.pk3, but I tried it with vanilla doom and the same thing happens. Just to be clear, this is with gzdoom osx version 0.5.7, the prerelease.
User avatar
Wivicer
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2013
Location: Slowly degrading into a modern-art piece

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Postby Gez » Sun Jun 12, 2016 4:23 am

I don't remember textures being present in the official brightmaps.pk3.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Postby _mental_ » Sun Jun 12, 2016 5:21 am

I didn't see any problems using 0.5.7 with the following command line and without any autoloaded stuff:
Code: Select allExpand view
-iwad doom2 -file lights.pk3 brightmaps.pk3 ral_light_v4.1.pk3

What are those brightmapped textures you mentioned? The brightmaps.pk3 supplied with GZDoom contains sprites only.
Maybe your hardware spec will shed some light on this issue.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Postby Wivicer » Sun Jun 12, 2016 4:14 pm

You're right. I forgot I was loading sbrightmaps.pk3 as well.
Ha, shed some light.
I'm at work right now, but I'll post my specs when I get home.
User avatar
Wivicer
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2013
Location: Slowly degrading into a modern-art piece

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Postby Wivicer » Wed Jun 15, 2016 4:47 pm

MacBook Pro (15-inch, Early 2011)
Processor: 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory: 8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 MB
User avatar
Wivicer
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2013
Location: Slowly degrading into a modern-art piece

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Postby _mental_ » Fri Jun 17, 2016 2:12 am

Wivicer wrote:You're right. I forgot I was loading sbrightmaps.pk3 as well.

Everything I can do at the moment is to confirm that loading sbrightmaps.pk3 is causing this issue.
However it's not specific to OS X, the problem is in compatibility OpenGL 2.x renderer. Probably some feature is not implemented yet. Graf knows much more on this topic.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Postby Wivicer » Sat Jun 18, 2016 12:36 am

Ok. Thanks anyway.
User avatar
Wivicer
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2013
Location: Slowly degrading into a modern-art piece

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Postby _mental_ » Sun Jun 19, 2016 5:17 am

Wivicer wrote:Ok. Thanks anyway.

This bug has been fixed. The next binary release will work properly when both dynamic lights and brightmaps for textures are loaded.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Postby printz » Wed Jun 29, 2016 4:19 pm

When I try to load the Mac ZDoom from devbuilds.drdteam.org, I'm told it cannot find ZDoom.pk3!
User avatar
printz
BOW BEFORE ME!
 
Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Postby _mental_ » Thu Jun 30, 2016 12:17 am

Indeed .pk3 is missing from the package. Blzut3 should take a look at this.
Probably the file from Windows build can used if difference in line endings doesn't break something. It must be placed near executable inside application bundle.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Postby printz » Fri Jul 01, 2016 3:28 pm

I tried zdoom.pk3 from Windows, same upload day. I got this error:

Execution could not continue.
Script error, "zdoom.pk3:actors/actor.txt" line 135:
Invalid return type void
User avatar
printz
BOW BEFORE ME!
 
Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Postby _mental_ » Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:38 am

The situation with macOS devbuilds is worse than I expected.
Not only .pk3 is missing, x64 binary is stopped updating at 2.9pre-506-g1648a71.
In other words PowerPC part of universal executable matches disk image version but x64 is not.
This explains the error you got.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Postby printz » Tue Aug 09, 2016 1:16 am

Now it works, but every time I open the app, I get a standard warning that "I'm opening it for the first time; am I sure I want to open it?". Also, it starts with the window behind other windows.
User avatar
printz
BOW BEFORE ME!
 
Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Postby _mental_ » Tue Aug 09, 2016 1:47 am

Have no idea, what's your hardware and OS version?
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Postby printz » Tue Aug 09, 2016 4:08 am

I'm using El Capitan on a MacBookPro mid-2012
User avatar
printz
BOW BEFORE ME!
 
Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests