Just a comment

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
Anonymous

Just a comment

Post by Anonymous »

Hooraj! First post!

I usually play PC games only when I have nothing else to do (I'm attending a university, so times like these are rare). Up until yesterday, I rarely played Doom - the outdated graphics don't really bother me, it's just that it was too easy. The only times that I ever died in Doom SP was when I was crushed by a ceiling or overwhelmed by a ridiculous number of enemies (which I hate, because I've always believed in quality over quantity when it comes to enemies). Although I'm looking forward to Doom III, I know that I'll never be able play it - I'm a poor college student, so I don't have the money to replace my ancient Gateway comp.
I've known about ZDoom for a long time - in fact, whenever I did dust off the old Doom Collector's CD, I usually downloaded ZDoom almost immediately. I had never touched the "fast monsters" option until recently, because I thought that all that did was make them move faster. Yesterday, I finally messed with it, and :shock: HOLY CRAP! The enemies now shoot at me instead of walking around like retarded baboons! Plus, I was totally surprised at how fast incoming projectiles were, and the demons are like little pink drag racers. I downloaded splash3.wad from Enjay's site, which increases the immersiveness of the game (it's sort of intimidating to hear monsters splashing around like toddlers in a bathtub on MAP02).
Within the last 24 hours, I've played through Doom 2 and Hexen, and I plan on starting the Final Doom megawads soon. It's terrifying to face enemies that are actually capable of taking me out by themselves instead of needing thirty of their buddies. I've never been so into a PC game before this - and I had never been able to understand why people still made SP wads for this game.