No Rest For The Living + Master Levels combo?

Handy guides on how to do things, written by users for users.

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Please don't start threads here asking for help. This forum is not for requesting guides, only for posting them. If you need help, the Editing forum is for you.

No Rest For The Living + Master Levels combo?

Postby EldritchNexus » Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:14 pm

I use ZDoom on a Macbook (OS X 10.6.8), with ZDoom and Eureka.

I figured out that one can compress WAD files, and then rename the .zip file to make a combined WAD file. Since No Rest for the Living has 9 levels, and Master Levels for Doom II has 21 levels, could there be a way that I could re-arrange the map replacer so that all the Master Levels (plus John Romero's new level E1M8b) are set as Maps 9-31, and level 9 of No Rest for the Living is made into Map 32?
EldritchNexus
 
Joined: 10 Jan 2017

Re: No Rest For The Living + Master Levels combo?

Postby wildweasel » Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:42 pm

If you have a way to run Python scripts on your Mac, you might be interested in WadSmoosh to take some of the heavy lifting out: viewtopic.php?f=44&t=52757

From there, you'd need to rewrite the Mapinfo lump to arrange the maps as an episode.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Re: No Rest For The Living + Master Levels combo?

Postby EldritchNexus » Wed Mar 01, 2017 7:31 am

Also, I've compressed No Rest for the Living, a music WAD that uses music from Doom's PSX port, and the No Consolation WAD (which features all the levels exclusive to the console ports of the classic Doom titles) and converted the .zip file into a single WAD. But I don't know what I should do to change the title screen to say something other than "Doom II", or how to change the main episode from "Hell on Earth" to "No Rest for the Living". Any suggestions of a Macbook-friendly editor I could use to fix that?
EldritchNexus
 
Joined: 10 Jan 2017

Re: No Rest For The Living + Master Levels combo?

Postby Rachael » Wed Mar 01, 2017 8:08 am

Slade should have a Mac OS X version, if I remember correctly. http://slade.mancubus.net/index.php?page=downloads
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: No Rest For The Living + Master Levels combo?

Postby Gez » Wed Mar 01, 2017 8:38 am

There's no real need to move map slots around. You can very well keep NRFTL at MAP01-MAP09 and have the Master Levels as MAP10-MAP30. And put Romero's two levels has MAP31 and MAP32, and then why not Mustaine's Inmost Dens-like rejected master levels map at MAP33.

Don't feel like you have to conform to the Doom II layout!
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: No Rest For The Living + Master Levels combo?

Postby EldritchNexus » Wed Mar 01, 2017 9:03 am

Rachael wrote:Slade should have a Mac OS X version, if I remember correctly. http://slade.mancubus.net/index.php?page=downloads


Thanks, but it requires 10.7 or newer.
EldritchNexus
 
Joined: 10 Jan 2017

Re: No Rest For The Living + Master Levels combo?

Postby Xeriphas1994 » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:18 pm

EldritchNexus wrote:
Rachael wrote:Slade should have a Mac OS X version, if I remember correctly. http://slade.mancubus.net/index.php?page=downloads


Thanks, but it requires 10.7 or newer.

Only for the newest releases. I use Slade v3.1.0.5 on OS 10.6 and it seems completely fine. But if I do find a bug, I'm not allowed to report it. :>

http://slade.mancubus.net/files/
Xeriphas1994
 
Joined: 03 Dec 2016
Location: Halls of Mandos


Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests