Page 2 of 5

Re: [Monster]Vore from Quake

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:15 am
by Enjay
Impressive. Most impressive.

Re: [Monster]Vore from Quake

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:31 am
by NMN_Paul
Thank you Lord Vader ;)

Re: [Monster]Vore from Quake

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:41 am
by Enjay
Don't suppose you fancy making a full set of that cutesy big-eye caco do you? I know it would only be of novelty value but there aren't too many frames required for a cacodemon replacement.

Re: [Monster]Vore from Quake

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 12:55 pm
by NMN_Paul
Sorry, at least not now. :( I'm already working on quite a demanding sprite and then another one awaits my attention... ;)
Maybe by the end of April.

Re: [Monster]Vore from Quake

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 1:54 pm
by Ghastly
NMN_Paul wrote:Sorry, at least not now. :( I'm already working on quite a demanding sprite and then another one awaits my attention... ;)
Maybe by the end of April.

Don't burn yourself out. Take it easy.

Re: [Monster]Vore from Quake

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:05 pm
by NMN_Paul
Thx :) I'll try, coming to think about it...

Re: [Monster]Vore from Quake

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:35 pm
by Virtue
her Fireball?

Re: [Monster]Vore from Quake

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:28 pm
by Ghastly
Ben2k9 wrote:her Fireball?
Vader's working on it. There's another thread on R667 about coding this thing up. :D

Re: [Monster]Vore from Quake

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:17 am
by Z86
Looks nice. I remember these things having quite weird homing missiles, they were sometimes able to follow you through sharp corners. I think they only home in every X seconds, but they turn instantly towards you.

If more of these will come, I'll be super happy. Quake has some monsters that i'd love to see in doom as well (fiend <3) , without clashing in styles (model rips are ugly).

Oh BTW I might make brightmaps for them.

Re: [Monster]Vore from Quake

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:57 am
by Ghastly
Got it just about done! http://dl.dropbox.com/u/67411518/Vore.zip

Its projectile reasonably reliably chases around corners (every once in a while it adjusts in a way where it grazes a corner, unfortunately), it fits the same difficulty level it has in Quake 1, in terms of heath and damage, and its delay is about the same. Vader did the projectile, some slight color adjustment and did another frame so the delay on the missile attack looks better. But yeah, it's just a public beta, at this point.

@Z86: If you could do some brightmaps for the version I just uploaded, that'd be awesome. :D

Re: [Monster]Vore from Quake

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 2:07 pm
by Xtyfe
Ghastly_dragon wrote:Got it just about done! http://dl.dropbox.com/u/67411518/Vore.zip

Its projectile reasonably reliably chases around corners (every once in a while it adjusts in a way where it grazes a corner, unfortunately), it fits the same difficulty level it has in Quake 1, in terms of heath and damage, and its delay is about the same. Vader did the projectile, some slight color adjustment and did another frame so the delay on the missile attack looks better. But yeah, it's just a public beta, at this point.

@Z86: If you could do some brightmaps for the version I just uploaded, that'd be awesome. :D


Hmm, looking this over, I'm not sure I understand how you made the homing function work. Could you explain :P I mean, It can't be as simple as it looks? :shock:

Re: [Monster]Vore from Quake

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 2:39 pm
by Ghastly
Xtyfe wrote:Hmm, looking this over, I'm not sure I understand how you made the homing function work. Could you explain :P I mean, It can't be as simple as it looks? :shock:

It is! "Can I see my target? If so, adjust my course to intercept him." If the player disappears around a corner, it doesn't home until it can see him again. :P

Re: [Monster]Vore from Quake

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 2:40 pm
by Xtyfe
I'm Impressed then :O

Just a question though, wouldn't it be better if the jump was done every frame? like this?

Code: Select allExpand view
Actor XtRevenantTracer replaces RevenantTracer
{
PROJECTILE
+RANDOMIZE
+SEEKERMISSILE
+FORCEXYBILLBOARD
+EXPLODEONWATER
+BLOODSPLATTER
+DONTSEEKINVISIBLE
+THRUGHOST
//+TELESTOMP
//-NOTELEPORT
RenderStyle Add
Alpha 1
//Radius 5
Radius 11
Height 8
//Height 5
Speed 10
Damage (20)
Decal "RevenantScorch"
DeathSound "weapons/rocketexplode"
States
   {
   Spawn:
      TNT1 A 0
      TNT1 A 0 A_PlaySound ("skeleton/ballloop", 6, 1, 1)
      RVTR AB 2 Bright
      Goto SpawnLoop
   SpawnLoop:
      RVTR A 1 Bright
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx ("XtRevenantTracerTrail", Random(-10,10), Random(-10,10))
      TNT1 A 0 A_GiveToTarget ("XtRevenantTracerToken", 1)
      TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIfTargetInLOS(1, 360, 1)
      Goto FrameA2
      TNT1 A 0 A_SeekerMissile(90, 90, 2)
      Goto FrameA2
   FrameA2:
      RVTR A 1 Bright
      TNT1 A 0 A_GiveToTarget ("XtRevenantTracerToken", 1)
      TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIfTargetInLOS(1, 360, 1)
      Goto FrameB1
      TNT1 A 0 A_SeekerMissile(90, 90, 2)
      Goto FrameB1
   FrameB1:   
      RVTR B 1 Bright
      TNT1 A 0 A_SpawnItemEx ("XtRevenantTracerTrail", Random(-10,10), Random(-10,10))
      TNT1 A 0 A_GiveToTarget ("XtRevenantTracerToken", 1)
      TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIfTargetInLOS(1, 360, 1)
      Goto FrameB2
      TNT1 A 0 A_SeekerMissile(90, 90, 2)
      Goto FrameB2
   FrameB2:
      RVTR B 1 Bright
      TNT1 A 0 A_GiveToTarget ("XtRevenantTracerToken", 1)
      TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIfTargetInLOS(1, 360, 1)
      Goto SpawnLoop
      TNT1 A 0 A_SeekerMissile(90, 90, 2)
      Goto SpawnLoop
   Death:
      TNT1 A 0 A_StopSound (6)
      FBXP A 4 Bright A_Explode (10, 64)
      FBXP BBBBCCCC 1 Bright A_FadeOut (0.05)
      Stop
   }
}

Re: [Monster]Vore from Quake

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 4:07 pm
by Ghastly
Xtyfe wrote:wouldn't it be better if the jump was done every frame?
Surprisingly, it wouldn't. That would just make it slam into corners more often.

Re: [Monster]Vore from Quake

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 4:21 pm
by Xtyfe
Ghastly_dragon wrote:
Xtyfe wrote:wouldn't it be better if the jump was done every frame?
Surprisingly, it wouldn't. That would just make it slam into corners more often.


Ok then, I guess I will switch back :P