Blood (2) Models?

Sprites, textures, sounds, code, and other resources belong here. Share and share-alike!
Forum rules
Before posting your Resource, please make sure you can answer YES to any of the following questions:
  • Is the resource ENTIRELY my own work?
  • If no to the previous one, do I have permission from the original author?
  • If no to the previous one, did I put a reasonable amount of work into the resource myself, such that the changes are noticeably different from the source that I could take credit for them?
If you answered no to all three, maybe you should consider taking your stuff somewhere other than the Resources forum.

Consult the Resource/Request Posting Guidelines for more information.

Please don't put requests here! They have their own forum --> here. Thank you!
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13470
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Blood (2) Models?

Post by Tormentor667 »

I've just found this page: http://www.blood2r.com/updates/updates.html

...and now I am pretty interested in Blood / Blood 2 models, though I have no idea if there are any available for free or if there are any which can be downloaded and used in GZDoom - or at least converted via Milkshape to GZDoom MD3's.

Anyone?
User avatar
Recurracy
Posts: 502
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:11 pm

Re: Blood (2) Models?

Post by Recurracy »

If they were .obj files, I could make the animations. However it's most likely that the hud models are seperated, as in hands and weapon.
I need to find out a way to export them, though.
As for blood 1, the 'models' are voxels which my program doesn't allow.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13470
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: Blood (2) Models?

Post by Tormentor667 »

I should have made myself clearer: What I actually need are monster models.
User avatar
Zero X. Diamond
Posts: 675
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:46 am

Re: Blood (2) Models?

Post by Zero X. Diamond »

Unfortunately, looks like the official Blood 2 models (which the Cultist model I have is one of [from the even lesser known addon pack Nightmare Levels]) are in a format that is not easily convertable. According to what I've read, they're in Lithtech ABC V6, and the only existing methods of conversion are an ancient, unstable Milkshape plugin that I can't even get to work in a copy of 1.5.10 and something out of Blood 2 Tools which is supposed to convert to 3DS but apparently does so incorrectly, though I haven't looked into it myself. I'll give it a shot with that, and if not... I guess I can send you some unconverted stuff and hope for the best?

EDIT: Aaaaaaand insufficient resources for Win16 blah blah blah, can't install Blood 2 Tools at the moment. Guess I'm gonna finish up the Terminator Rampage stuff I was doing before I paused to try and work on this and then restart and see where things go from there.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13470
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: Blood (2) Models?

Post by Tormentor667 »

Damn...
User avatar
Zero X. Diamond
Posts: 675
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:46 am

Re: Blood (2) Models?

Post by Zero X. Diamond »

And I've confirmed that Blood 2 Tools' ABC23DS converter turns the model into a cube filled with jagged geometry on the inside. I don't know why their own official tool would do such a thing; it's beyond me. However, the Milkshape plugin I have may still actually work provided I can find a version that is old enough--confirmed yesterday that 1.5.10 is not old enough. I'm thinking if somebody can snag an installer for 1.5.3 (the one a guy in a thread I found while looking for it said can sometimes work with it) or 1.4.0 (a version I found info on that seems to be right before a file format change) that I might be able to do it... or at least then forward the information and models to somebody who can.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13470
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: Blood (2) Models?

Post by Tormentor667 »

Sounds like there is still some hope...
User avatar
Zero X. Diamond
Posts: 675
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:46 am

Re: Blood (2) Models?

Post by Zero X. Diamond »

Not a lot... searching Milkshape 1.4.0 just brings up page after page of CRACKZ KEYGENS SERIALS for it. No actual download link to be found...

EDIT: I posted a thread over at the XeNTaX game resource file research forum earlier today with links to the broken 3DS converter, the broken Milkshape plugin, and a website detailing the file format of the models. Hopefully, should anybody actually take a look, this will be sufficient information for somebody to devise a solution. What format did you need for use in TCotD3, Torm? MD3? That's what I put in the post, so I hope that I was correct in that.

In the meantime, I've got an old MD2 Quake 2 playermodel of Caleb hanging around that has an included undead skin if that might possibly be of any help.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13470
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: Blood (2) Models?

Post by Tormentor667 »

Unfortunately not, as the Chaleb model is by far too close connected to Blood :( But thanks for your help concerning that.

By the way, do you have some sources for other kinds of models that might fit into TCotD3? Evil looking undead monsters or whatsever? :)
User avatar
Zero X. Diamond
Posts: 675
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:46 am

Re: Blood (2) Models?

Post by Zero X. Diamond »

As far as MD3 goes, I believe I have a couple of Quake 3 playermodels that I've accumulated over the years that might be of some help to you. RTCW was also on the Quake 3 engine and had its share of undead monsters. For non-MD3 models, System Shock 2 has some nasty looking monsters, a few of which have even been redone in hi-res. And the great thing about 3D models is that even if something is fairly recognizable or not quite fitting as-is, you can always get somebody to create a new skin for it that could easily make it fit the setting better.

If any of these sound interesting, I'll try and get a pack together for you. In the meantime, I'll keep my eyes open for other horror-worthy sources!
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21512
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Blood (2) Models?

Post by wildweasel »

Doesn't RTCW have its models in some bizarre variant format of MD3, though?
User avatar
Zero X. Diamond
Posts: 675
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:46 am

Re: Blood (2) Models?

Post by Zero X. Diamond »

I don't know; I haven't checked it out myself yet. Even if that's the case, it's Return to Castle Wolfenstein; with something that well known I'm sure there's something out there that can open and convert them.

Also, upon double checking the Blood 2 Tools stuff, I've discovered an interesting note:
Extras
------

Under the BIN directory, there is a subdirectory called
'PLUGINS'. The PLUGINS directory contains a textfile
describing the plugins stored in that directory. These
include a 3DSMAX plugin for creating Lithtech models,
as well as a 3DSMAX plugin to use Lithtech .DTX textures,
a command-line 3DS (not MAX) to ABC convertor, and a
Photoshop plugin that allows you to load and save Lithtech
.DTX textures. There is a SoftImage exporter for Lithtech,
but it is not included in this tools set. If you need the
SoftImage exporter, please contact support@lithtech.com
directly.
Emphasis mine. Maybe, just maybe, if somebody could find a copy of 3DS (not MAX) from around the time that Blood 2 was released, the Blood 2 models would be usable after all.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13470
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: Blood (2) Models?

Post by Tormentor667 »

Zero X. Diamond wrote:If any of these sound interesting, I'll try and get a pack together for you. In the meantime, I'll keep my eyes open for other horror-worthy sources!
That would be awesome, yes :)
User avatar
Zero X. Diamond
Posts: 675
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:46 am

Re: Blood (2) Models?

Post by Zero X. Diamond »

Here you go. Some of them are kinda silly and a few are tangentially related (and two of them wouldn't load into Quake 3 for some reason even though I vaguely recall using them) but yeah.

Download: Quake 3 Playermodels
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13470
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: Blood (2) Models?

Post by Tormentor667 »

Thanks alot, I am just downloading them. Are there any previews for each of the models in the ZIP?

Return to “Resources”