Page 7 of 8

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:40 pm
by wildweasel
Trooper 077 wrote:Personally I don't like blazkowiz at all

Not really the best place to voice that opinion.

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:52 pm
by wildweasel
http://www.sendspace.com/file/x4ryao - A Doom-styled Doom 64 HUD recreation containing no new graphics. Replaces both Normal and Fullscreen HUDs, does not support widescreen or scaling, and I assume is accurate to the N64 version in that the HUD is not displayed over the map.
Image

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:11 pm
by DoomRater
Main inaccuracy is that the text is displayed above the numbers, not below as you have em.

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:18 pm
by wildweasel
DoomRater wrote:Main inaccuracy is that the text is displayed above the numbers, not below as you have em.

Huh. That might explain why the ammo indicator is so much higher than I remember it being. =P

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:22 pm
by Xim
lol epic fail.

But no, this actually pretty cool. But you should fix that, then the ammo won't be so high and cover up as much of the weapon. :P

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 3:09 pm
by wildweasel
The Visor
http://files.drdteam.org/index.php/files/get/93JEiGl2JJ/wwhud-visor.pk3

This (abandoned) HUD idea came from drawing bar graphs and then applying the pincushion effect to them. No numbers in this HUD, just a health bar, an armor bar, two ammo bars (full support for mods with altfires) and a key bar. Recommended that you play with HUD_SCALE set to 0; designed for resolutions of 1024x768 or greater. Yes, there are bugs; I figure if anybody wants to use this they can either deal with it or fix them themselves.

Spoiler: "Screenshot"

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 1:01 pm
by SladeEXE
Do you think the Light Amp Goggles could be turned into a HUD function?
Like the Visor setup in Metroid Prime?

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 11:02 am
by TheMistress
wildweasel wrote:The Visor
http://files.drdteam.org/index.php/files/get/93JEiGl2JJ/wwhud-visor.pk3

This (abandoned) HUD idea came from drawing bar graphs and then applying the pincushion effect to them. No numbers in this HUD, just a health bar, an armor bar, two ammo bars (full support for mods with altfires) and a key bar. Recommended that you play with HUD_SCALE set to 0; designed for resolutions of 1024x768 or greater. Yes, there are bugs; I figure if anybody wants to use this they can either deal with it or fix them themselves.

Spoiler: "Screenshot"

Can you change the Sbarinfo thingy? I get an error in skulltag "Script error, "wwhud-visor.pk3:sbarinfo.txt" line 3:
Unkown flag 'interpolate'." And i would love to use this visor/HUD in it.

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:07 pm
by wildweasel
Update ZDoom. I don't support outdated versions.

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:12 pm
by NeuralStunner
TheMistress wrote:Can you change the Sbarinfo thingy? I get an error in skulltag
You could learn to do that yourself. I don't see a good reason to cripple something feature-wise to make it work in Skulltag... That just makes those features basically pointless. :(

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 7:28 pm
by A.Gamma
Heh, I really like The Visor Hud, only thing that would make it better is if the Health/Armor bars went over 100%

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 7:33 pm
by wildweasel
A.Gamma wrote:Heh, I really like The Visor Hud, only thing that would make it better is if the Health/Armor bars went over 100%

Still not quite sure how to do that without hacks.

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 7:35 pm
by Xaser
Make a second set of health/armor bar graphics with the same dimensions, then double its height and fill the new part with transparency (make sure the transparent part's on the bottom). When you tell it to render health/armor from 0 to 200, the first 100 is taken up by the invisible space. It's a "hack", but not a terrible one.

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 7:42 pm
by A.Gamma
Xaser wrote:Make a second set of health/armor bar graphics with the same dimensions, then double its height and fill the new part with transparency (make sure the transparent part's on the bottom). When you tell it to render health/armor from 0 to 200, the first 100 is taken up by the invisible space. It's a "hack", but not a terrible one.


Yup, although in this case, you will need to double it's width, instead of it's height.

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 10:00 pm
by wildweasel
It might be easy to add retroactively for other HUDs that use the bar system, but in the Visor HUD's case, I'd have to redo the whole thing from scratch due to the nature of how I created it. That's okay though, because the Visor HUD was really a high-concept piece for function without a lot of thought put into form.