[HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Sprites, textures, sounds, code, and other resources belong here. Share and share-alike!
Forum rules
Before posting your Resource, please make sure you can answer YES to any of the following questions:
  • Is the resource ENTIRELY my own work?
  • If no to the previous one, do I have permission from the original author?
  • If no to the previous one, did I put a reasonable amount of work into the resource myself, such that the changes are noticeably different from the source that I could take credit for them?
If you answered no to all three, maybe you should consider taking your stuff somewhere other than the Resources forum.

Consult the Resource/Request Posting Guidelines for more information.

Please don't put requests here! They have their own forum --> here. Thank you!

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Postby wildweasel » Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:40 am

Trooper 077 wrote:Personally I don't like blazkowiz at all

Not really the best place to voice that opinion.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Postby wildweasel » Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:52 pm

http://www.sendspace.com/file/x4ryao - A Doom-styled Doom 64 HUD recreation containing no new graphics. Replaces both Normal and Fullscreen HUDs, does not support widescreen or scaling, and I assume is accurate to the N64 version in that the HUD is not displayed over the map.
Image
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Postby DoomRater » Tue Apr 05, 2011 9:11 pm

Main inaccuracy is that the text is displayed above the numbers, not below as you have em.
User avatar
DoomRater
Hi, I'm bob.
 
Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Location: WATR HQ
Discord: DoomRater#6308

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Postby wildweasel » Tue Apr 05, 2011 9:18 pm

DoomRater wrote:Main inaccuracy is that the text is displayed above the numbers, not below as you have em.

Huh. That might explain why the ammo indicator is so much higher than I remember it being. =P
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Postby Xim » Tue Apr 05, 2011 9:22 pm

lol epic fail.

But no, this actually pretty cool. But you should fix that, then the ammo won't be so high and cover up as much of the weapon. :P
User avatar
Xim
 
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Postby wildweasel » Tue Apr 26, 2011 4:09 pm

The Visor
http://files.drdteam.org/index.php/files/get/93JEiGl2JJ/wwhud-visor.pk3

This (abandoned) HUD idea came from drawing bar graphs and then applying the pincushion effect to them. No numbers in this HUD, just a health bar, an armor bar, two ammo bars (full support for mods with altfires) and a key bar. Recommended that you play with HUD_SCALE set to 0; designed for resolutions of 1024x768 or greater. Yes, there are bugs; I figure if anybody wants to use this they can either deal with it or fix them themselves.

Spoiler: "Screenshot"
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Postby SladeEXE » Wed Apr 27, 2011 2:01 pm

Do you think the Light Amp Goggles could be turned into a HUD function?
Like the Visor setup in Metroid Prime?
User avatar
SladeEXE
 
Joined: 30 Jun 2010

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Postby TheMistress » Fri Apr 29, 2011 12:02 pm

wildweasel wrote:The Visor
http://files.drdteam.org/index.php/files/get/93JEiGl2JJ/wwhud-visor.pk3

This (abandoned) HUD idea came from drawing bar graphs and then applying the pincushion effect to them. No numbers in this HUD, just a health bar, an armor bar, two ammo bars (full support for mods with altfires) and a key bar. Recommended that you play with HUD_SCALE set to 0; designed for resolutions of 1024x768 or greater. Yes, there are bugs; I figure if anybody wants to use this they can either deal with it or fix them themselves.

Spoiler: "Screenshot"

Can you change the Sbarinfo thingy? I get an error in skulltag "Script error, "wwhud-visor.pk3:sbarinfo.txt" line 3:
Unkown flag 'interpolate'." And i would love to use this visor/HUD in it.
User avatar
TheMistress
These cute eyes may be the last ones you'll ever see.
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2010

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Postby wildweasel » Fri Apr 29, 2011 3:07 pm

Update ZDoom. I don't support outdated versions.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Postby NeuralStunner » Fri Apr 29, 2011 3:12 pm

TheMistress wrote:Can you change the Sbarinfo thingy? I get an error in skulltag
You could learn to do that yourself. I don't see a good reason to cripple something feature-wise to make it work in Skulltag... That just makes those features basically pointless. :(
User avatar
NeuralStunner
An Exercise in Self-Indulgence
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Postby A.Gamma » Mon May 23, 2011 8:28 pm

Heh, I really like The Visor Hud, only thing that would make it better is if the Health/Armor bars went over 100%
User avatar
A.Gamma
 
Joined: 13 Dec 2010

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Postby wildweasel » Mon May 23, 2011 8:33 pm

A.Gamma wrote:Heh, I really like The Visor Hud, only thing that would make it better is if the Health/Armor bars went over 100%

Still not quite sure how to do that without hacks.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Postby Xaser » Mon May 23, 2011 8:35 pm

Make a second set of health/armor bar graphics with the same dimensions, then double its height and fill the new part with transparency (make sure the transparent part's on the bottom). When you tell it to render health/armor from 0 to 200, the first 100 is taken up by the invisible space. It's a "hack", but not a terrible one.
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Postby A.Gamma » Mon May 23, 2011 8:42 pm

Xaser wrote:Make a second set of health/armor bar graphics with the same dimensions, then double its height and fill the new part with transparency (make sure the transparent part's on the bottom). When you tell it to render health/armor from 0 to 200, the first 100 is taken up by the invisible space. It's a "hack", but not a terrible one.


Yup, although in this case, you will need to double it's width, instead of it's height.
User avatar
A.Gamma
 
Joined: 13 Dec 2010

Re: [HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Postby wildweasel » Mon May 23, 2011 11:00 pm

It might be easy to add retroactively for other HUDs that use the bar system, but in the Visor HUD's case, I'd have to redo the whole thing from scratch due to the nature of how I created it. That's okay though, because the Visor HUD was really a high-concept piece for function without a lot of thought put into form.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

PreviousNext

Return to Resources

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests