[HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Sprites, textures, sounds, code, and other resources belong here. Share and share-alike!
Forum rules
Before posting your Resource, please make sure you can answer YES to any of the following questions:
  • Is the resource ENTIRELY my own work?
  • If no to the previous one, do I have permission from the original author?
  • If no to the previous one, did I put a reasonable amount of work into the resource myself, such that the changes are noticeably different from the source that I could take credit for them?
If you answered no to all three, maybe you should consider taking your stuff somewhere other than the Resources forum.

Consult the Resource/Request Posting Guidelines for more information.

Please don't put requests here! They have their own forum --> here. Thank you!
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21377
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

[HUDs] Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Post by wildweasel »

I like designing good HUDs. I've got a few finished already, which may fit some needs for you. Feel free to use any of these in your mods. You don't even have to credit me. I hardly did anything. I'll be making more in the future.

See also: Doom 64-style HUD - SBARINFO-only, no graphics needed! [edit] whoops the link died; check page 8 for a new version
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Skunk
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:04 am

Re: Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Post by Skunk »

The circle one doesn't seem to work right... sorta inspiring though... can you make it so that the health and armor values only show up when you press pause or when you get hurt and then go away? And also make them transparent and cover a large portion of the screen so they're not so much in your way? Basically, Goldeneye 64?
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21377
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Post by wildweasel »

Skunk wrote:The circle one doesn't seem to work right... sorta inspiring though... can you make it so that the health and armor values only show up when you press pause or when you get hurt and then go away? And also make them transparent and cover a large portion of the screen so they're not so much in your way? Basically, Goldeneye 64?
By "doesn't work right" do you mean that it doesn't display bonus health/armor? I'm not entirely sure how to get that working, I'm afraid (same problem occurs with the Alpha hud)...as for the transparency and on-damage functionality, I'm not sure SBarInfo is advanced enough to handle that...
User avatar
XutaWoo
Posts: 4005
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 4:25 pm
Location: beautiful hills of those who are friends

Re: Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Post by XutaWoo »

I think he means it doesn't seem to work like it's supposed to. Personally, I'd perfer something like HL2's circular "hub" that was around the crosshair, as it blocks less. Though, as you said, SBarInfo probally isn't powerful enough.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21377
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Post by wildweasel »

XutaWoo wrote:I think he means it doesn't seem to work like it's supposed to.
Well, I'm currently having no problems with it, in that both graphs work fine and the ammo displays work in both normal and fullscreen, using GZDoom 1.1.0. If something's changed between that and an SVN version, then I am currently none the wiser.
User avatar
Skunk
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:04 am

Re: Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Post by Skunk »

It doesn't display a change in the bar. If I'm hurt it still shows full.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21377
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Post by wildweasel »

Skunk wrote:It doesn't display a change in the bar. If I'm hurt it still shows full.
Do you have bonus health (i.e. from a supercharge)? The bar currently does not show health or armor above 100, so if you're taking damage and it's not showing, then you're probably still above 100 health. That is, of course, barring an unforeseen bug with a specific version of ZDoom.
User avatar
Skunk
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:04 am

Re: Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Post by Skunk »

It's not showing a change at all. I could be dead and it's still fully green. :/
User avatar
MG_Man
Posts: 1401
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 1:24 pm

Re: Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Post by MG_Man »

Same for me, the only change I see is that the outline turns green. I think you got the foreground and the background things swapped.
User avatar
Necromage
Posts: 484
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: NJ

Re: Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Post by Necromage »

Any chance we can get screen shots for those who don't feel like downloading them just to see what they look like?
User avatar
DoomRater
Posts: 8265
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:21 am
Discord: DoomRater#6308
Location: WATR HQ

Re: Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Post by DoomRater »

Circlehud needs to display altammo. Other than that I like it.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21377
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Post by wildweasel »

MG_Man wrote:Same for me, the only change I see is that the outline turns green. I think you got the foreground and the background things swapped.
I'm not sure how that could have happened, it works just fine for me in GZDoom 1.1.0 and ZDoom 2.2.0 R748. Are you guys using some more recent SVN versions? I am not.

As for screenshots, here ya go...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Skunk
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:04 am

Re: Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Post by Skunk »

Yeah ours looks NOTHING like that... I'm using the latest SVN I think. I'll try my GZDoom instead...
User avatar
Kinsie
Posts: 7297
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:22 am
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie
Location: MAP33

Re: Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Post by Kinsie »

Here's one I got bored of and never finished. Replaces the fullscreen HUD.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
DoomRater
Posts: 8265
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:21 am
Discord: DoomRater#6308
Location: WATR HQ

Re: Weasel's Huds - One-Stop Hud Shop

Post by DoomRater »

Liking it. Just gotta add a keybar to it and it's gold.

Great, I'm gonna have a folder dedicated to palettes AND HUDs now.

Return to “Resources”